We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury That's Worth It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Ranked #2 of 156 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Casa San Agustin was a recommendation from an American friend living in Columbia. It's relatively new and is everything a boutique luxury hotel should be. Attractive rooms, attentive service, great food and a lovely atmosphere. The staff was thoughtful, pleasant and considerate, and arranged for a private dinner on the third-floor terrace that was one of the highlights of our trip. It was a romantic and luxurious setting, and we got great advice about seeing the city. They arranged excursions for us, and both the private city tour and the day trip to Isla Rosario were excellent. They know how to make guests happy and provide a really special experience.

Room Tip: Spend a little more money and get the room with the private plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for all those positive comments, We Appreciated your time to write to us
Is was a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stayed

Best Regards

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 736 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for our 10th anniversary. It was fabulous. We booked a great deal on Jetsetter and it did not disappoint.

Things we really liked - our deluxe room (incredible high ceilings, beautiful bathroom and air conditioning); the architecture - stunning; the staff (wow!); the pool under an aquaduct; and the complimentary breakfast. A couple of signature moments - the drinks are not to be missed and Nadia went out of her way to find us some incredible boutique coffee for us to buy and bring home as gifts. All of the staff will bend over backwards to assist you with restaurants, carriage rides, shopping.

Do not miss the following when traveling to Cartagena: eat at Don Juan (the best!), take a carriage ride at night, have a drink at Cafe del Mar at sunset, take breaks from the heat, and really soak in the city.

Some negatives or "more room for improvement": the music that is piped into the pool area is not needed; it is hot in the hotel other than your sleeping room; the food is more expensive than it should be.

But overall - what a gem!

Room Tip: Room 301 is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mcd04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Huesped

Agradecemos mucho su tiempo en compartirnos su Experiencia, Fue un placer tenerlos en nuestro hotel en tan importante Fecha, Nos llena de Satisfaccion que hayan disfrutado nuestra Ciudad y nuestro Hotel Casa San Agustin

Cordial Saludo

Gustavo Santoscoy
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I would like to start with the positive as there were many more positive remarks than negative.
The hotel accommodations were beautiful, the building and materials well done. The rooms, themselves were very nice, and the staff was very friendly and fantastic. The breakfast was good but what is displayed in the mornings was not enough choice. You can request eggs and such for no charge (still inquire on this) and that was great, but they don't tell you this nor present a menu. Overall the food and drinks at the hotel were very overpriced compared to what you can get in the city center. The pool area was really beautiful and definitely bring a suit as the heat in Cartagena is intense.
Now for the negative, sorry….arrival great, check in process great, 2 couples check in, we go to first room and WOW, what a beautiful, quiet room, it was actually a suite and so happy our friends got this room. Now on to ours, back to main lobby, around the corner up a few stairs, over the open area of the employees service area and door (where they must all come in and out of, loudly, dozens of times a day), was our room. Noisy, talking, banging, etc. all day and early am (see tips). Our room itself was beautiful but I would never stay in that room again. The funny thing is that our friends and ourselves booked the same standard room and paid the same exact price, luck of the draw I guess. Management said there we no other rooms available and then they thought they could move us on our last day and by then you just don't feel like going through the whole repacking process.
Bottom line, I would definitely revisit this hotel but I would never stay in that area of the hotel again, I am sure others have had the same complaint!

Room Tip: Definitely request not to be over employees service area, (there are 3-5 rooms in this area, not sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank g g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel and were impressed with the customer service and the overall quality of the rooms and the hotel itself. First the cons: we give it 4.5 stars because we noticed a lot of noise from the neighboring room because of the doors. The doors you kind of have to slam shut and the noise reverberates throughout your room making it unpleasant to sleep. If they fixed this it would definitely be a 5 star hotel.

Otherwise, the breakfast is very good, the pool is nice the staff are very friendly and very concerned about you having a good stay. The library with the espresso machine and liquor was a nice touch. It is also situated right across from a University and in a nice location of Cartagena. The Wi-Fi is excellent all over and the infused water stations were a very nice touch as well.

Great hotel, great staff and we would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huesped

Agradecemos mucho su tiempo para escribirnos, Gracias por sus importantes comentarios
Nos Complace saber que disfruto su estadia

Cordial Saludo

Gustavo Santoscoy
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel stay was truly a pleasure. The staff attention to detail and overall service is second to none. My wife and I were impressed with how friendly and personable everyone was from the doormen to the housekeeping personnel.

The concierge staff- Camilo and Luis - took great care of us. They were incredibly attentive to making sure we enjoyed our stay.

We also had great time visiting the hotel's property in Baru with Nadia being a fabulous hostess. She has a great attitude coupled with a genuine customer service focus.

Great service and great staff make this a must stay hotel when you visit Cartagena.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCtraveler1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest

It was a pleasure have you in our hotel, we hope you enjoy Cartagena, Casa San Agustin and Baru.
Thanks for those special comments to the staff

Best Regards

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were here for 2 nights and had high expectations.

PROS //
Incredible service + staff
Delicious food and room service
Rooms are exquisitely appointed, private and luxurious
Steps from the best restaurants and eateries
Flawless wifi in rooms and throughout hotel
Spectacular pool in the hotel's centre

CONS //
none. There is good reason why this is the number one hotel in this city. Hard to beat.

Highly recommend. Worth every penny.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank PassionDrivesSuccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huesped

Nos llena de Satisfaccion escuchar sus Comentarios, Gracias por tomar de su tiempo para Escribirnos, Fue un placer haberlos tenido en nuestro hotel

Cordial Saludo

Gustavo Santoscoy
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We arrived at Casa San Agustin and were promptly met with a cold wash cloth and a refreshing drink as we guided through the effortless check-in process. The staff showed us a map and pointed out a few places of interest and helped us make reservations for the next day at a white beach and for dinner that night. Given the fact we were going on a boat ride the next day they sent someone to go get me motion sickness medicine so I could enjoy my day which I thought was very nice.

We walked into the room, and after travelling as much as I have I was blown away by this room. Heated bathroom floors, the ceilings were, I don’t know how tall, a private plunge pool….it was beyond words.

The next day was not great as the beach and the company that took us was not on par. On finding this out, Nadia from the hotel took immediate action and prevented another couple from going to the same place that following day, and she took us to their other hotel Agua Baru. We went there as a get away and it was amazing. There was a wonderful beach the water was wonderful, the food was amazing. It was a very relaxing day and what we were looking for.

I will never be able to say enough good things about the staff at this hotel, true customer service. To a level most will never achieve. Sadly we were only able to book 2 days at the hotel and had to leave for the Hotel from Hell

Room Tip: 102...private plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattPayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest

We Appreciate your time to write us those Excellent comments, we are so happy that you enjoy our hotel and Agua Baru, Our Staff works hard to make our guest a magical stay

Best Regards

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 156 in Cartagena
1,909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 156 in Cartagena
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 156 in Cartagena
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 156 in Cartagena
1,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
0.4 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Agustin

Address: Calle de la Universidad No. 36 - 44 | Centro, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 156 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $348 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Casa San Agustin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Agustín is a luxury boutique hotel of 20 refined guestrooms and 10 spacious suites in the city of Cartagena de Indias, Colombia. Three colonial homes have been totally renovated and lovingly restored to create the sense of staying in a well-curated and appointed home of a sophisticated best friend. Situated within the historic walled city, and dating from the 17th Century, the charm of the buildings has been enhanced with a respect for maintaining original frescoes in the library and wooden beamed ceilings. This hotel offers 1 restaurant with three different environments, bar, pool-bar, pool, solarium, 1 meeting room up to 40 people, library, concierge desk 24 hours, room service and massage service in a beautiful outdoor terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Casa San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing