We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Nearby Hotels
NH Cartagena Urban Royal(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$205
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caribe(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Dann Cartagena(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$116
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$461
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,468)
Filter reviews
1,468 results
Traveler rating
629
476
219
87
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
629
476
219
87
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa large sitting areaan upper floorsmall gymfitness centerroom pricefelt completely safewifi servicecheck in was easybit datednice place to stayold cityhotel is locateda short cab ridebocagrande beachwill stay there againsea viewaverage hotel
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 1,468 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I took a short breakaway from a business trip in Bogota to this lovely town, so rich in history and culture, and the people were just so polite and gracious. However the hotel was a bit of run-down 70's concrete architectural mammoth with no foresight when constructed. First of all it was under major construction so the bottom was hollowed out - which concerned me about its structural stability. Our room was a double, and the view was ok but the shower leaked water through the cracks which were not sealed or caulked. We had water all over the concrete floor after each shower. The shower head was old and falling off. The door to the room was also funky as it does not lock when you exit, so essentially at first we left the door open and unlocked. The internet cuts you off within a half hour, so you'd have to keep signing on repeatedly - annoying when you're in the middle of typing out an email or working on something like a spreadsheet (which we tried not to do, while on the beach break). Anyway we were only there for 2 days so we did not complain - it was not worth it to change rooms or be unhappy in such a pleasant scenery. The people there were very nice, but our message here is: Stay away until they finish remodeling...

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the construction with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skydebleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Guest.

We would like to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, the largest network of travelers from around the Americas.

We constantly work to ensure all our guests maximum comfort , exceeding their expectations and ensure their loyalty through our commitment of quality and warmth in Lodging, Food & Beverage, events , Recreation , Safety and Laundry .
ISO 9001:2008 certification: Processes Lodging, Food & Beverage, Recreation and Laundry.

NTC 5133:2006 Certification in Environmental labels Type 1 Colombian Environmental Seal and Criteria for local accommodation and lodging.

BASC : Business Alliance for Secure Commerce

Certification NTSH006 : 2009 as Five Star Hotel .

Please contact us the next time we come to the beautiful Cartagena de Indias, it will be an honor to continue paying the best service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay near the cuidad vieja for a few nights and then splurge on a hotel since we were a bit disappointed with the beaches of cartagena. We figured we could spend some time by a nice pool and avoid the constant vendors. We booked the almirante online and were really excited to spend our last few nights of our trip there. However, upon arrival we found that the hotel was outdated on many levels and the pool was the biggest disappointment. I do not understand the positive reviews here on trip advisor and wonder who is writing them. The pool is small and at this time (Nov 2012) there is no sunshine at any hour of the day. This is important to know as the pool is located on a side of the building that is shaded all day! Huge disappointment. But it didn't stop there…for $150 a night you get an old outdated bathroom, a crappy pool, weird smells in many of the halls and in the room, and to boot, a terrible breakfast. While the selection of foods was impressive the quality was not. I don't know how you can mess up eggs but they were terrible and we didn't eat them. They even serve instant coffee. Lastly, when we decided the beach was better than nothing, we found they also don't have a beach area specified for the hotel guests unlike the other hotels. I can't understand why a hotel that would classify itself as 5 stars and charge a whopping $150 a night could wrong on so many levels…
I highly recommend you look elsewhere, as we walked around, we surely wished we had done our research better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissaamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Guest.

We would like to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, the largest network of travelers from around the Americas.

We constantly work to ensure all our guests maximum comfort , exceeding their expectations and ensure their loyalty through our commitment of quality and warmth in Lodging, Food & Beverage, events , Recreation , Safety and Laundry .
ISO 9001:2008 certification: Processes Lodging, Food & Beverage, Recreation and Laundry.

NTC 5133:2006 Certification in Environmental labels Type 1 Colombian Environmental Seal and Criteria for local accommodation and lodging.

BASC : Business Alliance for Secure Commerce

Certification NTSH006 : 2009 as Five Star Hotel .

Please contact us the next time we come to the beautiful Cartagena de Indias, it will be an honor to continue paying the best service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Hotel was beautiful, very centrally located and amazing service. The food was very tasty and they served perfect portions. That was out first time in Cartagena and the recommentations of places to go sightsee and other restaurants were exactly what we were looking for. The nightlife that the hotel staff recommended was also great.
The rooms were spacious and spotless. Definitely a Hotel I would recommend and go back to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014
Google Translation

Respetada huésped.

Agradecemos su comentario.

Nuestro más preciado recurso es el humano, nos llena de mucha satisfacción haber transmitido a través de él, nuestro compromiso con el cliente.

Por favor contáctenos siempre que viaje a la hermosa Cartagena, será un honor seguir ofreciéndole el mejor servicio.

Cordialmente,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having stayed at the Estelar in Paipa, we decided to spend our Christmas holiday in Cartagena and once again try to replicate our very positive Estelar experience. As it was high season in Cartagena at the time, the double room accommodation we were hoping to book was unavailable as the hotel was sold out. However, 2 days later, we received a call informing us that a junior suite had become available which enabled us to go as we'd planned. When we arrived, our first impression was that of a friendly, warm and attentive staff welcoming us with a refreshing tropical drink. Our suite was on an upper floor with a beautiful view of the Caribbean and a fruit basket and cookies to greet us. The hotel was conveniently located on the main street, right on the beach and in the heart of the tourist area. By chance, on our way into the restaurant for dinner, while we were reviewing the menu outside, a very friendly and charming gentlemen suggested that we try a specialty of the restaurant called the raclette. On our way out after a delicious and unique meal, we stopped to thank him for the excellent recommendation. Much to our surprise, it turned out that he was the general manager of the hotel. From the world-class service in the hotel and on the beach, to the staff, amenities, delicious food, our stay was a most memorable and special holiday. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We recommend booking early -- especially during high season -- to be sure to get a room of your choice. For Cartagena it's almost ALWAYS high season, so book ahead.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014
Google Translation

Agradecemos su comentario en Trip Advisor.

Aprovecho esta ocasión para comunicarle que con el objeto de hacerles sentir más cómodos y prestarles un mejor servicio, continuamos con los trabajos de remodelación en varias áreas del hotel, esto incluye áreas comunes y habitaciones, respetando por supuesto, la tranquilidad de nuestros huéspedes y clientes.

Somos un hotel moderno con nuestra arquitectura interna inspirada en la época colonial de la bella Cartagena de Indias.

Nuestra piscina, ubicada en el quinto piso, brinda una vista panorámica espectacular, desde la terraza se puede ver la majestuosidad del Mar Cartagenero y el enigmático y hermoso corralito de piedra.

Le invitamos a que nos contacte y nos reserve cuando decida regresar a esta maravillosa ciudad, para nosotros será un honor atenderle nuevamente y brindarle el mejor servicio.

Síganos en Twitter y Facebook, le mantendremos al tanto de todas nuestras actividades.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We really loved our month long stay at this hotel. Firstly the staff is helpful and friendly, always polite. They welcome you with a lovely drink. Thanks to Jorge and wonderful wife for their recommendations on where to eat and have a nice drink. The hotel is situated across Bocagrande beach and about a 5 minute taxi ride to the Historic Town of Cartagena.
Thanks again for their Hospitality to the Manager and every member of the Staff. Flo y Cla

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloClaLugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014
Google Translation

Respetados huéspedes,

Agradecemos por su comentario en Trip Advisor, la red de viajeros más grande de todo el continente americano.

Trabajamos constantemente para garantizar a todos nuestros clientes el máximo confort, excediendo sus expectativas y obteniendo su fidelidad a través de nuestro compromiso con la calidad y la calidez en los servicios de Alojamiento, Alimentos & Bebidas, Banquetes, Recreación, Seguridad y Lavandería.

Certificación en la Norma ISO 9001:2008 en los procesos de Alojamiento, Alimentos y Bebidas, Recreación y Lavandería.

Certificación NTC 5133:2006 en Etiquetas ambientales Tipo 1, Sello Ambiental Colombiano y Criterios para establecimientos de Alojamiento y Hospedaje.

Certificación NTSH006:2009 como Hotel Cinco Estrellas.

Por favor contáctenos la próxima vez que venga a la hermosa Cartagena de Indias, será un honor continuar prestándole el mejor servicio.

Cordialmente,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews