We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel for a very good price”
Review of Jamrock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jamrock Hostel
Ranked #43 of 171 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hostel for a very good price”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Great hostel. good rooms with aircon!
the hostel owner was very friendly and helpful. he organized tours and bus tickets to the next location. the hostel is located in a save part of the city and is very cheap.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
5
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

No matter how low your budget is - DONT stay here. We arrived to the host getting his nails done and left us waiting until he was finished. He didn't have a clue which beds to put us into (booked the same dorm but that didn't concern him). So he put us into separate dorms and into dirty beds. He said the cleaning lady didn't do her job and he didn't have enough bed sheets so he was going to wash and dry them and that we weren't to go to bed until they were ready at 1am! Absolutely ridiculous.
Wait until you see the toilets..... .... Disgusting.
I've been travelling all around South America for the past 6 months and this is the worst yet.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraloo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cartagena hotels

Santa Marta, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

this place was so cool if you enjoy the beach. There is a convenience store in the corner and also a 24 grocery store 4 blocks away, in a safe, residential neighborhood but is close to everything. Great price. I will stay again if i come back.

Room Tip: there is a big room with its own patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andres g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Unfortunately, my friend and I didn't read the reviews on here before booking one night at this place. We needed somewhere to crash for a night before going to a better hostel in the centre of town. The area is quite nice and close to restaurants and supermarkets... about a 20-30min walk away.
On to John/Juan/Jock... whatever he goes by these days. My friend went to charge her phone outside the room (there are no sockets in the rooms) and John went and sat next her on the floor and preceded to tell her that she had "a lovely body" and enquired whether she "worked out." He then invited us to his birthday party the next night... yeah, okay then. I'm sure this guy has a birthday every other weekend.
In his efforts to get himself in to my friends knickers, he did give us reduced price tickets for the mud volcano tour. So, thanks for that John!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dougie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

He actually said many times in front of me, I hate gringos. He would sleaze onto my female staying right in front of me, even touching their arms and backs and telling hem he would like to sleep with them, and this was all in front of his wife that doesn't speak English! There is no traveler information or info of the city, and he told me he has no plan on getting wifi but advertises it as it brings people in. He would constantly sneak into the dorm room to sleep at night and i have no idea why. He is a sleaze and creepy and weird. He baked "brownies" and fed them to us without telling us what was in them and then became very forward. Border line sexual harassment. Stay away from this hostel!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scherpenheuvel, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location was really safe, you had a supermarket on 30 minutes walkingdistance.
The owner was incapable of owning a hostel. He only wanted to make money out of people. If he heard the word tour coming out of your mouth he tried to sell you anything. He event went lying to sell you anyway. For example we booked a boat tour to Playa Blanca with him and he said it was to go and return, even if we returned another day. Also there was an other couple that wanted to do the same but he did not allow it for 2 couples, he only could "arrange" something special for us, which made me feel already uncomfortable. When we wanted to come back from Playa Blanca, we had to pay for another ticket because ours was not valid. Then when we came back as we left our luggage in the hostel, he wanted us to pay for leaving our luggage in the hostel, while it was just for 2 days in the kitchen! not even in a safe place and he did not say anything in advance about that. He made up the excuse it was the hostel rules. But the hostel rules are nowhere written, he just makes them up whenever its convenient for him. Also he was drunk or under influence most of the time, he only wanted your money so he could order take out, go party and get wasted. He even offered us drugs
Even if its the cheapest around... DON'T STAY HERE! The owner is nothing but a drunk, annoying fat guy that only wants to see money...

PS I don't know why I have to rate a fitness centre and room service... There was no fitness center nore roomservice in the hostel, and even if there would be room service, it probably would have sucked...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneliesva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The location in CastilloGrande is very safe and only a block and a half from a beautiful beach with much less traffic and fewer vendors than some of the others closer to the Old City. The air con was a plus after Cartagena's hot, sticky days. Beds were comfy, locks were sturdy, and the hostel wasn't super crowded.

The bad: My main complaint is with John, the manager. He's very forward with female guests even though his wife and child live in the hostel with him. Also, at times, dirty dishes were left about by the family that lives there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JColbert29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.9 mi away
El Arsenal Hostel Boutique
El Arsenal Hostel Boutique
#24 of 171 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal 1811
Hostal 1811
#19 of 171 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
#3 of 171 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Portal de San Antonio
Hotel Portal de San Antonio
#78 of 155 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Fegali Art Boutique
Hotel Fegali Art Boutique
#35 of 155 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
#1 of 171 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamrock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamrock Hostel

Property: Jamrock Hostel
Address: Calle Real # 20-19 | Manga, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 171 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in one of the two most safest areas of city, 5 blocks from ZONA ROSA, 2 blocks from the bay and touristic port of manga where boats come and go from PANAMA-CARTAGENA-PANAMA ,also there is the most traditional sea food restaurant club de pesca. We are located one block from a supermarket well knowed because the quality of his products carulla, where you will find 4 diferent atms and everything you need. Our hostel is one block and a half from most important typical restaurant of the city NARCOBOLLO. We are also located half block fron two banks bancolombia the main one in colombia, and bbva, where you can make all kind of transations.. two blocks from our place you are going to find diferent kind of restaurants on the bay ,the famous sushi miyagy sushi express. also four blocks from a 24 hours supermarket. 15 minutes walking from old town.. and 15 minutes by taxi from international airport rafael nunes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Jamrock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing