We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overrated, small pool” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton by Hilton Cartagena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Ranked #28 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
GreenLeadersBronze level
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“overrated, small pool”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

One night was enough for me. The lobby is on the 16th floor, so don't expect to be greeted before you enter the elevator with other unknown people. Security? The rooms are typical Hampton -- fine, but without any Latin American flavor. Pool is small with unbearable loud music the two times I checked it. Breakfast buffet was as bland as the hotel design. No restaurant or room service after the breakfast buffet. If this hotel is not for you, ask for a refund if you have paid for additional nights. They were nice enough to refund my second night, and gave me the refund in Colombian pesos, which was fine. I moved to another hotel in the historical area which was 1/3 the price, with a friendly Cartagena vibe.

Room Tip: Most probably don't have a good view. My view was ugly rooftop and construction site next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyTexantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica T, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear happyTexantoo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very sorry to read that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Our team works hard every day to make our guests feel at home with us, safe, and provided for with our complimentary breakfast and additional services such as our rooftop pool and 24 hour fitness center. Your comments help us to review how we can be better and ensure 100% satisfaction from our guests.

Sincerely,

Jessica Testa
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    528
    135
    39
    13
See reviews for
275
506
90
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
276 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

There is nothing better than new hotels, and this place is just that.. a fantastic new hotel with great prices in Bocagrande, across from the beach. The beds are super comfortable, the bathrooms are modern and clean, the staff super friendly, especially the general manager who came to talk to us a few times. The breakfast is quite good, a selection of fruit, eggs, breads, sweets, coffee, tea, juices, and some arepas and meats. The only complain we have is that we booked a tour through the front desk to Playa Blanca and the tour ended up costing more than what we were told it would cost. Also, travelling with a 3 year old we asked how safe the tour would be for the child and were told all will be fine, well, I didn't find it fine for a 3 year old to be on a fast boat so fast that we were swallowing salt water and then arriving in Playa Blanca and having to go into the ocean with her.... however, cannot blame the hotel, I just wish they were a bit more informed if they do book these kinds of trips for guests. Overall, a very pleasant hotel experience as the hotel is within walking distance to everything and taxis are just about 3 dollars to the old city center. Lovely location, fantastic hotel, a bit strange that the lobby is on the top floor, but beautiful breakfast views and amazing views from the rooftop pool. There is construction across the street for a new hotel, however, we didn't hear any noise in our room. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalCitizenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica T, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Manuela Marco,

Thank you very much for writing this excellent, 5 Circle review about your stay with us. We are thrilled to read that you had such a positive experience with us.

I am very sorry about your experience with Playa Blanca. Thank you for the feedback so that we can have it in mind with future recommendations for our guests.

It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us, and we hope that you will come back soon!

Sincerely,

Jessica Testa
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights after reading a bunch of good reviews. The best things of the hotel are: it's new, clean, well located, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast is varied and good, the wifi works all the time, it has a fitness center 24/7, and the staff is helpful when you have any issue. The things that can be improved are: make in a faster checkin process, fixing the noise that the hot water system makes every morning when people are taking showers, including your own seats and tents in the beach area for your customers.

Also, if people are looking for a room with a great view, this might not be the best hotel option, other than that we would recommend!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica T, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Alejandra M,

Thank you very much for this detailed comment about your stay with us. We are glad to read that you liked our location, housekeeping, bed, breakfast, wifi, gym and staff! It's always very motivating for us to hear such positive feedback about a variety of areas in the hotel.

Regarding your suggestions, thank you for bringing them to our attention. We will work to improve our check in speed and will review with Engineering how to adjust the noise you heard. As for the seats on the beach, unfortunately as the beaches in Bocagrande are public beaches, the hotel is unable to reserve a portion of the beach just for it's guests. However, we are more than happy to loan you beach towels and advise as to the pricing that the beach lifeguards use for the chairs and umbrellas to ensure that you are charged a fair price.

We hope that you will come back and visit us soon, and are very appreciative of your recommendations on TripAdvisor!

Sincerely,

Jessica Testa
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is brand new so everything looks clean and nice. The rooms are fine though a little small. No minibar in the rooms so you have to go to the lobby and take what you need. The Lobby is on the 16th floor, which makes the elevators very busy all the time. Breakfast is not very good, poor variety. It's a fine place, not my favorite.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nanihernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica T, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Nani Hernandez,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that our hotel design and service did not meet your expectations. Every day we try to put forth our best to all of our guests, and feedback such as this comment helps us identify how we can be better. We hope that if you come back to Cartagena someday, you will have us in mind and give us another opportunity to really wow you!

Sincerely,

Jessica Testa
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were delighted with our stay here. The location is almost that the top of Boca grande which isn't the tourist hub that it was back in the day before the old city was rejuvenated. While it he area isn't as upscale as the old city, it is much more authentic and the tall white buildings remind you of a min-Miami beach. It is very safe. We walked around until late evening and were close to great little restaurants and the beach. The old city is a 15minute walk or 3 minute taxi right.
The lobby to the hotel is on a high floor of building which is a bit different but the views of city are breathtaking when you step out of elevator into lobby. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was great. Large bathroom with great showers and room had boutique hotel feel.
The breakfast was continental buffet style served in lobby. It was plentiful with a variety if fruits, eggs, pastries etc and again the views were incredible.
Would stay here again as great value and location

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking water or bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate2366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica T, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Kate2366,

Thank you very much for writing such an excellent, detailed review about your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, rooms, views, and staff. The Hampton by Hilton Cartagena will always be your home away from home here, and we sincerely hope that you will come back to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Jessica Testa
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

General manager Jessica and her staff were exceptionally helpful and professional. I would recommend this hotel for the location to the beach and within easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. The rooftop pool had a beautiful view but could have stayed open later.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica T, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
@LynnP

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your comments about your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the efficiency and hospitality of our team members, our strategic location, our fantastic view from the rooftop gym & pool, and our clean & modern rooms.

We will be delighted to welcome you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Jessica Testa
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bld1986
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for five nights in February 2014. We arrived at around 9:30 in the morning, and after the 15 minute ride from the airport we were planning to ask if we could drop our bags in their luggage room while we waited for our check-in time. I was SO happy when the kind woman working at reception instead offered to let us into our room right away--it was very nice to be able to shower and get a few hours of sleep after a long overnight layover en route to Cartagena.

Overall, our experience here was very nice. I found the room to be a reasonable size for two people and the bed was extremely comfortable (my partner is very picky about hotel beds and even he mentioned how much he loved it). Our room faced a few other buildings but we could see some slivers of the ocean and the bay from the room; in fact, since the hotel is out on the Bocagrande peninsula, I doubt there's any room that can't see at least a little water. The room itself was also very nice and looked just like the hotel-supplied photos: always cleaned very well and still in very good, new-looking condition. Some others have mentioned that the hotel breakfast can get boring, but I actually found the variety to be perfect for five days, with the buffet both clean and fresh. The pool area was nice and shares the same beautiful views that the lobby/breakfast area does (although that unfortunately includes a new Sheraton being built next door), though it can get pretty windy and cool up there in the evening, at least by Cartagena standards.. Finally, we are a gay couple and didn't feel like we were treated any differently or gawked at by the staff, which hasn't always been the case at other places.

My only annoyances with this hotel were small things, but maybe worth nothing anyway. The first is that there are only 2 elevators for the entire building, which resulted in some semi-long waits trying to get from one floor to another (each level is accessible only with your room key and stairs are for emergencies only). The other is that when we tried to ask at reception about the best way to get to the Playa Blanca the next morning, they basically had no idea and just told us to go to the travel agency downstairs. I guess that's not really a part of their job description, but it was a little disappointing anyway. Overally though, those little things hardly ruined the experience--I'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I felt bad for the guests on the lower floors (6 and below, maybe?) because they probably didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bld1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica T, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear bld1986,

Thank you so much for writing such a detailed comment about your experience with us. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay so much as to give us a 5circle rating on Tripadvisor! We sincerely appreciate that you and your partner chose to stay with us for your visit to Cartagena- on a daily basis, the Hampton by Hilton Cartagena loves to welcome guests from all over the world, along with a wide variety of cultures, and we take immense pride in the fact that you felt right at home with us. Thank you for highlighting our rooms, pool, and breakfast as well- we are very happy that the improvements we've made to our buffet are enhancing our guests' experience at our hotel.

I appreciate your suggestions about the elevators and the information about excursions provided at the desk. All suggestions help us to improve our guests' experiences and impressions of our hotel. I would like to add that we are more than happy to assist with recommendations to the islands, or any other tourist attraction in Cartagena; however we additionally like to direct guests to our travel agency on the first floor, so that they can enjoy the special discounts offered exclusively for our hotel guests and have the added comfort in the complimentary trip insurance that Panamericana guarantees for their travellers.

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel, and we truly hope that you & your partner will come back to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Jessica Testa
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#14 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#24 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Lux Hotel
Atlantic Lux Hotel
#64 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Cartagena

Property: Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Address: Av. San Martin #8-13, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Cartagena 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered by many one of the top leisure destinations in the world, discover the enchanting heritage of the Caribbean with the Hampton by Hilton Cartagena located between the Caribbean Sea and the Cartagena Bay in the vibrant neighborhood of Bocagrande, renowned for its commercial and touristic activity. Enjoy our sky lobby on the 16th floor or our pool terrace on the 17th floor. If you feel like going out at night, take a 5 minute taxi ride to the historic center where you can stroll the magical streets of the “walled city” or enjoy some of Cartagena’s finest bars, restaurants and night clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing