We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wonderful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Ranked #51 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Lugano
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Wonderful Vacation”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We really loved our month long stay at this hotel. Firstly the staff is helpful and friendly, always polite. They welcome you with a lovely drink. Thanks to Jorge and wonderful wife for their recommendations on where to eat and have a nice drink. The hotel is situated across Bocagrande beach and about a 5 minute taxi ride to the Historic Town of Cartagena.
Thanks again for their Hospitality to the Manager and every member of the Staff. Flo y Cla

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloClaLugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Google Translation
Respetados huéspedes,

Agradecemos por su comentario en Trip Advisor, la red de viajeros más grande de todo el continente americano.

Trabajamos constantemente para garantizar a todos nuestros clientes el máximo confort, excediendo sus expectativas y obteniendo su fidelidad a través de nuestro compromiso con la calidad y la calidez en los servicios de Alojamiento, Alimentos & Bebidas, Banquetes, Recreación, Seguridad y Lavandería.

Certificación en la Norma ISO 9001:2008 en los procesos de Alojamiento, Alimentos y Bebidas, Recreación y Lavandería.

Certificación NTC 5133:2006 en Etiquetas ambientales Tipo 1, Sello Ambiental Colombiano y Criterios para establecimientos de Alojamiento y Hospedaje.

Certificación NTSH006:2009 como Hotel Cinco Estrellas.

Por favor contáctenos la próxima vez que venga a la hermosa Cartagena de Indias, será un honor continuar prestándole el mejor servicio.

Cordialmente,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    374
    177
    76
    47
See reviews for
279
360
37
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I really loved my stay at this hotel. Firstly the staff are helpful and friendly, always polite. They welcome you with a lovely drink. Thank you to Antonio and Leondro for their recommendations on where to eat and have a nice drink. The hotel is situated across Bocogrande beach and about a 5 minute taxi ride to the Historic Town, the cab should only cost you 6 pesos. I had a room on Level 12 with a sea view, it was great. The room is spacious and comfortable, practically like an apartment, it had a large bathroom and a room where you could place your luggage. The breakfast was always nice and fresh. THe only thing I would say is that the pool is quite small considering the size of the hotel although you are in the front of the beach so its not a big deal and given the size was never too busy. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseAustralia73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest

We take this opportunity to inform you that in order to make you feel more comfortable and provide better service, we continue working hard and with enthusiasm.

We are a modern hotel with our internal architecture inspired by the colonial era of the beautiful Cartagena de Indias.

Our pool, located on the fifth floor, offers a spectacular panoramic view, You can see the majesty of Cartagena and the enigmatic and beautiful stone yard.

We invite you to contact us and book us when You decide to return to this wonderful city, we would be honored to serve you again and provide the best service.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook; we will keep you abreast of all our activities.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The staff are incredibly warm, welcoming, efficient and professional. We stayed for 4 nights for our honeymoon and loved every minute of it!
Before we could even get to check-in, we were greeted with a smile and a cold glass of strawberry juice.
Our room was beautifully decorated before our arrival. What a wonderful surprise. Thank you!
Location is good, a short, inexpensive 5 min taxi ride to the 'old city'.
The rooms are large and comfortable. The bathroom had been recently renovated.

Breakfast is great. Lots of variety and freshness. Servers friendly and attentive.

The best thing by far about this property is the staff! We definitely recommend staying with them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellezas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Google Translation
Respetado huésped,

Agradecemos por su comentario en Trip Advisor, la red de viajeros más grande de todo el continente americano.

Trabajamos constantemente para garantizar a todos nuestros clientes el máximo confort, excediendo sus expectativas y obteniendo su fidelidad a través de nuestro compromiso con la calidad y la calidez en los servicios de Alojamiento, Alimentos & Bebidas, Banquetes, Recreación, Seguridad y Lavandería.

Certificación en la Norma ISO 9001:2008 en los procesos de Alojamiento, Alimentos y Bebidas, Recreación y Lavandería.

Certificación NTC 5133:2006 en Etiquetas ambientales Tipo 1, Sello Ambiental Colombiano y Criterios para establecimientos de Alojamiento y Hospedaje.

Certificación NTSH006:2009 como Hotel Cinco Estrellas.

Por favor contáctenos la próxima vez que venga a la hermosa Cartagena de Indias, será un honor continuar prestándole el mejor servicio.

Cordialmente,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Good cafeteria service for breakfast. Great attention at lobby. Nice place to stay for business. Justin front of the beach and a street from a supermarket.

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mau151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest.

We would like to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, the largest network of travelers from around the Americas.

We constantly work to ensure all our guests maximum comfort , exceeding their expectations and ensure their loyalty through our commitment of quality and warmth in Lodging, Food & Beverage, events , Recreation , Safety and Laundry .
ISO 9001:2008 certification: Processes Lodging, Food & Beverage, Recreation and Laundry.

NTC 5133:2006 Certification in Environmental labels Type 1 Colombian Environmental Seal and Criteria for local accommodation and lodging.

BASC : Business Alliance for Secure Commerce

Certification NTSH006 : 2009 as Five Star Hotel .

Please contact us the next time we come to the beautiful Cartagena de Indias, it will be an honor to continue paying the best service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hotel is one of the top 10 of Cartagena, is well located, good food and its 5th floor (club hose) is very good. I just have to suggest a renovation in the style of the rooms and some hotel areas as gym and pool, it seems old and blasted however my experience was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmaannuueell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest

We take this opportunity to inform you that in order to make you feel more comfortable and provide better service, we continue working hard and with enthusiasm.

We are a modern hotel with our internal architecture inspired by the colonial era of the beautiful Cartagena de Indias.

Our pool, located on the fifth floor, offers a spectacular panoramic view, You can see the majesty of Cartagena and the enigmatic and beautiful stone yard.

We invite you to contact us and book us when You decide to return to this wonderful city, we would be honored to serve you again and provide the best service.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook; we will keep you abreast of all our activities.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Hotel is very comfortable and run all the requirements you need. The room is quite big with a large bathroom inside.Personnel is very helpful and friendly. It is very close by to downtown (aprox 10 min away). Taxis cost aprox. 6000 colombian pesos to take you there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beto_Rios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest

We take this opportunity to inform you that in order to make you feel more comfortable and provide better service, we continue working hard and with enthusiasm.

We are a modern hotel with our internal architecture inspired by the colonial era of the beautiful Cartagena de Indias.

Our pool, located on the fifth floor, offers a spectacular panoramic view, You can see the majesty of Cartagena and the enigmatic and beautiful stone yard.

We invite you to contact us and book us when You decide to return to this wonderful city, we would be honored to serve you again and provide the best service.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook; we will keep you abreast of all our activities.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for four days on a work trip. It was......ok, certainly nothing special. It was quite run down, as many coastal hotels in these types of climates are. The staff were mostly helpful though I think perhaps forgetful. I asked twice to have a bulb in the bathroom replaced which wasn't done, but showering in the dark is an adventure I guess. The food was ordinary but palatable. Internet access kept dropping out, but it was at least free. There was a tiny safe in the room that wouldn't fit anything larger than your passport and wallet and required a good old fashioned key. The best thing about the hotel was that it was only a 5 minute cab ride from the old city where you can eat at some fabulous restaurants. But if you are visiting Cartagena, definitely look for somewhere in the old city, don't stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GogglesMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest

We take this opportunity to inform you that in order to make you feel more comfortable and provide better service, we continue with the remodeling in several areas of the hotel, this includes common areas and rooms, respecting of course the tranquility of our guests and customers .

We are a modern hotel with our internal architecture inspired by the colonial era of the beautiful Cartagena de Indias.

Our pool, located on the fifth floor, offers a spectacular panoramic view, You can see the majesty of Cartagena and the enigmatic and beautiful stone yard.

We invite you to contact us and book us when You decide to return to this wonderful city, we would be honored to serve you again and provide the best service.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook, we will keep you abreast of all our activities.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Cartagena De Indias
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#34 of 155 in Cartagena
1,536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#19 of 155 in Cartagena
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Hotel Capilla del Mar
#23 of 155 in Cartagena
1,912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#33 of 155 in Cartagena
1,443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#70 of 155 in Cartagena
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia

Property: Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Address: Avenida San Martin (Carrera 2) - Calle 6 # 5-125 (Esquina), Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a five star hotel in historical Cartagena. Front beach located in the Bocagrande neighborhood,Almirante Cartagena Hotel is a modern hotel with elegant rooms and common areas to enjoy, an excellent place in the Caribbean for business and leisure. New Service: Satellite Television ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing