We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not go to this restaurant” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bruschetta

La Bruschetta
Ranked #301 of 663 Restaurants in Cartagena
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Do not go to this restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Poor service, poor food and high prices. The Bruschetta romana was very dissapointing, bad bread quality and the tomato topping had no flavor. The involtini did not lived up to my expectations.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    46
    40
    31
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Worst Italian restaurant ever.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The service was terrible. The inexperienced waitress forgot one of our drinks then one of our entrees even with a supervisor. The staff seemed indifferent to us and other customers. The lasagna was awful, likely reheated, and poorly presented with no side items. The pasta carbonara could have been better prepared by a microwave. It was tough and pretty simple tasting. We never complained, and even as we left, the staff showed no gratitude whatsoever. Avoid this restaurant at all costs.

Helpful?
Thank Jonny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overpriced, surly service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

What I Liked Most: The pasta was sort of OK, although the sauce had been made with powdered milk.

What I Liked Least: The prawns were ridiculously overpriced (USD25 for 4). The service was grudging. We hoped for more attentive service considering we were the only ones in the restaurant, but we soon discovered why.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Meat dishes (carpacio and filet mignon) were ok, but the seafood risotto could as well have been made of balls of toilet paper. How ok earth can the service be so inattentive in a half full restaurant? We had to wait for ages and then half oft the things were first forgotten, and also the bill was not correct. Gents' bathroom was very filthy. The best thing of this restaurant is that it is across the street from Santa Clara's bar and a block from Plaza San Diego, which has better options for dining.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dv1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced wannabe Italian”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very basic food. 33K for fried chicken and a bit of tasteless pasta.
We were looking fo a different restaurant which was unfortunately closed, and remembered I had seen this one on trip advisor. In the beginning we were the only ones, but then the people started rolling in. And service disappeared. We waited ten minututes after asking for the bill before we just got up and paid at the desk. Hope there is better food in Cartagena.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bruschetta also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to La Bruschetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing