We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Nearby Hotels
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NH Cartagena Urban Royal(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caribe(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$158
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dann Cartagena(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$205
$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$403
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$116
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$204
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveler rating
717
75
10
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
717
75
10
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalma restaurantlobster empanadasprivate poolold citywalled citybeautiful hotelconcierge teamdeluxe roomleading hotels of the worldturn down servicefour seasonssun deckhigh ceilingsrestaurant reservationsthe entire hotelmodern amenitiesspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 810 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Casa San Agustin is not only the best hotel in Cartagena, is one of the best hotels ever. The experience is overstandig from arrival to end. The place, the lighting, the smell, the linens, the shower, the service.... An goes on. The big responsible for all this greatness is without any doubt its Manager Gustavo Santoscoy. And can't forget about its restaurant ALMA great food and great ambiance. Superb!!! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matiasgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Matiasgur,

Warm greetings from Casa San Agustin.

Thank you so much for your outstanding comments. It's good to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. All of our staff is committed in giving an excellent customer service and you can feel so confortable.

Looking forward to have you here soon.

Cordially,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager
Hotel Casa San Agustin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel was great. It is a beautifully decorated old house. I would like to mention some of my favorite things about the hotel: The various lounges located in strategic places came with delicious, refreshing beverages that enables the guests to gather and cool down.
The turn down with slippers by the bed at night, the weather forecast for the next day and the special sweets they left us every night with a little note.
We were there on business and the hotel was very efficient with our logistic requirements. They also made us all feel relaxed and comfortable. They went the extra mile in helping us with the organization of our extracurricular activities.
Alma was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ines Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Ines Maria G

Please allow us to thank you for your excellents comments, it is a pleasure to know that we are doing our best to satisfy our guests.

Ours doors are always open for you and give you a warm welcome.

Best regards,

Gustavo Santoscoy
Gerente General
Hotel Casa San Agustin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Casa San Agustin is an amazing boutique hotel within the walled city. Everything about this place is top notch. The overall design is gorgeous, with great attention to every small detail. We stayed in what was probably one of the smaller rooms in the hotel, but it was quite spacious, with 30 ft ceilings and beautiful large bathroom. The service is great as well, from the front desk to restaurant and everywhere in between. Speaking of the restaurant, the food at Alma is amazing and reasonably priced compared to other Cartagena restaurants. The breakfast buffet included with the room was great - a tasty spread of fruit, cereals, juice, pastries and made to order eggs. I would highly recommend staying at this place. We booked 2 nights here and 5 at another Cartagena location, and we were sad to leave when our 2 nights were up! The staff was friendly and patient with our limited Spanish. When relaxing on the upstairs deck/bar area, someone always stopped by to make sure we were taken care of with towels, drinks, etc. Simply an amazing place to unwind amid the bustling city. Stay here now before word gets out and the price goes up!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GYNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear GYNYC

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very pleased to read about your great experience in our hotel. it's very important for us to offer the best stay ever to our guests and know that we are doing well it's so motivating.

We hope to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager
Hotel Casa San Agustin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel made out of four old colonial homes but completely redone but retains the old courtyard wall. Immediately feels 10 degrees cooler than the street. Great service, spotless hotel, smells amazing, great decor, loved the library and the book selection, lovely little pool with an amazing view of the courtyard when you're floating on your back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurabNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear LaurabNyc

It is a pleasure for us to read your review about your experience in our Hotel. Your comments are very important and it is our mission to exceed our customers expectations.

We appreciate your comments about your stay with us and we all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Cordially,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager
Hotel Casa San Agsutin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am currently riding a motorcycle through South, central and north America (www.capetocairo2010.co.za) and have stayed at some amazing, and some less amazing hotels which I have reviewed independently on tripadvisor.
When not seeing the world from the seat of a bike, I am a CEO of an established commercial real estate company and some of my primary passions are travel and architecture and as a result have stayed in the best hotels just about all over the world.
Casa San Agustin is a new hotel which has only been in operation since October 2012 but its no. 1 position on Cartagena's list of hotels is very well deserved.
For fans of design, The architectural sensitivity and creativity applied to the renovation makes this boutique hotel unique, beautiful and functional. The rooms are large, beautifully finished and super comfortable and although there are one or two minor things that housekeeping still need to work out, this is nothing more than tiny teething issues that wouldnt irrittate.
The service from the moment I rolled up on a bike looking tired, worn and dusty was warm and welcoming and wasnt met with presumptious arrogance as has been done in so many other 5 star establishments throughout the south american continent.
The hotel restaurant, Alma, is also superb and worth more than a single visit!!
A comparable property would probably be the Orient Express Monasterio in Cusco, Peru which regularly wins awards with regard to its architecturally sensitive renovation and location in a Unesco registered site. Casa San Agustin easily ranks alongside the best in the world in a city that is so very worth visiting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffin257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Griffin257

Warm greetings from Casa San Agustin.

Thank you very much for these excellent comments. It is a pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for choosing our hotel. Looking forward to have you here soon.

Cordially,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager
Hotel Casa San Agustin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews