We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience”
Review of Marea By Rausch

Marea By Rausch
Ranked #70 of 707 Restaurants in Cartagena
Price range: $20 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were a group of 17, quite big, but I must say we had a terrible experience. The food was awful, we ordered lobster and it was un cooked, the service was VERY SLOW and bad. not one of the plates was good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lala L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cccartagenaco, Director of Sales at Marea By Rausch, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Good evening. We regret you and your group had a bad experience at Marea by Rausch. Our team is aware of your valuable feedback and making sure this sort of issues don´t arise again. Please accept our apologies. We are happy to invite you on your next visit, hope you consider giving us another chance to surprise you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    155
    71
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Almost a 5”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Located just outside the old city, at the Convention Center, this new restaurant has a beautiful view of the old city and a water front. The decor is elegant and sober, although the ambiance could have more character. Food great! Service is good. Prices are within range of a stylish restaurant. Dinner for 2 around usd$95. Includes 2 cocktails and dessert.
To improve: Cocktails. My "mojito" came with sugar not dissolved and the "alexander" too creamy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RXPULIDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful water view of the old Cartagena!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Love the setting on the water facing the clock tower and the ancient harbor of Cartagena.This was where the Spanish Galleons and the Slave ships docked a couple of centuries ago.
I always have my favorite avocado tower with fresh crabmeat on top. Marea has great selection of food and wines but the service has not improved since our first visit.
First of all,we had to find our way through the convention center since no one was there to greet you.The waiters had to be prompted to fill the wine and water glasses,the plates arrived in front of the wrong persons,smiles were lacking.
It will be a while before we return.Hope by then the young waiters will be trained.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nflorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"NOT ALL THAT SHINES IS GOLD...."”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The ambiance was poor, the view was great, the service was average, but the food was terrible!!!
I even think that none of the chefs were there that night, we ordered 3 fish dishes, and 2 Thai specialties (highly recommended by the waiter) and I could not believe what I was eating, the fish was extremely overcooked to he point it was sandy and dry, no flavor whatsoever, the sauce has no taste and the size was not even enough for a kid's meal.
The only acceptable dishes were the Thai fusions: the rice (arroz caldoso) and maybe the Thai soup, which is the same "Tom ka-kai", but with a thicker texture.
Be careful the place is not worth your money (overpriced), you can find much better food for about the same value inside the old city (ciudad amurallada).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Cartagena period!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food, great setting and very good service. A truly gourmet experience with a very good wine list as well. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicente G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marea By Rausch also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Marea By Rausch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing