We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat and drink!”

El Balcon Eat Drink Love
Ranked #115 of 679 Restaurants in Cartagena
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Seafood, Colombian, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Ambient cafe/restaurant/bar set in the buzzy and historic Plaza San Diego. Delicious food at great prices. Famous for their authentic thai green curry, nachos, ceviche, hummous, and the best mojitos in town!
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and drink!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We actually ended up coming here three times during our trip. Twice to eat and once just for a relaxing cocktail looking over the square! Helen and Abdul are both wonderful and always making sure you're enjoying yourself in Cartagena. The overall feel in the restaurant is very relaxed and casual. The menu has a great assortment and the gazpacho is delicious and really refreshing on a hot day! Everything is very reasonably priced! So whether you're looking for a great spot to grab a cocktail and do some people watching from above or looking for some yummy food in a casual setting that isn't ridiculously priced I highly suggest El Balcon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    150
    39
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant - great view and great food”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We found this place on trip advisor and it was just around the corner from our hostel so went for dinner. Great view and nice breeze sat on the balcony. We both had fish - me the salmon and my friend the red snapper - both of which were great. Mine could have had a few more veggies. For 2 mains and half a bottle of wine 80K pesos. Nice chilled atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gibboonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The second is the one that counts”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We went to have an early dinner. Had the nachos, a coconut lemonade and a mojito.

Mojito was not as they say "their cocktail", could be way better.
The coconut lemonade i bet was really good but that flavor just does not suit at all my palate. My girlfriend liked it though that is why my opinion is subjective.
The nachos were OK but something better can be done with them. The mixture of ingredients a bit dry.

The drinke are pricy, the food not so much. Overall normal pricing.

Nice set up, entrance a bit hidden away. Could definatly use a sign at the plaza to indicate.

The waiter was awesome. Really positive atitude and kind. He took up a knotch our experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So good you will return..”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Sitting on a stool on the quaint baby blue wooden balcony, sipping on delicious mojitos, people watching in the lantern lit romantic square beneath you, what's not to love. In an added bonus the staff are sweet and cheery and the food is delicious. And so good we went back again the next night. Very reasonably priced I would recommend again the mojitos, the thai chicken and the nachos. A must.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sosbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The greatest night!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I love everything about this place: food, ambiance, service and the view! It is so much fun and the owners are lovely people! It is a must when going to Cartagena! Try the toston and the house wine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juanita-solis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Balcon Eat Drink Love also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to El Balcon Eat Drink Love? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing