We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty is in the eye of the beholder!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Ranked #38 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 4, 2014

What we liked: great views from lobby and pool, friendly and hard-working staff, free breakfast that was better than most free breakfasts at this price point, the blackout curtains in the room, the cleanliness of the hotel in general, cheap taxi trips to the walled city (US$3-4 each way) and finally, the constantly repeating "Happy" song in the elevator that my wife and I couldn't resist dancing to and that put a smile on our faces.

What we didn't like: seems like they built the place as fast as they could, so some aspects are kind of shoddy (shower doesn't drain well, the door to the room had a relatively large gap with the wall, the wall of our shower had a big crack, seems like a matter of time before the flooring material will start to come unglued) and there are *very* limited amenities- don't expect tissues in your room, or room service (unless poolside "hotdogs in a can" floats your boat), or even conditioner (this was a big issue for my wife given the ever-present humidity and the fact we were there for a wedding...but we were told however that the pharmacy across the street sells some!). Guys- sorry but this is not like a Hilton. As we were leaving, we heard the front desk informing someone checking in that there would be no air conditioning from 6am until 10pm the following day. If you have ever been to Cartagena, you know what this implies. I hope they got a discount!

The bottom line: If you are looking for value, this can be a great place. I'm tempted to make a comparison with a cool looking car that has a really undersized engine, but I feel that would be a disservice to the staff that really does work hard and does all that it can to overcome the structural deficiencies. I give it four circles because I think the plusses outweighed the minuses. My wife gives it three circles because taking a shower in dirty undrained water without conditioner while staring at a giant crack in the wall isn't really her idea of a four circle place. We agree to disagree!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank McSmitty00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica T, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear McSmitty00,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your recient experience in our hotel Your comments are very helpful both to prospective travelers to Cartagena as well as to the hotel so that we can make improvements to our service.

Our hotel is part of the Hilton Worldwide family of brands, but as a Hampton we are considered a "focused service" hotel as opposed to other hotels in the portfolio, such as Hilton, DoubleTree, and Embassy Suites which are considered "full service." As a focused service hotel our amenities and services are more limited than the full service brands, thus enabling us to offer a much more competitive rate.

However, as a limited service hotel this does not by any means justify the experience maintenance issues in your room! We kindly ask that our guests inform us as soon as they have any type of maintenance issue during their stays so that we can take immediate action to rectify the problem. We will take a look at your guestroom to ensure the room is restored to like new condition and all facilities are working properly. I am very sorry to read about the inconveniences you had during your stay.

Regarding the air conditioning, we are happy to confirm that with the corrections made yesterday, which were completed much earlier than 10pm, were successful and our AC is working perfectly!

If you have the opportunity to come back to Cartagena, please contact us directly so that we can ensure this time you and your wife leave 100% satisfied with your stay experience.

Sincerely,

Jessica Testa
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

After spending 4 days in the walled city at an older boutique hotel (and in 100+ degree heat), we decided to find an affordable hotel in Bocagrande with a pool for a change of pace. The Hampton Inn was much nicer than what we would have expected in the US (more like a Hilton) and the people who work here were great. They allowed us to check in almost 3 hours early, check out one hour late and let us have access to the gym, pool and other facilities while we waited (we have an 11:30pm flight!). The free breakfast was the best we have had during a month of travel in South America. Hot, pressurized shower and very spacious, modern bathroom. Also, the cold AC is a must! True, this isn't a charming hotel with character, but that's not why you stay at a Hampton Inn. We couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank skadetzfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica T, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear skadetzfoster,


My name is Jessica Testa and I am the General Manager of the Hampton by Hilton Cartagena. It was such a pleasure to have the opportunity to have you in our hotel during your recent visit to Cartagena. We are flattered to read that our breakfast was the best breakfast that you had in all of South America! Every day we attend our guests with "Hamptonality" and do our best to go above and beyond our guests' expectations. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and we hope that you'll return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Completely surprised at this hotel. I have stayed at Hamptons in the US and this does not compare. In a fantastic spot in Cartagena right on the ocean. It offers great views from an observatory deck, a roof top pool and gym and a great staff (the one at the front desk oh mi amor). The hotel is very new, very sleek and offers nice rooms at a very good price. The lobby is on the 16th floor and offers a pretty decent breakfast and nice lounge area. This is also where there is an observatory deck (which doubles as a smoking area). The area is filled with shops, restaurants and what seems like every vendor in Cartagena. No hidden fees or overcharges. The area is a bit dodgy, but it is a tourist area in Colombia. I couldn't believe how many women wanted to spend time with me after I went downstairs for a smoke late one night :). I really couldn't find much to complain about this hotel. They did say the parking lot was full but I did not have a car so check on that first if you have a rental. Excellent value. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as you can for better views. But if not just go to the lobby deck. Laundry a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Seanp7195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica T, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Seanp7195,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this excellent, 5 star comment about your recent visit with us. We loved having you in our hotel and our team has very fond memories of you! We are glad that you enjoyed our sky lobby, rooms & facilities, and rates. We recommend to our guests to book in advance to ensure the best rates possible- if you book at least 14 days in advance you can have access to rates with up to 15% discount!

Our hotel does not have a parking garage but there are local parking garages (at a fee) or street parking (if available, free) for our guests with vehicles.

We hope that you'll come back to visit soon!

Sincerely,

Jessica Testa
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Hampton is a newer hotel with excellent location in Boca Grande. The staff is excellent and extremely helpful with any issues or needs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Cartagena for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica T, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Jason M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate our hotel with a 5 circle review on TripAdvisor! It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to meet you during your stay at our hotel. We hope that you will come back to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Jessica Testa
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I travel for business. However, this was a family trip. I am Colombian but have been living in Florida for over 30 years. Our plan was to spend 2 nights in Cartagena and then continue our journey to Barranquilla, my hometown. I selected Hamptonnn because I am familiar with the brand and price for this hotel was competitive with local hotels.
This is not your typical Hamptonn Inn. Starting with the gorgous lobby in the 16th floor and amazing views. Breakfast which as usual in Hamptonn hotels was included was beyond your standard,typical business breakfast. It had aything an international traveller would expect or want PLUS daily local surprises such as empanandas,yuca frita, pan de bono, etc.
We did not use the pool in the 17 floor. We went up just to enjoy the view and take pictures. There was so much to do in Cartagena....
The hotel is strategically located at the beginning of Bocagrande. This location allows the traveller to have easy access to the old city and/or downtown and to the touristic district. I have no hesitations to recommend this hotel for business travellers going to Cartagena. You get the consistency and backing of the Hilton brand in a branch that it is a couple of notches higher than similar hotels. By the way,my comments on location apply also for tourists. As an additional benefit, there is a tour agency, which I think is not related to the hotel, in the first floor. We booked a couple of tours of the city which were great. You can also booke tours to nearby islands if you want a more private beach.
Staff, front desk and housekeeping, provided excellent service. I need to mention the hotel manager. Two things I need to highlight, she provided a personal touch. She took the time to stop and talk to my wife and listen to our comments. In addition, the fact that she is originally from the US allows her to cater to the specific needs of the international traveller.
I highly recommend this hotel.....I will be back.....

Room Tip: Book a tour to the nearby island. It is a one day leavign around 9 returning around 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fer otero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica T, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Fer Otero,

It was such a pleasure to have the opportunity to meet you and your family during your recent visit to our hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to evaluate your experience on TripAdvisor and rate us with 5 stars! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our sky lobby, complimentary breakfast, facilities, and above all, our staff. We hope that you will continue to visit us in future trips to Cartagena- our hotel will always be your home away from home!

Sincerely,

Jessica Testa
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just came back from cartagena. Very reasonable and comfotable hotel to stay out of walled city.
Pretty close to go by walk or taxi (3USD) to the Walled City.

A lot of restaurantes just downstairs in the avenue, including supermarket, travels agency, etc.

Rooms clean, friendly staff and good size for the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuriloLima86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica T, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear MuriloLima86,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you sharing with potential visitors to our hotel information on our convenient location, excellent staff, and comfortable rooms.

The Hampton by Hilton Cartagena will always be your home away from home when you come to La Heroica. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Jessica Testa
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Though nothing out of the ordinary, the hotel was clean, comfortable, with excellent service. Only a 5 minute drive from the walled city, across the street from beaches, and with a nice rooftop pool of its own, it was hard to beat the quality for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica T, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Daniel H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate that you chose to stay with us during your recent trip to the beautiful city of Cartagena! It is wonderful to know that you found our rooms to be comfortable and had such a pleasant experience with our team. Please reach out to us the next time you are coming to Cartagena so we can ensure that your next stay isn't just ordinary but EXTRAordinary!

Sincerely,

Jessica Testa
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#31 of 158 in Cartagena
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#19 of 158 in Cartagena
433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#27 of 158 in Cartagena
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#20 of 158 in Cartagena
1,114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#81 of 158 in Cartagena
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Cartagena

Address: Av. San Martin #8-13, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $77 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Cartagena 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered by many one of the top leisure destinations in the world, discover the enchanting heritage of the Caribbean with the Hampton by Hilton Cartagena located between the Caribbean Sea and the Cartagena Bay in the vibrant neighborhood of Bocagrande, renowned for its commercial and touristic activity. Enjoy our sky lobby on the 16th floor or our pool terrace on the 17th floor. If you feel like going out at night, take a 5 minute taxi ride to the historic center where you can stroll the magical streets of the “walled city” or enjoy some of Cartagena’s finest bars, restaurants and night clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing