We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santo Toribio
Ranked #75 of 154 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed three nights in this hotel before our intrepid tour, and the experience was fantastic. The room was comfortable and cleaned daily. The shower had one of those rain nozzles on it and was nice and hot. Breakfast each morning was a choice of omelettes and eggs with juice and coffee (which were delicious). The pool upstairs on the rooftop was our favourite, with a large lounge area to comfortably read a book and relax.

Location could not be better either, with most of cartagena's old city within 10 mins stroll from the hotel and restaurants outside the door.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor which was really lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    46
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
100
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Cartagena.
Perfect location to walk the city and experience the local lifestyle.
Excellent service and experience, beautiful building and rooms, super clean and delicious food. The included breakfast was the best we ever had at a hotel, the chef was great, he also prepares amazing Ceviche with local seafood.

The rooftop is really nice, and has a small swimming pool, very romantic and very private!
Feels like a spa!

Room Tip: The underground room is very nice with a glass box with a tree in it, really beautiful, a sort of ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank snowbirdskipatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I spent a long weekend here recently and had a wonderful time! The bed was comfortable; the room and bathroom tidy; and the hotel was gorgeous.

As we were checking out my partner and I agreed that we'd stay there again if we have the fortune to return to Cartagena.

Santo Toribio is very centrally-located: within ten minutes in any direction to any activity in the walled city.

Room Tip: Get a top-floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sliterrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We just returned from 10 days in Colombia and after staying at multiple hotels, we can't say enough wonderful things about the Hotel Santo Toribio. The grounds and rooms are gorgeous, the staff was incredibly hospitable and welcoming, and the food was delicious. The hotel manager, Jason, and his staff went out of their way to help us - from calling rental car locations for quotes to calling personal friends in Cartagena and Santa Marta to get advice for us on visiting PNN Tayrona. The breakfasts at Hotel Santo Toribio are also a highlight - served in a beautiful courtyard, they consist of fresh squeezed juices (ask if they have any maracujá juice - its incredible), fresh coffee, fruit, toast and your choice off of an extensive menu. Overall, you cannot beat this location, service or price!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadinemp686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I recently spent three days and nights at this charming boutique boutique hotel in Old Town Cartegena. It was my first trip to the city but the friend I was traveling with has been there many times and she selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor ratings. Great location, comfortable beds, and very tasteful rooms. Staff was extremely friendly and professional. Met some of the other guests and everyone was bragging on what a wonderful place it was. Breakfast every morning was delicious and the service was friendly and prompt. I would certainly stay here on a return trip and would recommend it for anyone looking for an excellent boutique hotel in a central location.

Room Tip: If more than one person in a room, definitely request a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte_Meenaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
Level Contributor
169 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay in Cartagena, you will have noticed that there are three choices: 1) Bland, over-priced "resort" chain-style hotels in Bocagrande, 2) exorbitantly-priced luxury boutique hotels in the center, & 3) Mediocre small places in the center that price-gouge. Fortunately, there is now a fourth option as the Santo Toribio offers a great deal for, by Cartagena standards, a good price. The location off of Plaza Fernández Madrid in San Diego is perfect, especially if your objective is to soak in the Spanish colonial architecture and you are not particularly interested in the unappealing beaches of Bocagrande. The staff were friendly and we had no concerns about security. Breakfast was made to order and was outstanding. We were in the least expensive room ("La Negra Folupo") which is in the basement. While the room was fine, the noise and frying pan smells from the kitchen across the courtyard in the early morning were a bit much and it is difficult to avoid getting wet when entering/exiting the room during a rain storm. On a previous trip to Cartagena, the staff at a different small hotel in the center stole our credit card and made fraudulent charges. Based on that experience, we decided to book this hotel via Hotels.com (which clearly stated that the charges would be processed by them). Unfortunately, Hotels.com did provide the hotel with our credit card information and the hotel immediately charged our card (again, was not supposed to have happened) an incorrect amount well in advance of our stay. Hotels.com was unable to explain how/why this happened. Fortunately, the hotel did not make us pay the slight shortfall from their original incorrect billing and waived the City Tax of COP 4500 per person per night. There have been no fraudulent charges on our credit card, I only mention this as a warning that even using a third-party booking service does not guarantee that your credit card info will not make it's way to Colombia, where, based on our experience, data security can be quite lax. Overall, a great place & highly-recommended, but we would probably avoid the basement room on a future stay.

Room Tip: See above note regarding the basement room "La Negra Folupo."
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrotamundosBetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hotel Santa Toribio is excellent, stylish, boutique hotel in Old Town Cartagena. The location is great in that it is near many restaurants and and Cartagena sites. The hotel was very tastefully and stylish done while also keeping the Old Town Cartagena charm. The room we stayed in (Buganvilla) was very clean and quite. The breakfasts in the morning were well prepared and very good. The staff was very helpful in contacting the bus service for our bus trip to Santa Marta and providing us the directions to ATMs. At the top of the hotel, there is a very nice outdoor area/lounge to relax, which is great for a drink/glass of wine in the evenings. There is also a “hot tub” in this area as well, although the the water is mainly cool as it is so warm in Cartagena. I highly recommend Hotel Santa Toribio for anyone staying in Old Town Cartagena.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are a better location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Vondran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
#85 of 154 in Cartagena
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#15 of 154 in Cartagena
904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa La Cartujita
Casa La Cartujita
#69 of 154 in Cartagena
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
#41 of 154 in Cartagena
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Passion Hotel Lounge
La Passion Hotel Lounge
#81 of 154 in Cartagena
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Toribio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Toribio

Property: Hotel Santo Toribio
Address: Calle Segunda de Badillo No 36-87 | Plaza Fernandez Madrid, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 154 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Toribio 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santo Toribio Boutique Hotel is located at the heart of the walled city of Cartagena de Indias, declared a World Heritage Site since 1984. A beautifully restored home for a new generation of world travelers that preserves the Caribbean magic behind its doors. Its 8 room color blended HOTEL DESCRIPTION scheme was inspired by the city’s history and some of its important personalities combining local culture and modern service requirements. It is the perfect place to spend magnificent days and nights.Located in a privileged and safe area, it is the perfect choice for travelers who enjoy wandering down ancient alleyways leading to nearby squares, iconic parks, historically significant sites, restaurants and bars.Every room has a special name, evoking characters that are part of the local culture giving them a special tribute through photographs captured by a well-known Colombian artist.The hotel features a wide range of on-site facilities including pleasant walkways surrounded by vertical gardens, a rooftop solarium and outdoor jacuzzi, bbq area, kitchen, a swimming pool on the ground floor, dining areas in small patios, music and bar with a special screen for enjoying Cable sporting events.Begin your day in Caribbean style with local flavors served at breakfast (included in the fee). Room service, prepared by our expert chef, offers a distinct variety of land and sea food for an unforgettable dining experience.We provide reliable vehicle transport to and from the airport as an additional service, as well as tour guides, historic sites guided tours, arrangements for beach days or visits to the Rosario Islands. Our Special Plan additionally offers room arrangements for romantic nights and focused massage sessions for total relaxation.DOUBLE CELLAR ROOMA refurbished wine-cellar room on the underground floor is ideal for those who wish for complete privacy as it offers guests a space away from public areas. Total area of 17 sqm.DOUBLE ROOMA classic room on the first floor, near the reception and public areas. Average Area 15 sqm.SUPERIOR DOUBLE ROOMLarger rooms with windows opening up into balconies on the first and second floor, give a better view of the inner hotel areas, gardens, pool, neighboring roofs and Caribbean blue sky. Area average 18 sqm.DOBLE DELUXE ROOMThe brightest and most spacious room, 20 sqm, with balconies facing the inner gardens right by the terrace area, with desk space and room for a third guest, if so required.Each room has a King size bed with high resting mattresses and pillows, reading lights, air conditioning, ceiling fans, bathrooms & showers, hot water & bathrobes, closet with shelf-space and safety box, Wi-Fi, interactive TV, minibar and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santo Toribio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing