We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yokatta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Casa San Agustin in October 2013. The hotel is amazing but what really impressed me the most was its service. The hotel is beautiful no doubt, our room was gorgeous and its centrally located in the walled city. But the service, helpfulness of the staff and overall attention to detail was great.

We drove to Cartagena in a rental car from Santa Marta. When we arrived at the hotel we sought out a place to park and leave the car (National Car Rental had told us they would come pick it up). However parking in the walled city is virtually impossible but thankfully Jaime from the hotel got in the car and directed me to the car rental agency which was located in the new city. When we arrived (true story) the National Car Rental had closed down. A competing car agency next door told us that they had just relocated a few days prior. Jaime was a total trooper and rode back with me in a cab to the hotel where we shared a number of laughs at the bizzareness of our adventure.

Big kudos as well to Nadia and Cindy from the reception desk who were so gracious and so helpful. Talking with them everyday was like talking with old friends you haven’t seen in a while…everything is just easy. Trust and believe that you’ll have a wonderful stay. Nadia, Jaime, Cindy and the rest of the staff “Thank You”. You made our stay a special one

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sekaiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very pleased to read about your great experience in our hotel. It is very important for us to offer the best stay ever to our guests and know that we are doing well it's so motivating.


We hope to welcome you soon.

Sincerely,


Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 749 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Elegance, comfort, happiness. If this is heaven, I’ll stay here. I never realized what a difference comfort could make. Spectacular setting, highest quality linens, towels, softest pillows, most professional and caring staff. Did I say Spectacularly beautiful courtyard & view. Your name is known by everyone within the first hour, housekeeper, door man, waiter, front desk, manager, it doesn’t matter. You are special. Staff is extraordinarily aware and caring of your every need, all with the most honest and genuine interest in your particular desires. Fresh flowers flown in from Bogota every day. A orchid spray at your bedside. I never felt so cared for, thanks to Nadia and everyone. Service and comfort may exist many places, but the genuine personalities of the staff and the aesthetic ambiance of San Agustin, make this is the experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Mr. Trussell

It is a pleasure to read your excellent comments about your stay in Casa San Agustin which are very important for our mission to exceed our customers’ expectations.

We hope you can stay with us soon and give you a warm welcome.

Best regards,


Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I am writing one of the most enthusiastic reviews I've ever written about this newly opened historical hotel. We stayed for two nights for a quick romantic getaway. As seasoned travelers, we tend to select hotels that is not just luxurious, but also unique and with characters. The Casa was unassuming outwardly, across from the university and groups of young students, on a bustling street in old town. Once step inside, it was nothing but an oasis that was reincarnated out of three historical buildings dating back to 16th century. It was renovated with preservation mindset and fine tastes, furnished with art and antique from close and far but united around tropical materials, palettes and patterns. The strings of court yards, private portico, library, connects the public space that was perfected highlighted with tropical plants. The L shaped pool was spanned by an original aqua duct wall that soars up to three floor high. oh the patina of the wall was just beautifully preserved. Our room was appointed generously with a living room with a dining area, bar and sink, a huge separate bedroom and private balcony. Nothing was spared to ensure the style and comfort.
However, the best part I must say, was the staffs and the services they provided. It was one of those rare places where everyone working there seemed genuinely happy! Even chamber maids and maintenance workers greeted us with smiles that were heart-felt instead of trained. The front desk staffs were not only professional but sincerely warm and personal. That energy affected us in a way that it made the place intimate and homey, something we considered very luxurious to have when traveling. We were also pleasantly impressed with the restaurants. We had daily breakfasts, one lunch and one room service dinner there, compared to other establishments in town such as Don Juan which we loved, the hotel restaurant stood on its own. Again, the service was warm and impeccable. The girl even went on a search for Lulo when I told her that we have never seen the fruit before.
As a small luxury boutique hotel, Casa San Agustin exemplifies one of the best anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Step in and relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlyingSocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your excellent comments.
It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Casa San Agustin is committed to providing its customers an unforgettable stay.

Our doors will be always open for you.

All the best,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

From the moment you arrive at the hotel, you know you are some place very special. The rooms are beyond charming, the pool and public areas lovely and quiet, and the location in the old city cannot be beat.

But the highlight is undoubtedly the service. The staff truly tries to anticipate your wishes. Luis was especially helpful, again and again steering us in the right direction re: restaurants, sites, etc., but truly everyone we encountered was incredibly helpful and each interaction enjoyable.

In short it was wonderful - I hope to to return to Cartagena soon, mostly because of this hotel!

Room Tip: I was in a suite - 304 and that gave you not only a suite, but also a semi-private bathing area. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind comments, it is a pleasure to know that we are doing our best to satisfy our guests. We will keep working hard every day to offer always the best service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Kind regards,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel and found everything wonderful, The room was spectacular with its own private pool, the service was exceptional. Cindy our butler was amazing. She helped with everything from tours to transportation.
Andreas helped us with camera problems, and Luis was wonderful and helpful. When we left we felt we were leaving behind family.
Everything was 1st class from the meals both breakfast and a wonderful dinner at Alma Restaurant, to impeccable housekeeping and caring service. WEwill be back hopefully soon

Room Tip: No fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest

It is a pleasure for us to read your review about your experience in our Hotel. Your comments are very important for our mission to exceed our customers expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The perfect experience started 2 days before arriving to the hotel... An email by Sandra, our "butler", asking for personal preferences. The outstanding service at this hotel continued in line... Very helpful in organizing activities, booking restaurants (in spite of having an excellent restaurant at the hotel), and everybody incredibly friendly! The building itself is in the middle of the walled city, in a beautiful old building, the rooms are spacious and elegant. I would guess the owner travelled a lot and implemented several details he would have liked as guest... For example to be able to request the housekeeping via iPad at a certain specific hour, or being able tomhave roomservice at every nice spot in the hotel... Pool, roof rop, sun terrace, ect... It was an excellent experiance, than you to all the team!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Till K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very pleased to read about your great experience in our hotel. it's very important for us to offer the best stay ever to our guests and know that we are doing well it's so motivating.

We hope to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We are staying at this hotel for 4 nights , when we arrive our room was ready and the staff greet us by our name, the breakfast was wonderful and typical food of the area, the beds are fabulous and we got a room in the 3 floor. With a terrace and alovely view , its been a long time since we did not have this great service and the room and the hotel amenities more than wonderful a Must in cartagena

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bellis60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest


Thank you very much for your excellent comments. It is a pleasure to know that we are doing our best to satisfy our Guests. Casa San Agustin is committed to providing its customers an unforgettable stay.

Our doors will be always open for you.

All the best,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#2 of 157 in Cartagena
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 157 in Cartagena
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#7 of 157 in Cartagena
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#9 of 157 in Cartagena
1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
2.3 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#28 of 157 in Cartagena
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Agustin

Address: Calle de la Universidad No. 36 - 44 | Centro, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $349 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Casa San Agustin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Agustín is a luxury boutique hotel of 20 refined guestrooms and 10 spacious suites in the city of Cartagena de Indias, Colombia. Three colonial homes have been totally renovated and lovingly restored to create the sense of staying in a well-curated and appointed home of a sophisticated best friend. Situated within the historic walled city, and dating from the 17th Century, the charm of the buildings has been enhanced with a respect for maintaining original frescoes in the library and wooden beamed ceilings. This hotel offers 1 restaurant with three different environments, bar, pool-bar, pool, solarium, 1 meeting room up to 40 people, library, concierge desk 24 hours, room service and massage service in a beautiful outdoor terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing