We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful water view of the old Cartagena!”
Review of Marea By Rausch

Marea By Rausch
Ranked #74 of 698 Restaurants in Cartagena
Price range: $20 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful water view of the old Cartagena!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Love the setting on the water facing the clock tower and the ancient harbor of Cartagena.This was where the Spanish Galleons and the Slave ships docked a couple of centuries ago.
I always have my favorite avocado tower with fresh crabmeat on top. Marea has great selection of food and wines but the service has not improved since our first visit.
First of all,we had to find our way through the convention center since no one was there to greet you.The waiters had to be prompted to fill the wine and water glasses,the plates arrived in front of the wrong persons,smiles were lacking.
It will be a while before we return.Hope by then the young waiters will be trained.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nflorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    153
    69
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"NOT ALL THAT SHINES IS GOLD...."”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The ambiance was poor, the view was great, the service was average, but the food was terrible!!!
I even think that none of the chefs were there that night, we ordered 3 fish dishes, and 2 Thai specialties (highly recommended by the waiter) and I could not believe what I was eating, the fish was extremely overcooked to he point it was sandy and dry, no flavor whatsoever, the sauce has no taste and the size was not even enough for a kid's meal.
The only acceptable dishes were the Thai fusions: the rice (arroz caldoso) and maybe the Thai soup, which is the same "Tom ka-kai", but with a thicker texture.
Be careful the place is not worth your money (overpriced), you can find much better food for about the same value inside the old city (ciudad amurallada).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Cartagena period!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food, great setting and very good service. A truly gourmet experience with a very good wine list as well. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicente G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good but Expensive”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Marea was one of our best meals in Cartagena. We had dinner one night and sat outside overlooking the harbor. The ceviche and fish entrees were well prepared and flavorful. Service was very attentive. Wine list was fairly extensive. The interior of the restaurant is very beautiful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Astranova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, spectacular view, catastrophic service and high prices.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I went with two friends. We were greeted by a rude woman wearing casual ill-fitting chinos and a tight polo shirt. We were told to wait, though we had a reservation. We were left standing, while waiting for our table, not even offered a beverage.

We waited 45 minutes to get our order taken after being seated. The cocktails ordered first arrives after an hour of having ordered them, with the apps. We ordered 2 different bottles of wine, off of their list, neither of which they had. We asked for the sommelier. He said he would recommend something similar in style of similar price range, but the bottle he brought was over 50 dollars more expensive.

The food was great. The chef was walking around and stopped to talk to other tables, but ignored ours. It took 4 hours to finish dinner.

I have not been back since!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VLPSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marea By Rausch also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Marea By Rausch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing