We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Both Children Loved It”

Naval Museum of the Caribbean
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Cartagena Walking Tour With a Zenu Guide
Ranked #39 of 193 things to do in Cartagena
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“My Both Children Loved It”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Naval Museum of the Caribbean is a relaxed and laid back museum that offers a wealth of information about Cartagena, Caribbean. The information, that mainly can be understood through simple and well appointed exhibits, is very useful especially once you start exploring Cartagena.
My both children, age 4 and 2 loved this historic building with super courtyard, especially the bells, that they were allowed to ring.
The view from second floor of the sea is magnifique and the nearby buildings are amazing.

Well worth a visit.

Enjoy
xx

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kamham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    113
    65
    18
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Interesting Naval History”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This museum is set up really well with heaps of information about Cartagena's maritime history.
The only downfall is it's all in Spanish, some english would be helpful but the Spanish I do know helped me out a lot.
It has all the history about the indians, pirates, conflicts - The museum also has heaps of figures, pictures and models so it doesn't get boring either.
It only takes about an hour to see the whole thing so if you've got time it's worth a look.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Levilouicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
152 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very interesting indeed”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It would have been helpful if I could read Spanish properly as this is quite a treasure trove of both nautical and Spanish history.
It is worth seeing just for the architecture too, a great big old place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank YR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
220 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Try to go here before the other sights”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I say that because I came here last and all the different names, places and dates clicked once i started reviewing the exhibits.

The ground floor is a very detailed review of the history of Cartagena's settlement, growth and physical changes. Detailed models show it with a clarity that maps can't provide. Take your time to review these things because all the other sites in Cartagena reference them, and it will increase your enjoyment and understanding of this marvelous city.

Skip the upstairs unless you ate a serious boat model or gun buff. There's an old diving suit that young kids might like up there, but it's not really an interesting floor.

Helpful?
Thank Hank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
159 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Interesting but not a must”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The text of the narratives are basically in Spanish. We took a guide who said he spoke English but not easy to follow. It was informative and we learned interesting facts but the scope of the museum is somewhat limited. It only takes 30-45 to see the whole museum so if you have time take a look.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DEBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naval Museum of the Caribbean also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Naval Museum of the Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing