We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop Pool!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Capilla del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rooftop Pool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Love the view from the rooftop pool,very romantic..Capilla del Mar is directly overlooking Bocagrande Beach, and was only a short cab ride from the Walled City. Almost all staff we encountered spoke English and they were very helpful in answering questions or making recommendations. The room itself was spacious with a great balcony; furniture was perhaps a bit past its prime, but this wasn't a bother. Breakfast was GREAT, and there was always coffee available in the lobby. Guard was so nice and felt safe he would watch me walk the entire block since i like to walk and at night would watch out for me if it was early evening, would step off the curb to watch me walk the whole block. we had a choice and they took us to las americas resort with a great swim up bar if we wanted to go.. loved it at CDM. Stayed 11 days>>

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    586
    142
    40
    25
See reviews for
455
591
58
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Capilla del Mar is directly overlooking Bocagrande Beach, and was only a short cab ride from the Walled City. Almost all staff we encountered spoke English and they were very helpful in answering questions or making recommendations. The room itself was spacious with a great balcony; furniture was perhaps a bit past its prime, but this wasn't a bother. Breakfast was good, and there was always coffee available in the lobby.

A few drawbacks: while we were in town, the pool was closed for a private function. Also, the bar on the 21st floor is a fun place (albeit loud) to hang out. On our second evening there, though, the bartender charged me for a very expensive whiskey and claimed to have not understood my request, despite me specifically saying the name of the cheaper whiskey and pointing to it on the menu. In that situation, I would have expected the bartender to side with the customer and simply mark down the price, but instead I gave up and just paid.

The hotel always had a security presence at the front door; I would have preferred, though, if that presence was expanded to the entire parking lot. As soon as we stepped down from the front porch, we were approached by locals trying to sell us crafts or services and in one case--rather uncomfortably--trying to get us to let them drive us around.

If I was visiting Cartagena again, I would probably stay in the Walled City, but for this area the accommodations were very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_S_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

At first when I made the reservation, I felt the hotel was over price, but when I arrived I felt much much better to find out that is hotel iis well worth the price.
Beautiful rooms with a view, great maintenance staff service, 24 hours hotel security, lots and lots of amenities like I had never seen before.
I will definetaly stay at this Hotel again.

NOTE: I have been working in the hotel industry for over 20 years, I highly recomend this hotel as your vacation destination.

Martin Hernandez

Room Tip: A lot of the times when we travel we look for the most inespensive hotel to stay, but often we encou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinsJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Suggestions:

Improve fitness studio. Lacks of equipment.
Swimming pool too small.
Make bar modern of the 21st floor.

It would've been a lot more useful for hotel customers if the service here can accommodate English moreover understanding of the variousness in dietary requirement; such as vegetarian and vegan. Gracias !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolasfhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Construction on the left side and back of the hotel. Tall buildings around the hotel interrupting the view.. We were staying for almost 2 weeks and the reception first offered and showed us a better room (with full ocean view) but decided not to change us as we then would have had to swift room for the last 5 days- but we didn't mind so we think that the reception showed no flexibility.
The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Small pool and sun beds on roof top - not at all crowded. Beach area nothing special - sand (but not white) and waves (but not turquoise). There is a heavy trafficked road between the hotel and the beach. The sidewalks for pedestrian are either non existing or in a bad shape. I wouldn't recommend the hotel to families with small children or disabled persons.

Room Tip: Front rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian at large
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Mixed reviews of this hotel by our trip advisor community should have stopped us.

Our room was just basic, to put it mildly: Spacious enough but was drab and smelled damp all the time. It was also loud with outside voices echoing off the granite floors. They broadcast music in the hallways during the day.

Staff was unhelpful, indifferent, and lazy. Breakfast was just barely adequate for a hotel fancying itself to be above the cut.

The pool is very small. The beach across the street is just awful: dirty, unpleasant and loud with pesty vendors.

If we had not paid up in advance we would have left as soon as we saw our room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nofoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 2 days with my husband and we frankly felt that the rooms were very basic. The quality of the rooms and furnishing did not match the priced paid. While rooms were clean, it was old and not well maintained. Location was good and staff were always lovely. They saved the stay. Unfortunately I would not go back to this hotel in a hurry.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Playfulphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
5.5 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#15 of 146 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 146 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#20 of 146 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#27 of 146 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capilla del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capilla del Mar

Property: Hotel Capilla del Mar
Address: Carrera 8 -12 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 130001, Colombia (Formerly Capilla del Mar Global Hotel)
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#5 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#6 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capilla del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capilla del Mar Hotel is loca-ted at Car-ta-gena de Indias, Colom-bia with the pri-vi-lege of being in front of the bea-ch-, we offer the best lei-sure and rela-xa-tion expe-rience in the city. Enjoy the modern tou-rist area of Boca-grande, one of the most emble-ma-tic areas of the city; hol-ding a variety of places like res-tau-rants, bars, dis-cos, night-clubs, in addi-tion to the most impor-tant world-wide com-mer-cial brands. A modern 5 stars hotel infras-truc-ture and ser-vi-ces ensu-ring per-fect slee-ping expe-rience and gas-tro-nomy, offe-ring tou-rists and exe-cu-ti-ves, a warm and friendly expe-rience, focu-sed to details. Enjoy the charm and his-tory of Cartagena's old area, just 7 minu-tes away front the hotel and only 15 minutes away front the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Capilla del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capilla Del Mar Global

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing