We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure mixed with Business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Ranked #20 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is located in a safe, central area with easy access to the beach, tourist attractions and airport. The restaurant and bar on site the San Marino is open air seating and overlooks the beach. Always a nice sea breeze at night although the traffic can be noisy but lively. Lots of party buses playing music doing pub crawls. The free breakfast buffet is good. The rooms are spacious but the beds are hard. Great if you have back problems :-) All in all a bang for your buck! I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper don't pick an ocean view room due to party traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCapilla, Community Manager at Hotel Capilla del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time spent in sharing your experience in this important travel site, we are sure it will be very useful for other travelers when deciding where to stay in Cartagena.


Thanks for staying with us and we hope that on your next stay we have the opportunity to have you with us to enjoy our modern and spacious facilities.

Cordially,

Carolina Abello Ramos
Community Manager
Hotel Capilla del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 2,127 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

Nice people, great location, big room. Not clean, shabby room and very hard beds. And the noise from the street (to the 14th floor, actually 13th but who's counting) didn't stop until after 2 am on a Wednesday night. Might be ok if you are only here to party, but I am here to work.
Unfortunately I had to leave the Hilton for a night because they were booked up. Check out the Hilton for 387000 COP per night not the 440000 that I paid for the Capilla del Mar.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCapilla, Community Manager at Hotel Capilla del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest

We really appreciate you took some of your time to let us know your comments about our services.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope that on your next stay we have the opportunity to have you with us to enjoy our modern and spacious facilities.

Cordially,

Carolina Abello Ramos
Community Manager
Hotel Capilla del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Good choice when there's no availability in other hotel. No sense of service, rooms are not price - quality oriented. La recepcionista terrible!
Lo mejor: la atención del botones y el coctel por el mal servicio!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank d1491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCapilla, Community Manager at Hotel Capilla del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest

We really appreciate you took some of your time to let us know your comments about our services.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope that on your next stay we have the opportunity to have you with us to enjoy our modern and spacious facilities.

Cordially,

Carolina Abello Ramos
Community Manager
Hotel Capilla del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I went to Capilla del Mar for a family vacation and we had a great time. It's right next to the beach, and right there, the hotel had a zone reserved specially for the hotel guests. Here you had the choice of having lunch right on the spot, and they had beds to lie on and relax. I really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanbeta15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCapilla, Community Manager at Hotel Capilla del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time spent in sharing your experience in this important travel site, we are sure it will be very useful for other travelers when deciding where to stay in Cartagena.


Thanks for staying with us and we hope that on your next stay we have the opportunity to have you with us to enjoy our modern and spacious facilities.

Cordially,

Carolina Abello Ramos
Community Manager
Hotel Capilla del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed 7 days in this hotel and i will recomend it to anyone. We booked a standart room but upon arrival we decided to pay 140 dollars extra for a renovated room, which was gorgeous. We had a room on 19 floor with a beatiful ocean view. The breakfast in the hotel was the best, lots of variety of fruit, freshly squeezed juice, natural yogurt, etc. The food in Colombia is delishious and healthy, they even made soup for breakfast. The location of the hotel is perfect, taxi service is cheap and there are a lot of nice local restaurants around. We would love to go back there one day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dominicana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCapilla, Community Manager at Hotel Capilla del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Guest

We really appreciate you took some of your time to let us know your comments about our services.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope that on your next stay we have the opportunity to have you with us to enjoy our modern and spacious facilities.

Cordially,

Carolina Abello Ramos
Community Manager
Hotel Capilla del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We checked in to the hotel only to discover that their pool is NOT up and running. We spent more money for a room here because it has a pool. The manager refuses to issue a discount on the room even though they advertise a pool that does not work. Stay at another hotel and stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sherris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCapilla, Community Manager at Hotel Capilla del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers who visit this website.

As you mention during the days March 30, 31 and April 1, maintenance work was made at our pool, we are sorry if this caused any inconvenience and did not make your stay very pleasant.

We offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience, during these days we offered our guests to enjoy in the pools of Las Americas Hotel and the transportation was covered by us.

I hope on a next opportunity you give us the pleasure to surprise you.

Cordially,

Carolina Abello Ramos
Community Manager
Hotel Capilla del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

When you meet someone in a club, and get back to your room, the hotel ask you to pay one extra room for the person joining you.

In other words, they make your friend to look like a prostitute.

Hotel simply to avoid if you came to Cartagena to party!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCapilla, Community Manager at Hotel Capilla del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Receive warm greetings from Capilla del Mar Hotel, for us is very important to receive your comments and to know how was your experience at our facilities.

Within the hotel policies and for the safety of our guests, the check in of an additional person to the rooms must be made at the front desk and pay the extra charge.

We are deeply sorry that this fact did not make your stay very pleasant.

Cordially,

Carolina Abello Ramos
Community Manager
Hotel Capilla del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
5.5 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#17 of 159 in Cartagena
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Cartagena De Indias
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#25 of 159 in Cartagena
2,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#41 of 159 in Cartagena
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capilla del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capilla del Mar

Address: Carrera 1 8 - 12 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 130001, Colombia (Formerly Capilla del Mar Global Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#9 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $118 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capilla del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capilla del Mar Hotel is loca-ted at Car-ta-gena de Indias, Colom-bia with the pri-vi-lege of being in front of the bea-ch-, we offer the best lei-sure and rela-xa-tion expe-rience in the city. Enjoy the modern tou-rist area of Boca-grande, one of the most emble-ma-tic areas of the city; hol-ding a variety of places like res-tau-rants, bars, dis-cos, night-clubs, in addi-tion to the most impor-tant world-wide com-mer-cial brands. A modern 5 stars hotel infras-truc-ture and ser-vi-ces ensu-ring per-fect slee-ping expe-rience and gas-tro-nomy, offe-ring tou-rists and exe-cu-ti-ves, a warm and friendly expe-rience, focu-sed to details. Enjoy the charm and his-tory of Cartagena's old area, just 10 minu-tes away front the hotel and only 15 minutes away front the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Capilla del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capilla Del Mar Global

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing