We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Cartagena. Great Location! excellent Service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Capilla del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Ranked #21 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in Cartagena. Great Location! excellent Service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

I recently got married in Cartagena, Colombia and stayed at "Capilla del Mar" for two nights. The room was very clean, spacious, and the view AMAIZING. The staff was very nice and helpful. We missed breakfast hour and we called to see if it could be delivered to our room and the answer was a plesant YES. The bfast was soooo good.

This hotel is not located at the Old City but everything is so close in Cartagena that it will take you 10 min in a cab to get to the main attractions. And the taxi fare is so cheap that why bother walking. They have two restaurants in the hotel One is like a open sports bar and the other one has local and international plates to choose from.

For us the Location was excellent because there's is a lot to do around there. You have from local restaurants to Chinese, Greek, segafredo etc etc. Also a lot of great shops.

We will definately go back to this beautiful city and will stay at "Capilla del Mar"

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    642
    159
    46
    28
See reviews for
512
640
67
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We travelled to Cartagena on August 2008. Myself having been away for many years from Colombia was happy to be able to share this beautiful area with my family. Having arrived at the Cartagena airport we bought our taxis fare at a booth at the airport which gave us the exact fare to La Capilla Del Mar in Cartagena.

When we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised at the very good service we received. The attendants at the counter were very helpful and coordial. Not to mention that they were helpful in giving us directions to find a tour agency to be able to look around the city.

The rooms at this hotel were very clean well designed as well as very comfortable beds, I would say this is a very good 3-4 star hotel. At the top of the building they have a small pool which comes in handy in August with the high tempretures.

Next to the hotel there was a tour agency where you could book tours to the Rosario islands they seemed a bit expensive. You could probably go to the wharf and book a tour from their at a cheaper rate.

The second night we booked on a "CHIVA" this is a very well adorned bus that take you on a tour of the city with a local band of "vallenatos" playing music all the way. In the tour it includes rum and coke. They take you along the coast and show you Cartagena by night. Then will take you to the San Felipe Castle where there is a show of local dancers. A lot of fun! finally they finish the tour at a restaurant where they play music for dancing.

All in all very good experience I would definitley return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldis1726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

I recently stayed here 3 days. My room was large, with a nice balcony and a view to the beach and the colonial city. Unfortunately, I couldn't enjoy any of these. Drilling and hammering started at 8 am as they are doing a renovation of some floors, and the noise in my balcony was unbearable. My room was hot all the time, as the AC was not working well. They even shut it off for a whole day. I was not told of the inconvenience at check-in time, neither did they offer any compensation. I'll give high marks for the breakfast buffet, but nothing else. Last but least, the noise from the discotheque on their top floor spreads all the way down, and it was difficult to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gundisalvus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

i have done a carefull research of hotels in cartagena , and i am an avid user of "tripadvisor". i am glad to say that once again i have made the right choice !!! i booked thru "hotelbook" they had the best rate of 138$ including breakfast, a room with a balcony. they were cheaper by 50$ a night from the competition like "booking.com" etc.
i arrived at 1 pm waited few minutes and got a room on the 16th floor. the room was very spacious, clean and the bed comfprtable. the hotel is a 15 min ride from the airport and taxi was 8$. the hotel has a beach with cabanas and they charge 7$ a day for that and it has a security guard. its very reasonable and the beach is very clean the water too , i enjoyed a day at the beach. if you want to go to the old city taxis are plentyful and cost only 3$ very cheap. i have had breakfast every day and it was pretty good , lots of fresh foods , omlet station etc. they have a bar and a pool at the top floor with fantastic views of boca grande coast line. i have ordered aguardiente for 4$ and a cocktail for 7$ , compared to ny this is very cheap.
the service in general was good , decent security so no complaints.
overall its a pretty good hotel , good rooms and good value for the money !!
i would definetely recommend it to any one solo travelers , couples , or families.. i loved cartagena and hope to be back.

Room Tip: search for rates there are big differences among the web sites , the hotel was accurately represente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Stayed in Cartagena as a 3 day break during a holiday to Bogota, definitely worth it - short flight, the town is not far from airport, nice place and warmer weather than Bogota.
The hotel - situated past/outside the old town but not too far towards the not so historic/dodgy part. Taxis are really cheap, journeys always seemed to be 6000 pesos which is £2 english pounds. Further afield for example to the castle were still only £3.
Checked in and were upgraded to a suite which turned out to be the floor below the hotel nightclub. Rang up at midnight to be told the music stopped at 2am, it stopped at 5am - if we weren't so tired we'd have gone and joined in. Rang reception in the morning asking for just any room on a lower floor and to be fair they still offered us an upgraded room but on the lower floor and it was available early evening. This room had been more recently decorated/furnished, so it turned out good.
Hotel staff were all very friendly and professional.
A good choice of breakfast available every morning, lots of fresh fruit, cereals, cooked breakfast, juices, breads etc, but they couldn't have got another table in the restaurant space if they'd tried!
Rooftop pool was a nice little area - pool was a great place to cool off. Bar area with tables and chairs plus loungers near the pool. Plenty of towels.
Free wifi.

Room Tip: Not too close to the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fulltimeholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

Probably the best location in Boca Grande, right on the beach near highest concentration of restaurants, fast food, ATMs, nearby casinos, etc. Boca Grande is not best place to stay for best Cartegena experience (within the walled city for that), but cabs are silly cheap and only five minutes away from town. Hotel had nice rooftop pool & patio bar, OK fitness center (though it was out of service when we were there), OK restaurant, and very nice breakfast buffet (usually included). Though on the beach, the beach is sub-par by most U.S. beach standards, Hotel staff friendly, though English speakers ranged from very good (the late night guy) to spotty. I'd stay again if the price were right

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgb10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

Capilla del Mar is a nice hotel, recently renovated. The staff is very helpful and always greeted you with a smile. The pool area is great, with an incredible view. They have this great service where they can get you any grocerie at the same price of a convenience store. There's an ATM around the corner.

Room Tip: When you get there make sure to ask for the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#30 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#15 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#31 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#25 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capilla del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capilla del Mar

Property: Hotel Capilla del Mar
Address: Carrera 8 -12 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 130001, Colombia (Formerly Capilla del Mar Global Hotel)
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#5 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#8 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capilla del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capilla del Mar Hotel is loca-ted at Car-ta-gena de Indias, Colom-bia with the pri-vi-lege of being in front of the bea-ch-, we offer the best lei-sure and rela-xa-tion expe-rience in the city. Enjoy the modern tou-rist area of Boca-grande, one of the most emble-ma-tic areas of the city; hol-ding a variety of places like res-tau-rants, bars, dis-cos, night-clubs, in addi-tion to the most impor-tant world-wide com-mer-cial brands. A modern 5 stars hotel infras-truc-ture and ser-vi-ces ensu-ring per-fect slee-ping expe-rience and gas-tro-nomy, offe-ring tou-rists and exe-cu-ti-ves, a warm and friendly expe-rience, focu-sed to details. Enjoy the charm and his-tory of Cartagena's old area, just 7 minu-tes away front the hotel and only 15 minutes away front the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Capilla del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capilla Del Mar Global

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing