We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are nicer places to stay in Cartagena”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Ranked #42 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for four days on a work trip. It was......ok, certainly nothing special. It was quite run down, as many coastal hotels in these types of climates are. The staff were mostly helpful though I think perhaps forgetful. I asked twice to have a bulb in the bathroom replaced which wasn't done, but showering in the dark is an adventure I guess. The food was ordinary but palatable. Internet access kept dropping out, but it was at least free. There was a tiny safe in the room that wouldn't fit anything larger than your passport and wallet and required a good old fashioned key. The best thing about the hotel was that it was only a 5 minute cab ride from the old city where you can eat at some fabulous restaurants. But if you are visiting Cartagena, definitely look for somewhere in the old city, don't stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GogglesMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Guest

We take this opportunity to inform you that in order to make you feel more comfortable and provide better service, we continue with the remodeling in several areas of the hotel, this includes common areas and rooms, respecting of course the tranquility of our guests and customers .

We are a modern hotel with our internal architecture inspired by the colonial era of the beautiful Cartagena de Indias.

Our pool, located on the fifth floor, offers a spectacular panoramic view, You can see the majesty of Cartagena and the enigmatic and beautiful stone yard.

We invite you to contact us and book us when You decide to return to this wonderful city, we would be honored to serve you again and provide the best service.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook, we will keep you abreast of all our activities.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2012

After the nightmare we had trying to check into another hotel nearby, it was nice to settle into an hotel that met my expectations. Guests in other rooms may have differing opinions due to their location, but having been placed in the end room of the top floor provided us with an absolutely amazaing view to wake up to in the morning. The food in the restaurant was quite tasty, and the hotel staff did their utmost best to make sure all our needs were met. I was also very happy to find that they had a serviceable exercise room, and a mini dance/studio area where I could rehearse a few steps.

The hotel is nicely situated next to the beach (although I think there were too many vendors for my liking), and many places to eat, all withing walking distance. As most of our days and nights were spent in the Old City, it was nice to have a short commute by taxi regardless of the time of day.

Pros: Helpful staff, clean rooms good location, and use of fitness center.

Cons: Can't really point to anything that stood out.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mapes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Guest.

We would like to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, the largest network of travelers from around the Americas.

We constantly work to ensure all our guests maximum comfort , exceeding their expectations and ensure their loyalty through our commitment of quality and warmth in Lodging, Food & Beverage, events , Recreation , Safety and Laundry .
ISO 9001:2008 certification: Processes Lodging, Food & Beverage, Recreation and Laundry.

NTC 5133:2006 Certification in Environmental labels Type 1 Colombian Environmental Seal and Criteria for local accommodation and lodging.

BASC : Business Alliance for Secure Commerce

Certification NTSH006 : 2009 as Five Star Hotel .

Please contact us the next time we come to the beautiful Cartagena de Indias, it will be an honor to continue paying the best service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is a very poor & dated hotel and I'd advise anyone thinking of staying here to think again and spend your money elsewhere!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Guest.

We would like to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, the largest network of travelers from around the Americas.

We constantly work to ensure all our guests maximum comfort , exceeding their expectations and ensure their loyalty through our commitment of quality and warmth in Lodging, Food & Beverage, events , Recreation , Safety and Laundry .
ISO 9001:2008 certification: Processes Lodging, Food & Beverage, Recreation and Laundry.

NTC 5133:2006 Certification in Environmental labels Type 1 Colombian Environmental Seal and Criteria for local accommodation and lodging.

BASC : Business Alliance for Secure Commerce

Certification NTSH006 : 2009 as Five Star Hotel .

Please contact us the next time we come to the beautiful Cartagena de Indias, it will be an honor to continue paying the best service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Buenas camas y cómodas, habitación y baño amplios
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yolabaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mario_Penovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andres Felipe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Excelente todo
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luis Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#37 of 158 in Cartagena
1,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#38 of 158 in Cartagena
1,663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#19 of 158 in Cartagena
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#82 of 158 in Cartagena
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Cartagena De Indias
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#26 of 158 in Cartagena
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia

Address: Avenida San Martin (Carrera 2) - Calle 6 # 5-125 (Esquina), Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $94 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a five star hotel in historical Cartagena. Front beach located in the Bocagrande neighborhood,Almirante Cartagena Hotel is a modern hotel with elegant rooms and common areas to enjoy, an excellent place in the Caribbean for business and leisure. New Service: Satellite Television ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing