We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,184)
Filter reviews
2,184 results
Traveler rating
1,053
734
248
91
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,053
734
248
91
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city classic hotel pool area main building huge pool hotel grounds walled city colonial building breakfast buffet a short cab ride sea view public beach street vendors welcome drink visiting cartagena arepas deer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,184 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

Giving it a full compliment of stars for the pool alone. Although close $40 usd for the day here, you get a complimentary welcome drink, pool towel, and a lunch but what you really get is a peaceful spot to sunbath. The walk from the lobby to the pool feels tropical and you will see small deer and some parrots who are all part of the ambiance. Next time we come to Cartagena, we just might think about staying here. Bonus, the beach is al all most across the street.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank wilson l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciacaribe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Caribe By Faranda Grand, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Thank you so much to leave us your compliments about our facilities and services, we are very glad to know you have enjoyed at all our hotel Caribe also to know you will stay with us if you decide to visit Cartagena in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

Hotel is nicely situated. Within walking distance from shops and restaurants. Rooms are clean and spacious. Beach across the street. Food was adequate. Pool is nice. Even got a haircut at the salon within the grounds. Cost me ten bucks. Overall great stay.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank tico3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciacaribe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Caribe By Faranda Grand, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2019

Thank you so much for your comments about our facilities and services. We are very glad to know you enjoyed the hotel at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

Rooms were clean, staff was great and nice. The reason I'm giving 3 stars is because they have 2 macaws in a cage with no stimulants, no toys, just a bucket of water . I mean I guess they have eachother but they need some sort of entertainment. I'm really surprised they havent plucked themselves. Another thing is, they should have a limit on how many omelets a person can get. Was in line behind someone who ordered 2, then out of no where her husband comes and askes to get one too. There is only one person making omelets, it was just rude and inconsiderate. There were about 5 people behind me. Or maybe just add another omelet maker?

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Preciosakitty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciacaribe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Caribe By Faranda Grand, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2019

Thank you so much for your comments, about the macaws we want to inform that they were in the box just because the veterinary ask for it, he needed to make a treatment for them, in contrary case they should be walking around the gardens as always. We really appreciate all yous suggestions to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Si bien se trata de una construcción antigua, no se encuentra bien adaptado, el ascensor no está tan disponible siempre porque debe tener operario y se demora mucho. No agua caliente ( apenas tibia), a la hora del desayuno, tuve que esperar 10 min para que limpiaran la mesa ( no habían mas disponibles). En la noche había ruido que llegaba a la habitación. Golpearon la puerta y me despertaron ( había puesto el letrero de NO MOLESTAR), querían hacer aseo.

Not recommended, yeah it’s an old building, but it is not that well adapted, the elevator needs an operator ( it gets too much time before you can use it ), no hot water. To crowded at breakfast time, I had to wait 10 min so waiter would clean the only table I found. Noise can reach the bedrooms. Staff knocked on the door eventoutgh I had hung the PRIVACY Sign on the door, they wanted to clean the room.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank camil0andres0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciacaribe, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caribe By Faranda Grand, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2019
Google Translation

Después de agradecerle por dejarnos sus comentarios, le manifestamos que solo el Edificio Colonial el cual es Monumento Nacional, dispone de un ascensor manipulado por un colaborador porque debemos conservarlo teniendo en cuenta el estilo arquitectónico, los dos edificios adicionales cuentan con ascensores nuevos de ultima tecnología y lo que manifiesta se trata de situación muy puntual por encontrarnos al 100% de nuestra ocupación. Ofrecemos excusas por el tema de que le hayan molestado en la habitación, tomaremos correctivos de inmediato.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019

We stayed in the Caribe's 'annex' building, a newer building with nice large rooms but lacking in character. My only complaint about this hotel, and in some ways it is trivial, is that it lacked character. Let me be even more clear: if the furnishings in a hotel are somewhat scuffed and scratched and it claims to be a 5 star hotel, I would expect it to have character. Also, the hours on the game room were too limited given that it wasn't staffed (as far as we could see). However, the staff were mostly friendly and very responsive (except for our last evening when we were by the pool for drinks and largely ignored), it was very clean, and we loved the grounds with the gardens, deer, and birds.

Room tip: As for the original building if possible, although we did not see one of those rooms.
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lonny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciacaribe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Caribe By Faranda Grand, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

Thank you so much for your comments about our facilities and services, also we appreciate your suggestions about our game room schedule.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews