We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Value and Exceptional Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Decameron Cartagena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Decameron Cartagena to your Saves list
Decameron Cartagena
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cra. 1 No. 10-10, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 142 Hotels in Cartagena
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and Exceptional Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

While this hotel was average the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was fantastic, very helpful and friendly. The food was plentiful and there was good selection of fruits and vegetables if you didn't care for the selection of meats offered. I'm not a fan of fried and sauces so more my problem than theirs.

Room Tip: When I arrived I was given a suite over the pool. I knew that this would not be good so I immediate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor02842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    504
    579
    155
    103
See reviews for
431
697
46
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the all inclusive idea. You get 5 meals a day! The food was ok. All meals except dinner are buffet style. You have to reserve your dinner every day. We never had a chance to get the seafood dinning, it was always booked up! The staff were partly friendly. As of the resort, the room was clean and had a very nice view to the beach! A very nice experience!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Lildeepblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Rooms lower than the average, but the worst this is the food. You can dine just once in one decent restaurant called San Pedro, but for that, you have wake up 6 am. or so, go to the lobby and do a long line to get booking. (see picture, it reminds me free food places for homeless in Toronto). They don't accept the booking process online, nor by telephone, no. You have to line in person 6 am. and you can not to book for all in your room, it is a limited amount of bookings for person.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank carlospena513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cartagena hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

GREAT VALUE AS THE US DOLLAR CONTINUES TO Slowing but surely rise at the exchange bank. My wife and I and our 11 month old son just arrived from another great stay at the decameron cartagena Colombia.

nothing has changed only that their are many more tourists in cartagena and more people hustling their china goods to you. I personally love to support artists who build or draw their own art/items. Many of these people are selling their items/talent to the tourists in cartagena. its up to you to consider where you buy.

the beach across the hotel is indeed a pain when you are just wanting to lay on the sand. people would come from east and west south and north offering me and the family sunglasses. I stated no gracias amigo we have them on already. then came the water shoes,towels,fake Rolex,fake gshock,etc etc....you get the point. people are just trying to make a living.

the only service I love to accept on the beach is the massages from the older ladies. they tend to be thick and strong and so I prefer the massages. also their was one gentlemen who was from choco. he was a fortune teller/ evil eye bracelet amulet seller. before he even tried to sell you something,he would tell you to blow into his sun hat. I did and then so did my wife. after you blew in it he was able to see your future.im not a believer in this but this guy,told me things from the past first to get my attention then he told me about some projects I was working on, then he told me the final result on what would happen. same with my wife and we were thrilled. he then offered no obligation to buy a nice selection of homemade amulets for protection.

we opted for the bracelets ,and he stated to give him what I think was fair. being that we just got an awakening thru his vision I decided $10 bucks for 2 bracelets was cool, he was extremely humbled and happy.

he explained their are many talented people like him, but many will take advantage of people.

long story short.the predictions he made are coming reality as I sit down to write this article.

cartagena is great and full of culture. I just hope that next time I get to go cartagena ,it isn't spoiled by rowdy tourists ,looking for cheap thrills,drunk and high on all kind of substances.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cindy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Its a 3 star experience: hotel, room, food, drinks, atmosphere, amenities, staff, location, entertainment are all either old, dated or average or all three. Nothing was terrible or shocking or unpalatable. But equally nothing was great or amazing or memorable.

The hotel would do one thing badly and then one thing well and it was frustrating. For example the room furniture was very old and of poor quality....but the bed was comfortable and the cleanness was excellent; The (unlimited) food was only OK but the fruit was fresh and delicious; The hotel is a city hotel (just on a main street), not a destination or resort, so you can hear traffic passing constantly, the pool is small, there is no greenery and its just not very relaxing...but its close to the old city. You get the idea..

Ultimately Cartagena is just not (for us) worth spending a week in. The Old City is super-touristy but pretty and makes a nice romantic long weekend (no more than 3 days). But stay and eat in the old city itself and do a decent city tour. The rest of Cartagena, including where this hotel is located (Bocogrande), really has nothing to offer. The beaches are poor and the new city is 'ugly'. The trips and tours are really overrated and expensive. You have been to nicer beaches and nicer islands elsewhere. Don't bother going here. But you feel forced to do so as they is so little else on offer in Cartagena. The fact that the 'volcano' excursion was actually the most fun and value for money (its just a 20m tall man-made mud hill) says everything about this place. A week is too long period.

We had an OK vacation but we would not go to this hotel or this location again and would not recommend it to others. We would suggest the following instead: 3 days in Cartagena Old City. followed by moving to either one of national parks on this coast for trekking (or history or culture or beaches) or to Bogota and the south for the real Columbia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank acrossthepond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario, Argentina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Crowded, noisy, no private beach. The beach acoss the street is not atractive and the peddlers and feet masseurs can became annoying. The food is good. the bar pianist is excellent.The shows are nothing special. To have a reservation for an a special reataurant you have to queue very early in the morning and even so sometimes there is no room. There are taxis to go to downtown.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank argie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Food was very second rate, service almost nonexistent, and drinks were on the skimpy side. Staff very disorganized on check in, taking a long time to get to our room. Pool was freezing! Any additional service incurred a charge, including the room safe. Wifi was accessible only in the lobby, and only then at cost (apart from the one hour free trial). Rooms were very tired and outdated. Walls were paper thin - could clearly hear people walking past room and talking in morning and late at night. Despite having 4working lifts, waits for lifts were lengthy. After positive experiences in other hotels in Colombia, this stay was disappointing. Cartagena, on the other hand, is definitely worth the visit!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melly200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartagena
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 142 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,502 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#21 of 142 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#17 of 142 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel la Magdalena
Hotel la Magdalena
#76 of 142 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Suites
Hotel Marina Suites
#99 of 142 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#22 of 142 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Cartagena

Property: Decameron Cartagena
Address: Cra. 1 No. 10-10, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 142 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Cartagena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Decameron Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Cartagena Hotel Cartagena
Hotel Decameron Cartagena
Cartagena Decameron Hotel
Decameron Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing