We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Ranked #21 of 154 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great service, nice hotel”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed 7 days in this hotel and i will recomend it to anyone. We booked a standart room but upon arrival we decided to pay 140 dollars extra for a renovated room, which was gorgeous. We had a room on 19 floor with a beatiful ocean view. The breakfast in the hotel was the best, lots of variety of fruit, freshly squeezed juice, natural yogurt, etc. The food in Colombia is delishious and healthy, they even made soup for breakfast. The location of the hotel is perfect, taxi service is cheap and there are a lot of nice local restaurants around. We would love to go back there one day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominicana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCapilla, Community Manager at Hotel Capilla del Mar, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest

We really appreciate you took some of your time to let us know your comments about our services.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope that on your next stay we have the opportunity to have you with us to enjoy our modern and spacious facilities.

Cordially,

Carolina Abello Ramos
Community Manager
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    666
    169
    49
    28
See reviews for
534
673
71
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We checked in to the hotel only to discover that their pool is NOT up and running. We spent more money for a room here because it has a pool. The manager refuses to issue a discount on the room even though they advertise a pool that does not work. Stay at another hotel and stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCapilla, Community Manager at Hotel Capilla del Mar, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers who visit this website.

As you mention during the days March 30, 31 and April 1, maintenance work was made at our pool, we are sorry if this caused any inconvenience and did not make your stay very pleasant.

We offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience, during these days we offered our guests to enjoy in the pools of Las Americas Hotel and the transportation was covered by us.

I hope on a next opportunity you give us the pleasure to surprise you.

Cordially,

Carolina Abello Ramos
Community Manager
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

When you meet someone in a club, and get back to your room, the hotel ask you to pay one extra room for the person joining you.

In other words, they make your friend to look like a prostitute.

Hotel simply to avoid if you came to Cartagena to party!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCapilla, Community Manager at Hotel Capilla del Mar, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Receive warm greetings from Capilla del Mar Hotel, for us is very important to receive your comments and to know how was your experience at our facilities.

Within the hotel policies and for the safety of our guests, the check in of an additional person to the rooms must be made at the front desk and pay the extra charge.

We are deeply sorry that this fact did not make your stay very pleasant.

Cordially,

Carolina Abello Ramos
Community Manager
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hotel is located at the horrible part of Cartagena, but at least closer than other hotels to the Old City (still need a taxi).
The hotel itself is acceptable, but with the type of visitors, I felt like staying in a home for elderly.
I don't want to make a mistake; I didn't visit any other hotel except of this one, so maybe all the others look alike...?
BTW, all other fancier hotels were much more expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tavi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCapilla, Community Manager at Hotel Capilla del Mar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest

We really appreciate you took some of your time to let us know your comments about our services.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope that on your next stay we have the opportunity to have you with us to enjoy our modern and spacious facilities.

Cordially,

Carolina Abello Ramos
Community Manager
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I spent a week at the Capilla del Mar hotel, 5 days alone and 2 days with my family. The hotel was great located in the Bocagrande zona, right in front of the beach and one block from a very busy street full of shops and restaurants. There is a great pool on the roof and a lot of very needed shade in the beach, and also some seats and sort of beds to lay on. We had a great time, the staff was very friendly.

The only issue was that there was a construction right next to the hotel, and my room was facing it, so I have to keep my curtains closed, and wasn't able to enjoy the view to the sea.

Room Tip: Due to the construction of a hotel close to this, some rooms have a direct view to the construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luli_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCapilla, Community Manager at Hotel Capilla del Mar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time spent in sharing your experience in this important travel site, we are sure it will be very useful for other travelers when deciding where to stay in Cartagena.

So as you mention it, in front of our hotel there is a building under construction and we know that for many of our guests this is very uncomfortable because it limits your privacy, but this is a fact that is out of our reach. We hope this problem is solved soon and we can provide for your next visit a wonderful view.

Cordially,

Carolina Abello Ramos
Community Manager
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Perfect hotel. We were on the 8th floor and we had a balcony with a beautiful view. We were
able to have a nice happy hour on the balcony all six nights and watch the sunset. Also walking distance to all the bars and restaurants and a $3 taxi ride to the walled city.
Rooftop pool was nice, however, because of the construction on the building next door, it was
almost impossible to get quiet. The sound of jackhammers was an everyday sound you could not avoid. Breakfast was very good. We even took a trip to their sister hotel ($10 taxi ride) and spent
the day at their other hotel with multiple pools. Overall, I definitely recommend this hotel and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCapilla, Community Manager at Hotel Capilla del Mar, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest

We really appreciate you took some of your time to let us know your comments about our services.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope that on your next stay we have the opportunity to have you with us to enjoy our modern and spacious facilities.

Cordially,

Carolina Abello Ramos
Community Manager
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

As soon as we got to the hotel the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are renovated and modern. The hotel has great security we felt very safe. The staff helped us schedule our tours. The food is delicious there is a great variety. The hotel is well situated is pretty close to everything. Whatever you need you can find it close by the hotel. Overall, looking forward to go back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kellylemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCapilla, Community Manager at Hotel Capilla del Mar, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you dedicated to share your experience about our Hotel Capilla del Mar.

It is a privilege for us to receive your kind comments about our great service. As you say it, our hotel has a specialized security team to look after your peace during your stay.

Thanks for choosing us as your home in Cartagena, We hope to have you with us once again!

Cordially,

Carolina ABello Ramos
Community Manager
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#30 of 154 in Cartagena
1,405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Cartagena De Indias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#20 of 154 in Cartagena
914 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
#7 of 154 in Cartagena
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capilla del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capilla del Mar

Property: Hotel Capilla del Mar
Address: Carrera 1 # 8 - 12 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 3939, Colombia (Formerly Capilla del Mar Global Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#5 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#9 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capilla del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capilla del Mar Hotel is loca-ted at Car-ta-gena de Indias, Colom-bia with the pri-vi-lege of being in front of the bea-ch-, we offer the best lei-sure and rela-xa-tion expe-rience in the city. Enjoy the modern tou-rist area of Boca-grande, one of the most emble-ma-tic areas of the city; hol-ding a variety of places like res-tau-rants, bars, dis-cos, night-clubs, in addi-tion to the most impor-tant world-wide com-mer-cial brands. A modern 5 stars hotel infras-truc-ture and ser-vi-ces ensu-ring per-fect slee-ping expe-rience and gas-tro-nomy, offe-ring tou-rists and exe-cu-ti-ves, a warm and friendly expe-rience, focu-sed to details. Enjoy the charm and his-tory of Cartagena's old area, just 10 minu-tes away front the hotel and only 15 minutes away front the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Capilla del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capilla Del Mar Global

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing