We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Neat Little Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santo Toribio
Ranked #82 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Neat Little Find”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Visited this hotel because the place down the street (that shall be nameless) wanted a silly amount for a night's stay...walked down the street and found this little gem. New, clean, warm, safe, great staff, perfect location and nice oasis...albeit tight quarters. I appreciated the service and helpful staff the most. Made me feel very welcome. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Please,like all places, don't pay the quoted rate--negotiate! Great bar/cafe near park within 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    46
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
100
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We loved everything about this hotel. From the beautiful, clean room to the location, yummy breakfast and lovely staff, you can't go wrong. This hotel opened in November 2012 and has been designed with exceptional taste and attention to detail. There is a wonderful rooftop terrace with a hot tub and sweet smelling jasmine in the air. There is very easy access to everything else in the historical center (El Centro), and we felt safe exploring the beautiful city on foot day and night. Highly recommended! Wouldn't be surprised if their prices went up after more people find out about this place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zamzam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for only 3 days. It's a brand new hotel (opened just five months ago) in a perfect location between downtown and San Diego. There are only 8 rooms what makes the service a little special. They will do whatever to make you feel home. There is a Jacuzzi and a little bar at the top. There is a small pool close to the coffee area what makes it a cool place for breakfast. Breakfast has fresh fruits, eggs, toast, tasty Colombian coffee and "empanadas". Rooms are small but very comfortable. The hotel provides towels to go to the beach and arrange tours for you. The walled city is quite safe at any time of the day, there are many people walking at night and policeman are present around this area. Even though I walked everywhere in the walled city by foot, taxis are quite cheap. A taxi to the airport costs 12,000 COP (around 7 USD). The only inconvenient is that the cheapest rooms are very close to the reception, kitchen and pool area so it could be quite noise depending on the other guests.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are very close to the reception, kitchen and pool area so it could be quite noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajero2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Beautiful property. You can't go wrong with brand new hotel! Location was really good. Between El Centro and San Diego. Though both sides of town are pretty small, so it really doesn't matter where you stay in these two areas. Breakfast is made to order. Service is excellent. The staff is very sweet and will go the extra mile.

Room Tip: We got the cheapest room (and pretty pricey at that), so smaller than others. But worked very well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked our hotel really fast after i've seen a pictures of Santo Toribio..
We both loved it (me and my bf), first of because the hotel brend new, everything clean and fresh!! The open roof on the top where you can spend a nice moments with a couple of drinks at night..:) Comfortable beautiful rooms, veeery helpful and friendly staff. The best breakfast in the morning, include fresh juices and fruits..
Very kind waiters and good chef!!
Lovely spot in general, not so crowd aria but at the same time 3-5 mins to all tourist destinations in a city by the walk..
A lot of cafes and restaurants around but if you lazy to go out always can have a nice lunch/dinner right at the hotel..
Only 8 rooms, so u can be sure that you can just relax during your stay..Would be cool to get back again!!

Room Tip: Better to choose a room not right next to the breakfast aria (or to the pool). Another guests who wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronika88Msc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

First we hesitated booking Santo Toribio, because we couldn't find any reviews online. No reason for that as it turned out on our arrival. Santo Toribio opened 3 months ago, everything is brand new and of high quality: beautiful stone floors, teak wood elements, amazing shower (I have a bathroom fetish), bathsuits, AC, fan and so much more.
The building is in the typical colonial style of Cartagena at the same time offers you all the western amenities you'd want. It's located in the middle of the Old Town with lots of restaurants and bars nearby. El Centro, San Diego and Getsemani is all in walking distance. For destinations in Bocagrande you can get a cab for 3$. It's 100% save. You wouldn't even need to lock your room since there are guards 24/7 on duty.

The staff is lovely. They'll do everything to make you feel like a king in your castle. Our Spanish is truly awefull but we managed to communicate.
The rooms are impeccably clean (some are a bit small) but really everything we could have asked for and more.
It has a small pool on the ground floor and a jacuzzi on the roof top where aou also find a nice relaxation area. Good for drinking a beer or reading a book if you want to escape busy Cartagena.
Oh… and one more thing: If you don't know it yet - try the "ahi" with your breakfast eggs. Anna was so sweet to introduce this special kind of salsa to us and as she saw how much we loved it, she had the kitchen prepare an entire box of it for us as a present to take home!

I highly recommend the hotel. It's lovely and absolutely in the same league like 300 or 400 $ Boutique Hotels in this area. Incredibly good value for money.
5* without second guessing!

Having said this, a few things about Cartagena: we are a well traveled couple in our early 30s and although I believe Cartagena is one of the most beautiful cities I've EVER seen, it can be quite frustrating being here as a used to individual travelling and not so profound in Spanish tourist. The beaches around Cartagena mainland are not what you'd picture a caribbean white sand turquoise water dream. So we asked for recommendations for boat tours to islands. Playa Blanca is heavily advertized and therefore too popular (=crowded), so we opted for an island we haven't hear of before: Isla Encanto.
The good thing about the trip: the beach was lovely and the water was perfect for swimming. The not so good thing: it was THE typical tourist group tour: they pic you up in a van and bring you to a hotel with a small beach. Too small for 2 boats with 50 people. And that's low season. Upsell war inclusive: handicrafts, drinks, hats, tours, ….
Also the Chiva Tours are in my opinion more a tourist trap than an actual historical city tour. Especially if you don't speak Spanish you'll have no chance to get the slightest thing. Better go with a private bilingual guide, but they are ridiculously expensive: 160 USD for 4h and 2 people. (that's half a months income…)


Anyway - all these things do not change the fact that Cartagena is well worth visiting and Santo Toribio is a gem!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank leni_leni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#15 of 155 in Cartagena
920 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
#90 of 155 in Cartagena
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa La Cartujita
Casa La Cartujita
#68 of 155 in Cartagena
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Passion Hotel Lounge
La Passion Hotel Lounge
#81 of 155 in Cartagena
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Diego de Alcala Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Toribio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Toribio

Property: Hotel Santo Toribio
Address: Calle Segunda de Badillo No 36-87 | Plaza Fernandez Madrid, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Toribio 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santo Toribio Boutique Hotel is located at the heart of the walled city of Cartagena de Indias, declared a World Heritage Site since 1984. A beautifully restored home for a new generation of world travelers that preserves the Caribbean magic behind its doors. Its 8 room color blended HOTEL DESCRIPTION scheme was inspired by the city’s history and some of its important personalities combining local culture and modern service requirements. It is the perfect place to spend magnificent days and nights.Located in a privileged and safe area, it is the perfect choice for travelers who enjoy wandering down ancient alleyways leading to nearby squares, iconic parks, historically significant sites, restaurants and bars.Every room has a special name, evoking characters that are part of the local culture giving them a special tribute through photographs captured by a well-known Colombian artist.The hotel features a wide range of on-site facilities including pleasant walkways surrounded by vertical gardens, a rooftop solarium and outdoor jacuzzi, bbq area, kitchen, a swimming pool on the ground floor, dining areas in small patios, music and bar with a special screen for enjoying Cable sporting events.Begin your day in Caribbean style with local flavors served at breakfast (included in the fee). Room service, prepared by our expert chef, offers a distinct variety of land and sea food for an unforgettable dining experience.We provide reliable vehicle transport to and from the airport as an additional service, as well as tour guides, historic sites guided tours, arrangements for beach days or visits to the Rosario Islands. Our Special Plan additionally offers room arrangements for romantic nights and focused massage sessions for total relaxation.DOUBLE CELLAR ROOMA refurbished wine-cellar room on the underground floor is ideal for those who wish for complete privacy as it offers guests a space away from public areas. Total area of 17 sqm.DOUBLE ROOMA classic room on the first floor, near the reception and public areas. Average Area 15 sqm.SUPERIOR DOUBLE ROOMLarger rooms with windows opening up into balconies on the first and second floor, give a better view of the inner hotel areas, gardens, pool, neighboring roofs and Caribbean blue sky. Area average 18 sqm.DOBLE DELUXE ROOMThe brightest and most spacious room, 20 sqm, with balconies facing the inner gardens right by the terrace area, with desk space and room for a third guest, if so required.Each room has a King size bed with high resting mattresses and pillows, reading lights, air conditioning, ceiling fans, bathrooms & showers, hot water & bathrobes, closet with shelf-space and safety box, Wi-Fi, interactive TV, minibar and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Santo Toribio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing