We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza de San Diego

Plaza de San Diego
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Cartagena de Indias Walking Tour with Interactive Audio Guide
Ranked #7 of 176 things to do in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Takoma Park, MD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were there around noon, so I am guessing that's not the best time. It's a tiny little plaza with a handful of people sitting around. Walking around the town is very charming, but there's nothing particularly special about this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dtrachtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    363
    121
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This walled city attraction is a great place to watch the locals with their children. Shady and good place to rest. We had a private guide Dora De Zubiria (dora@cartagenatour.com) who spoke very good english and picked the 6 of us up in an air conditioned van and drove us all over to see all the attractions and walked with us. We would use her again. Very reasonable in price and very knowledgeable on history of Cartagena.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go for the Empanadas and Carimañolas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This quaint little plaza borders the luxurious and expensive Hotel Santa Clara. Expectedly, the plaza is surrounded by higher end restaurants as well. I recommend sitting in the park and buying Carimañolas or empanadas from the vendor on the southwestern end of the park and grabbing a beer to wash it down These native treats are delicious and cheap! And don't worry, I heard from a local that the vendor has been there for over 20 years and hasn't made anyone sick! Enjoy the plaza like the locals do!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tony_in_san_jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
220 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“" The Heart of Getsemani"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is the place to meet the locals! This is a special location in the heart of Getsemani. People are coming here together every day and especially in the evening. All kind of traditional food, several restaurants, dance, music .... A real Caribbean atmosphere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
236 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good place for dinner and horse ride tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Good place for dinner and some drinks. Also I took a night tours using the horse cars from hotel Santa Tereza. Plenty of people at night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank viajero2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza de San Diego also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Plaza de San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing