We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Ranked #39 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I recently stayed her for 7 nights and loved it! The hotel and amenities were very new, clean, and modern -- overall very comfortable. The included daily breakfast always had plenty of fresh tropical fruit and unique juices that were fun to try. Also the staff was fantastic about giving recommendations for restaurants and each one they suggested was better than the last! The hotel is less than a block from the beach, and it also has a rooftop pool with great views of the ocean and the city. I would recommend the Hampton for any type of stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rizzlet87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel Q, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

@rizzlet87 My name is Juan Manuel Quijano, General Manager at the Hampton by Hilton Cartagena. We appreciate your trust in our hotel with your excellent comment on TripAdvisor. Our team is very glad to know that our recommendations were enjoyed by you. We look forward to see you again very soon at your home here in Cartagena. Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at the hotel recently.
Nice brand new modern super clean hotel, very well laid out and well constructed for the Cartagena climate so unlike other hotels in the area which suffer from air leakage making one feel as though the air conditioning can barely keep up, this hotel is quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and included real eggs and fresh fruit although the instant coffee machine in the land of world famous coffee, was a disappointment. I do not understand why the hotel had no bell boys. The hotel lobby is actually on the 16th floor and the street entrance had no greeter or bellboy present to assist guests with their baggage. No luggage carts were available either. A hotel of this calibre should have bell boys.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy_bbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel Q, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

@andy_bbq We are very glad to know that you enjoyed the physical condition of our hotel as well as our breakfast. We thank you very much for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future here at your home in Cartagena. Have a nice day!

Juan Manuel Quijano
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I came on vacation here with three of my friends and we were accommodated in connecting rooms on the highest floor. One of the rooms was upgraded to a room with a sofa pullout bed, which was great for hanging out in the room. The rooms were spacious, clean, and well appointed. Loved, loved the shower! We had breakfast everyday and the staff there were very nice and helpful, especially Johan. Jessica at the front desk spoke English, Spanish and Italian and gave us great recommendations for our vacation. Couldn't have been more pleased with our 7 day stay! Thank you so much Hampton Inn for making our Cartagena experience!

Room Tip: We loved our room on the 15th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECN415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel Q, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

@ECN415 We are very happy to know that you were pleased with your week long stay with us and that you really liked your room on the 15th floor. Johan and Jessica say hi and the whole team looks forward to seeing you again in Cartagena!

Juan Manuel Quijano
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great location for exploring the area and only 100m from the beach. A warm welcome was given to myself and my colleagues and without too much fuss. Rooms are large enough to open a large case and pull out belongings without crowding the room. Complimentary items in the room and bathroom are minimal but as the hotel is new all the utilities worked beautifully. Breakfast is very basic but does have hot and cold items.....if you were here for more than 3 days you probably might want to eat someplace else for breakfast, just to see something different. The pool on the roof is just for dipping really as its so small, its not for exercising in!!!, but having the small roof terrace is quite a nice thing with pop music to add to the atmosphere. Many good restaurants nearby but the old walled city is the jewel in the crown for good choice of foods.
For a couple of reasonably cheap nights and great location this could be all what budget aware travellers need.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel Q, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

@Elise P Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience at our hotel! We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our room and services, and that our hotel proved to be a great value for you in your visit to Cartagena.

We hope that you come back to visit us soon, and please know that you always have a home with us here!

Sincerely,

Juan Manuel Quijano
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is brand new, clean, modern and simple! Great price and you get the basic services for a short stay or business travel. Self service for the most part. Loved that the elevator only works with your key, which is great for privacy and safety. Excellent service, lots of info provided at the front desk and if you book a tour at the travel agency downstairs you get 5% off just for being guest at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamihot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel Q, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

@Mamihot Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive and detailed comment about our service on TripAdvisor! Each and every one of our services is designed with our guests’ satisfaction, security, and tranquility in mind.

Please remember that we are always here to offer you our best.

Have a great day,

JMQ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A few weeks before arriving, I emailed the general manager of the hotel to request a quiet room and less than a day later, I had a response from Jessica, the assistant manager (and a very helpful and friendly one at that!), confirming it and asking if there was anything else I needed. This is the quickest I've EVER heard back from a hotel!

Check in is really cool - on the 17th floor of the hotel with ceiling sized windows on the entire floor. The woman who checked me in was very friendly and explained the Hampton policy where if you are not satisfied, you don't pay. There was a note in the system about my request and she immediately told me the room I requested was ready.

The hotel is new so all the rooms are modern with new furniture and fixtures. Bathroom was a very nice size with a huge walk-in shower. Best of all was the bed. Not only was it extremely comfortable but they even give you two choices of pillow - firm or soft. Keep in mind also Cartagena is very hot and humid so you will want a hotel with good air conditioning. Well this hotel had it! I slept like a baby at a perfect temperature. They even had great blackout curtains to keep the sun out in the morning.

Breakfast was a nice buffet with scrambled eggs, sausages (mini-hot dogs), mini empanadas, cereals, a variety of local fruits and several choices of juice, plus coffee and tea. The breakfast is served in the lobby area so you have a great view of the city and ocean while you eat.

The front desk can also help arrange tours to Playa Blanca, a beautiful beach on a nearby island. It can be a nightmare if you book on your own so this service was very much appreciated. It was actually Jessica who helped me with this.

When I checked out, I asked for a late checkout for 1 pm (the normal checkout is 12). The front desk agent not only told me it was no problem but said I could even stay until 2 if I wanted!. This type of "above and beyond" service made this a very, very pleasant stay for me and I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cartagena. An added bonus is that the rooms were very affordable for this level hotel.

A final thing about the location. It's in the Bocagrande neighborhood, where many of the hotels and nightlife are (but don't worry about noise. The room windows are double glazed and I never heard anything from the outside). It's just a block from the beach and a 5,000 peso (about $2.50 US) taxi to the Old City, making it an ideal location. Just around the corner from the hotel are fast food restaurants, a big supermarket and some nice local restaurants/bars.

Room Tip: I had room 1407, which was a nice quiet room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel Q, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

@matthewfromct Thank you so much for this detailed comment about our services on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us to know the opinions of our guests, seeing as we strive to provide the best service possible every day, and as you said, always go above and beyond for our guests. It was a pleasure to have you with us in our hotel, that will also now be known as your home away from home in Cartagena! Thanks again,

Juan Manuel Quijano
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I only stayed one night on business purposes and this is my experience:
1. The hotel is located in a new building in the neighborhood of Boca Grande (the traditional tourist zone in Cartagena) right between Carrera 1 and San Martin Avenue, so it doesn’t face the ocean but is literally 50 steps away from the beach
2. By the time of my stay (May 21st/13) the commercial spots in the first floor were still closed and with people working on them, but still it felt safe although the street was a little dark for my standards
3. I’ve got to say it was funny the first time to learn that the lobby is located on the 16th floor so don’t expect too much when you enter the building (just elevators, luggage deposit and a couple of doors that I didn’t find out what they were for). However when entering the lobby, you’ll find a nice and cozy space were the staff will be there to help.
4. Hotel staff is not only nice, they really try to run the extra mile, to make you feel comfortable and to provide you with an excellent stay. Actually I met the hotel manager during breakfast (before leaving the hotel), and he asked about my stay, my expectations, my experience. He was really interested in knowing my thoughts
5. I used the gym (floor 17th), small but well equipped (even towels, water dispenser) and a nice view to the city thanks to its floor to ceiling windows
6. The pool wasn’t at service that day, and unfortunately for us business travelers it’s opened only from 9 to 5. A real shame, I believe the hotel could review this policy
7. The room is pretty basic but comfortable, I wish it were bigger but to be fair it didn’t feel crowded at all. Good bed, small desktop, nice closet and bathroom with shower (no tube). The shower floor felt a little bit slippery (I told the manager in my breakfast chat) and he said he was aware of the situation. I hope that after they finish the latest construction details they’re able to fix it somehow.

As a business traveler I sleep around 40 nights a year in hotel rooms in around 12 different cities in Latin America. So I’ve learned to keep my standards high while still maintaining a good balance between cost, amenities and service. Although small independent hotels can sometimes surprise you real nice, I’ve always preferred renowned chains (national or international) both for business and personal trips. If you’re looking for a good hotel, comfortable, with superior service, that’s safe, clean and well located that offers an excellent value for money ratio I definitely recommend you try the Hampton in Cartagena, you won’t regret your decision.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pipecardona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel Q, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

@pipecardona We are pleased to know that that the night you stayed with us was of your satisfaction. We will always be there to go that extra mile and we look forward to seeing you again soon here at you home away from home in Cartagena. Have a great afternoon!

Juan Manuel Quijano
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#19 of 159 in Cartagena
452 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#33 of 159 in Cartagena
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#84 of 159 in Cartagena
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#18 of 159 in Cartagena
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Cartagena

Address: Av. San Martin #8-13, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $79 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Cartagena 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered by many one of the top leisure destinations in the world, discover the enchanting heritage of the Caribbean with the Hampton by Hilton Cartagena located between the Caribbean Sea and the Cartagena Bay in the vibrant neighborhood of Bocagrande, renowned for its commercial and touristic activity. Enjoy our sky lobby on the 16th floor or our pool terrace on the 17th floor. If you feel like going out at night, take a 5 minute taxi ride to the historic center where you can stroll the magical streets of the “walled city” or enjoy some of Cartagena’s finest bars, restaurants and night clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing