We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The largest fort in South America” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Felipe de Barajas Castle

San Felipe de Barajas Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Emerald Tour in Cartagena de Indias
Ranked #2 of 176 things to do in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built by the Spaniards as a defense in colonial times, this is one of the oldest buildings in Colombia.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
SARASOTA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The largest fort in South America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

By all means, take the audio tour rather than the guide. You learn so much more. It is not easy to get around if you have problems walking or breathing.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FiaSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,257
    3,060
    914
    120
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“historic, great view, wear comfortable shoes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We took a taxi from our hotel within the walled city here, although we easily could've walked it (we enjoy walking). You get a bit hassled at the bottom by the most persistent vendors I had encountered during my entire 10day trip to Colombia. We just adamantly said no and went on our way up to the Castle.

We didn't do a tour, but just walked along the area on our own, took photos and explored the deep channels of the castle.. those got a wee bit scary for me.

There are small little books that give some info, but there really wasn't a lot of information on the history and what each area consisted of or the history of it. I had to look up Wikipedia when we got back to get informed. I'm sure if we would've purchased the audio-tour, that would've been very informative, but we didn't.

You can see some really great views from the castle. The wind up there is fresh and you just feel relaxed being up there on such a historic site with such an expanse view. I would say that's why we enjoyed it and recommend it as a spot to visit.

If you're not clausterphobic, venture in to the many tunnels the fort has.. they are lit but some little corners do not get much light and it can be a bit of a fun, scary experience for those who like that.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank artique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice fort, could do with more info”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This fort in Cartagena has nice views overlooking the city. The fort itself is just that, a fort. You can go into some tunnels and climb on every wall and take pictures with the huge Colombian flag, but there's not much else going on here, and there's not much explanation on what you see. I'd still say it's a must see in Cartagena.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mikeynl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fortress with history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My two friends and I hired a private tour guide for $20,000 pesos (about $12) instead of the recorded device. Our guide, Jose Luis was excellent, he had so much history, was strategy and excitement to share. It's VERY hot there depending on the time of year, so sunblock and water are recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RoseMHern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
189 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but no instructure to receive tourism”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The problem starts with the name, it's not a Castle, but a Fort. We went expecting to see a castle, and was very dissapointing to find only exterior areas.
If guided tour is so important should be part of this attraction, we got no guided tour and we saw only rocks, almost no information.
A place like this should be much more prepared for tourism, should have informations around.
The entrance fee, even cheap, turn out to be very expensive from what we get.
It is interesting to visit, but don't expect much.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jdneves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Felipe de Barajas Castle also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to San Felipe de Barajas Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing