We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calamari Hostal Boutique
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$92
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$401
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tcherassi Hotel(Cartagena)
$401
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NH Cartagena Urban Royal(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$176
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Caribe(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$188
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$247
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$747
$350
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Casa Lola(Cartagena)
$329
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
117
56
21
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
56
21
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscalamarirooftop terraceperfect locationno windowwalled citylarge roomold citynoisy at nightshort walkair contop floorbreakfast includedthird floorclock towernoisecarolinakitchenette
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 207 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here in May for around two weeks and didn't want to leave! The beautiful charm of the old town as well as the vibrant Boccogrande will keep anyone captivated. And Calamari was a great base to explore both old an new towns. The building has bags of character, dorm rooms very comfy, probably one of the best I've stayed in. Service was A1 - staff friendly and welcoming and very helpful. My bed sheet were changed daily and towels are on hand too. I struggle to call this this place a hostel - more like a hotel with a large dorm room. So for the money, it's a bargain!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sachLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I chose this hostel because of the reviews and price. The location could not be better, and the staff is very friendly. My boyfriend and I were staying in one of the superior rooms with private bathroom, small fridge, and views to the cathedral. The hostel is a colonial house and reminded us of the country houses in Spain. The room had an air conditioner which was perfect, since it was very hot in Cartagena.

The room had just been remodeled, so floor tiles were still bleeding orange paint, and our socks got all orange at the bottom. When it rained, some water came thru the window but nothing was damaged. The girl at the front desk asked us about the room and informed us that it had been the first rain since they remodeled, and they were going to be fixing everything. The room was more of a hostel feel than boutique although it was nicely decorated and clean. This small hostel and boutique is still under remodeling and will improve even more.

While I was there, I experienced a tranquil setting, and did not see or hear many people or noise. Our room was located at the end of a curved hallway, so nobody had to pass by our room.

Overall, you will get value for money: excellent location, good bed, clean room, private bathroom, tranquil atmosphere, simple rustic decoration, and most important air-conditioner (in the superior rooms). You will not get room amenities (shampoo/ lotions), elevator, or luxury accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRinBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Calamari was a brilliant place to stay. Friendly atmosphere and a nice mix of Colombians and other travelers. HostelBookers.com messed up my booking and my room was not available when I got there. I was given a better room at the same cost with no hassle. The lady at the front desk (her name began with a C???) was great (and totally gorgeous). There was a roof terrace with a great view of the dome of the church really close up. Sat up there having chilled drinks with a group of Colombians all night and when we ran out of beer the porter was happy to run out to get more supplies at 2 in the morning. Run by lovely genuine people. Would definatly stay there again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
4  Thank Sebbles84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I arrived late one evening at the airport and arranged pick up with through the hostal. There were no issues, however, if you do not speak Spanish it might be a little more challenging, but still doable. The dorms were incredibly quiet and VERY clean with bathrooms to write home about. Great location. The rooms are conditioned by fans, so it did get a little warm, but it is so close to the ocean, the breeze from it, made it bearable. Would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank EEF1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was so used to 5-star hotels and paying big $$$. This hostel is very stylish, clean and best possible location in the old fortress. All within walking distance, rooms are colonial and pirate style yet modern, and people are very nice and attentive. They have a cozy terrace from where you can see the city’s main landmarks. At the end of the day, I enjoyed more and spent the extra $$$ on entertainment and souvenirs. You will love it!!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the superior rooms
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heberth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews