We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No problems and a nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Ranked #21 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“No problems and a nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel fulfilled our expectations. It's not a 5 * but it has all thats needed. The room was big, well remodeled with a nice view (if you looked slightly to the right because there is a big construction going up across the street. I asked and got a room in the remodeled floor. The hotel is very well located, with a typical Cartagena beach across the street, and the hotel guards make sure that you get across safely. Beach service is not cheap but good. In general, the staff was helpful and very friendly, breakfast staff and concierges especially. The young ladies at the reception were, in contrast, slow and not particularly nice. Charging $1.50 for printing the boarding pass seems ridiculous. Anyway, in general, a nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the right side of the elevators and as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aventurero2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    652
    166
    49
    28
See reviews for
526
660
70
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My family stayed from 7 to 9 May/13, the hotel room robbed money, never taught safety videos, did not give importance to the event, and the beach front of the hotel stole the bag with documents, not just my family several tourists. So I do not recommend this hotel.

Rosalba Cuellar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santanamontijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Locals and everyone else says that this is one of the best hotel in Cartagena. In our experience, this is an average hotel. It's convenient located in Bocagrande, 7mins away from the main old downtown, and across of the beach.
The hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms and bathrooms are a good size. The only recommendation, I suggest before making your reservation ask if they have a private event during the weekends, since Cartagena it's known for having a lot of weddings every weekends. The roof top pol was reserved for a private event one of the nights we were staying at the hotel, and we were not able to use the facilities. The staff at the hotel suggested to pay our transportation and provide us a free access to one of their sisters hotel about 25mins away from Capilla. We didn't make it to the sister hotel, because it was going to waist about 1hr in transportation of our limited vacation time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

From the 24 hr security staff, to the bell hops, to reception, waiters, pool bartender, maid service, and much much more, this place was exquisite. I particularly enjoyed the foam beds and foam pillows they have at the beachfront lounge area. The staff was friendly, well informed of surrounding areas and attractions. The breakfast buffet was delicious, huge selection of fresh juices and fruits, made to order omelets (ask for Dina) and pancakes, and traditional cheeses, pastries and Colombian foods. The view of the beach from this buffet restaurant was wonderful, but the one from the roof deck pool and bar was breathtaking. I would go back to this Bocagrande beauty in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view balcony suite, there is construction on a new hotel to the left but it was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancysC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Love the view from the rooftop pool,very romantic..Capilla del Mar is directly overlooking Bocagrande Beach, and was only a short cab ride from the Walled City. Almost all staff we encountered spoke English and they were very helpful in answering questions or making recommendations. The room itself was spacious with a great balcony; furniture was perhaps a bit past its prime, but this wasn't a bother. Breakfast was GREAT, and there was always coffee available in the lobby. Guard was so nice and felt safe he would watch me walk the entire block since i like to walk and at night would watch out for me if it was early evening, would step off the curb to watch me walk the whole block. we had a choice and they took us to las americas resort with a great swim up bar if we wanted to go.. loved it at CDM. Stayed 11 days>>

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Capilla del Mar is directly overlooking Bocagrande Beach, and was only a short cab ride from the Walled City. Almost all staff we encountered spoke English and they were very helpful in answering questions or making recommendations. The room itself was spacious with a great balcony; furniture was perhaps a bit past its prime, but this wasn't a bother. Breakfast was good, and there was always coffee available in the lobby.

A few drawbacks: while we were in town, the pool was closed for a private function. Also, the bar on the 21st floor is a fun place (albeit loud) to hang out. On our second evening there, though, the bartender charged me for a very expensive whiskey and claimed to have not understood my request, despite me specifically saying the name of the cheaper whiskey and pointing to it on the menu. In that situation, I would have expected the bartender to side with the customer and simply mark down the price, but instead I gave up and just paid.

The hotel always had a security presence at the front door; I would have preferred, though, if that presence was expanded to the entire parking lot. As soon as we stepped down from the front porch, we were approached by locals trying to sell us crafts or services and in one case--rather uncomfortably--trying to get us to let them drive us around.

If I was visiting Cartagena again, I would probably stay in the Walled City, but for this area the accommodations were very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_S_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

At first when I made the reservation, I felt the hotel was over price, but when I arrived I felt much much better to find out that is hotel iis well worth the price.
Beautiful rooms with a view, great maintenance staff service, 24 hours hotel security, lots and lots of amenities like I had never seen before.
I will definetaly stay at this Hotel again.

NOTE: I have been working in the hotel industry for over 20 years, I highly recomend this hotel as your vacation destination.

Martin Hernandez

Room Tip: A lot of the times when we travel we look for the most inespensive hotel to stay, but often we encou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinsJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#17 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Cartagena De Indias
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#28 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capilla del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capilla del Mar

Property: Hotel Capilla del Mar
Address: Carrera 1 # 8 - 12 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 130001, Colombia (Formerly Capilla del Mar Global Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#5 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#9 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capilla del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capilla del Mar Hotel is loca-ted at Car-ta-gena de Indias, Colom-bia with the pri-vi-lege of being in front of the bea-ch-, we offer the best lei-sure and rela-xa-tion expe-rience in the city. Enjoy the modern tou-rist area of Boca-grande, one of the most emble-ma-tic areas of the city; hol-ding a variety of places like res-tau-rants, bars, dis-cos, night-clubs, in addi-tion to the most impor-tant world-wide com-mer-cial brands. A modern 5 stars hotel infras-truc-ture and ser-vi-ces ensu-ring per-fect slee-ping expe-rience and gas-tro-nomy, offe-ring tou-rists and exe-cu-ti-ves, a warm and friendly expe-rience, focu-sed to details. Enjoy the charm and his-tory of Cartagena's old area, just 10 minu-tes away front the hotel and only 15 minutes away front the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Capilla del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capilla Del Mar Global

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing