We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Ranked #2 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Cali, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, wonderful service”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights in January. Our visit happened to coincide with our daughter's 3rd birthday and the staff at the hotel did everything in their power to make sure she had a wonderful day, including making her a chocolate cake, setting up balloons in our room and organizing a ride in a horse drawn carriage (thank you Sandra!). The staff are excellent, so professional and kind. What can I say about the hotel? It's an oasis of calm. You won't want to leave! Beautiful rooms, very comfortable. Beautiful communal environments, including the pool, the library and the solarium. Excellent food in the restaurant. Can't recommend the hotel and its staff highly enough. Thanks all. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    69
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
100
413
36
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Found it by accident, as the Hotel I had booked was full. Very new and clean hotel, with beautiful rooms and helpful staff. The concierge helped my wife and I to book trips to Islas de Rosario and make dinner reservations, and also gave us valuable tips. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renato_9178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I ended up at Hotel Casa San Agustin because the hotel were I had booked was full, and definitely, as we say in Spanish: "No hay mal que por bien no venga". This hotel is located inside the walled city. It is an old house which was beautifully reformed. There are rooms which have their own jacuzzi or pool. The service is EXCELLENT. I have nothing negative to say about it. The food... The drinks... EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT! Don't think it twice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCartagenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have been to Cartagena several times. I am a big fan of the boutique experience when on vacation...the staff was super nice, the ambience first rate, the room absolutely to die for. I got one of the rooms with private jacuzzi...slept like a baby, had a wonderful time. Location is good, in the center of the old city, within minutes of all the cool bar and restaurants. The manager of the hotel, Gustavo, is a great host!
Will def stay again!

Room Tip: Cell phone signal on the first floor rooms is spotty
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferdinand L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights of a five night trip to Cartegena during Thanksgiving week (we followed Casa San Agustin with two nights at Punta Iguana beach club and our last night at the Sofitel Santa Clara). We loved Casa San Agustin - our room was very spacious and well designed with high ceilings, the bathroom was well appointed and had a roomy rain shower. All linens were of very high quality. The staff were warm and attentive and made us feel very much at home. By way of comparison, we stayed at the Sofitel upon our return from the islands (intentionally, so we could get a feel for the difference) - pros: good size pool, pleasant neighborhood, helpful staff; cons: much larger hotel, felt a bit like a factory churning groups of guests in and out, much more impersonal, rooms felt like standard hotel rooms and weren't even close to the quality of the rooms at Casa San Agustin. If you are like us and prefer a smaller, more personal boutique hotel feel, definitely stay at the Casa San Agustin. Having stayed at both the Sofitel and here, we would choose Casa San Agustin for a return trip to Cartagena.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga Lucia G, Director of Sales at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Andrew L

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Casa San Agustin is committed to providing its customers an unforgettable stay and make them feel at home.

We hope you can visit us very soon and give you an memorable stay.

Cordially,

Carolina Bernal
Director of Sales
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
168 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great new hotel in Cartagena. Extremely nice hotel with a fantastic staff that is located within walking distance of great restaurants and attractions. The restaurant, Alma, is excellent as well. We stayed for 5 days and it was wonderful. Bravo!

Room Tip: We didn't use the spa so I can't speak to that, but again, the hotel is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga Lucia G, Director of Sales at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Paul B

It is a pleasure for us to read your review about your experience in our Hotel. Your comments are very important and it is our mission to exceed our customers expectations.

We appreciate your comments about your stay with us and we all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Cordially,

Carolina Bernal
Director of Sales
Hotel Casa San Agsutin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#6 of 153 in Cartagena
1,829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 153 in Cartagena
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 153 in Cartagena
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 153 in Cartagena
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 153 in Cartagena
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Agustin

Property: Hotel Casa San Agustin
Address: Calle de la Universidad No. 36 - 44 | Centro, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Casa San Agustin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Agustín is a luxury boutique hotel of 20 refined guestrooms and 10 spacious suites in the city of Cartagena de Indias, Colombia. Three colonial homes have been totally renovated and lovingly restored to create the sense of staying in a well-curated and appointed home of a sophisticated best friend. Situated within the historic walled city, and dating from the 17th Century, the charm of the buildings has been enhanced with a respect for maintaining original frescoes in the library and wooden beamed ceilings. This hotel offers 1 restaurant with three different environments, bar, pool-bar, pool, solarium, 1 meeting room up to 40 people, library, concierge desk 24 hours, room service and massage service in a beautiful outdoor terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Casa San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing