We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“It is well worth the price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capilla del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Capilla del Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Capilla del Mar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 1ra. No. 8 -12 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 3939, Colombia (Formerly Capilla del Mar Global Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 142 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
1 review
“It is well worth the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

At first when I made the reservation, I felt the hotel was over price, but when I arrived I felt much much better to find out that is hotel iis well worth the price.
Beautiful rooms with a view, great maintenance staff service, 24 hours hotel security, lots and lots of amenities like I had never seen before.
I will definetaly stay at this Hotel again.

NOTE: I have been working in the hotel industry for over 20 years, I highly recomend this hotel as your vacation destination.

Martin Hernandez

Room Tip: A lot of the times when we travel we look for the most inespensive hotel to stay, but often we encou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinsJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    530
    129
    39
    23
See reviews for
416
541
55
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Suggestions:

Improve fitness studio. Lacks of equipment.
Swimming pool too small.
Make bar modern of the 21st floor.

It would've been a lot more useful for hotel customers if the service here can accommodate English moreover understanding of the variousness in dietary requirement; such as vegetarian and vegan. Gracias !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolasfhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Construction on the left side and back of the hotel. Tall buildings around the hotel interrupting the view.. We were staying for almost 2 weeks and the reception first offered and showed us a better room (with full ocean view) but decided not to change us as we then would have had to swift room for the last 5 days- but we didn't mind so we think that the reception showed no flexibility.
The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Small pool and sun beds on roof top - not at all crowded. Beach area nothing special - sand (but not white) and waves (but not turquoise). There is a heavy trafficked road between the hotel and the beach. The sidewalks for pedestrian are either non existing or in a bad shape. I wouldn't recommend the hotel to families with small children or disabled persons.

Room Tip: Front rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian at large
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Mixed reviews of this hotel by our trip advisor community should have stopped us.

Our room was just basic, to put it mildly: Spacious enough but was drab and smelled damp all the time. It was also loud with outside voices echoing off the granite floors. They broadcast music in the hallways during the day.

Staff was unhelpful, indifferent, and lazy. Breakfast was just barely adequate for a hotel fancying itself to be above the cut.

The pool is very small. The beach across the street is just awful: dirty, unpleasant and loud with pesty vendors.

If we had not paid up in advance we would have left as soon as we saw our room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nofoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 2 days with my husband and we frankly felt that the rooms were very basic. The quality of the rooms and furnishing did not match the priced paid. While rooms were clean, it was old and not well maintained. Location was good and staff were always lovely. They saved the stay. Unfortunately I would not go back to this hotel in a hurry.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Playfulphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this place for 4 nights in November, and I had a very good stay. The biggest positives about this place were the location right across from the beach, the huge rooom size, and the incredible view I had from my balcony. My room had two bathrooms, a living room, and bedroom, and a large balcony. The room category that I was in was sort of in the middle, it wasn't their cheapest room, but it wasn't their most expensive room either.

The room was a little dated, especially the bathroom, but not so much so that I felt I was staying in an old place. We did have problems with the shower on our first night and reported it to the front desk. A maintenance man was at our room within 15 minutes, and repaired the shower within an hour. It was good to see they were quick to resolve a problem when needed.

Bocagrande beach was not very appealing, I did not even go to Bocagrande beach except for taking a walk. If you want a nice beach, take a day trip to Playa Blanca, it's well worth it. I enjoyed the rooftop pool, the 360 degree views of the bay, the ocean, and the city were spectacular. Of course they had a full bar up there which is great. The pool is small, but it was not crowded when I was up there. Not much shade up there, so I hope you like the sun.

The colonial city was a short inexpensive cab ride away from the hotel. The are plenty of restaurants, shops, and fast food places within walking distance of the hotel as well, but I mostly ate at places around the colonial city. I enjoyed my stay here, and in Cartagena itself, but one thing I must point out to all you English speakers is that Cartagena does not have enough English speaking people in their tourism industry, so if you are not with someone who speaks Spanish (I was with someone who spoke Spanish) you might have a tough go of it communicating with people, even at the hotel. But don't let this discourage you, I certainly would return to Cartagena even without a Spanish speaking person, I had a great time in Cartagena.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron-from-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for a week after 5 nights in Old Town. It was a good combination as 5 nights in the Old Town was plenty to experience the history and we now wanted some beach and fiesta! The Capilla del Mar is a high rise beach hotel. The room we had was on 15th floor and overlooked the ocean - it was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The views from the balcony were amazing. I found all the hotel staff very helpful and unlike many others I found many who spoke English, and if they didn't they would find someone who did. They are obviously in a period of renovation, we had a renovated room and it was great but perhaps other reviewers did not. While we were there the pool was closed which was a bit of a blow as the beach is not that nice and you are bothered by hawkers every few seconds. You can go to another hotel to use their pools, it is a nice hotel but about 30 mins drive and if you want to lounge by the pool you don't necessarily want to pack up and spend 30 mins on a bus to get back to your hotel room. I think once the pool and upper bar area is finished it will be amazing. The concierge and tourism staff are really helpful and the tours we booked through the hotel were first class.
The breakfast buffet is good, but make sure it is included in your room rate otherwise it can get expensive. There is a cafe/bar overlooking the beach and this is very nice. You can people watch at the beach, the food was reasonably priced and good. Happy hour you get two mojitos for the price of one - the best mojitos I had in Colombia.
All in all I would definitely stay here again and it will be even better once all the renovations are finished.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miraby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#17 of 142 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 142 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,504 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#22 of 142 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#31 of 142 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capilla del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capilla del Mar

Property: Hotel Capilla del Mar
Address: Carrera 1ra. No. 8 -12 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 3939, Colombia (Formerly Capilla del Mar Global Hotel)
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#5 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#6 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capilla del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capilla del Mar Hotel is loca-ted at Car-ta-gena de Indias, Colom-bia with the pri-vi-lege of being in front of the bea-ch-, we offer the best lei-sure and rela-xa-tion expe-rience in the city. Enjoy the modern tou-rist area of Boca-grande, one of the most emble-ma-tic areas of the city; hol-ding a variety of places like res-tau-rants, bars, dis-cos, night-clubs, in addi-tion to the most impor-tant world-wide com-mer-cial brands. A modern 5 stars hotel infras-truc-ture and ser-vi-ces ensu-ring per-fect slee-ping expe-rience and gas-tro-nomy, offe-ring tou-rists and exe-cu-ti-ves, a warm and friendly expe-rience, focu-sed to details. Enjoy the charm and his-tory of Cartagena's old area, just 7 minu-tes away front the hotel and only 15 minutes away front the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Capilla del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capilla Del Mar Global

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing