We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful hotel with good location”
Review of Hotel Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Caribe
Ranked #28 of 151 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota
1 review
“Beatiful hotel with good location”
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Our stay at hotel Caribe was very pleasant, even though it isn´t excacly one of the cheapest ones. Normally I stay in budget hotels, but for Cartagena I truly recommend a better one. It is extremely hot, so air conditiniong is a must and a nice pool area makes the stay a lot more pleasant. The beaches in the city are quite nasty and very, very busy, so in reality you might end up spending more time at the hotel as expected.

The hotel has its "own beach", but it is not really worth it AT ALL. Sand and water are very dirty and you wont have a moment of peace due to people trying to sell you various things. If you are looking for a day at the beach, I recommend getting out of the city and going to an island. We went to Playa Blanca, which has white sand an turqouis water. Pictoresque place, but also quite busy. We went through the hotels travel service and the price was 75 000 pesos. That included car ride to the harbour and boat trips there and back. The boat was really small and it wasnt excacly a smooth ride, but it gets you there so really no complaints. There are probably cheaper ways, but we didnt have much time to find out about other options.

Our room was very roomy and clean, no complaints. Breakfast buffet was good and it is nice to have the option to have breakfast either by the pool or inside. The pool itself was ok, but there isnt always enough seating for everyone. The pool area however is beatiful, especially at night time. They also have a sauna (which actually does not resemble a real sauna at all), turkish steam room (very nice) and a jacuzzi.

One very troubling thing about the hotel was that they had monkeys and parrots in cages in the yard. Cages are very small and the animals are clearly unhappy. Biiig minus for that.

Location of the hotel is good. It is right by the beach, almost in the heart of Boca Grande and relatively close to el centro. It is very easy to get to the old city from the hotel. You can take a taxi for 5000-6000 pesos and it only takes 10 minutes or so.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarikkiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    521
    177
    61
    33
See reviews for
386
408
69
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2010

During my one-week stay with a group, I found the staff to be most accommodating and friendly. We stayed in the newer building. Our rooms, the pool, and overall hotel were clean and well maintained One exception: the windows in my room needed a good washing. My bed was very comfortable. The location was easily convenient to just about everything. The Caribe is an old hotel with architecture reflecting the 1930's. I think that 's what gives the hotel its relaxed, tropical atmosphere, especially by the pool area that's surrounded by palm trees and foliage and pastel-colored hotel structures. The pool was large and really clean with an adjoining kiddie pool, and I enjoyed eating breakfast poolside (under the awning where it's cooler, as opposed to out in the sun). The breakfast buffet that was included was certainly good, but not outstanding. There was good entertainment by the pool every night in the form of music and sometimes dancers. My room was large with two king size beds, a safe, a clock radio, and a minibar refrigerator, but it didn't have a microwave or coffeemaker. The air conditioning was fine, but the bathroom, while adequate, showed its age--not enough light, and the sink and tub stoppers didn't work and the shower leaked. The beach area was ok but not very scenic compared to others in Cartagena. I do not believe it is a private beach at all, and the vendors don't leave you alone and can be quite annoying. The beach is actually across a narrow but highly trafficked street. I was on the second floor overlooking the beach, as opposed to the rear area poolside and tropical garden view (which I would choose if I went back). If you want the beach view, I suggest that you go for a higher floor to get more of the beach and less of the traffic (and the noise that goes with it if you open a window). I would defintely go back, provided I got a rate that was reasonable compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stealaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

This 5 star hotel is fine but it lacks the basics that a three star hotel has in any other country. No iron and ironing board, microwave or coffee maker in the room. No airport shuttle sevice to and from the airport...so be prepared to pay a taxi. Be sure to get a price from the info centre at the airport as the taxis have no meters and can charge what ever they want...settle on the fare before you ride. We were disappointed in Cartagena...the beaches around the hotel are dirty and you are constantly( every 30 seconds) pestered by vendors wanting to sell you things. It gets to be too much. The outdoor restaurants in the area have the same problem with vendors as the beach does...so don't expect to enjoy your meal! The quality of service in the restaurants ranges from poor to terrible.The old part of the city was totally different , clean, well maintained and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

This hotel has a plantation style to it. It is large, so make sure if you travel in a group, your rooms are close to each other. Everything is VERY expensive there (compare prices to what is offered in the US). It is a very clean place and conveniently located to many things, such as beach, restaurants, liquor stores, shopping areas, banks, ect. A taxi to old city is around 6.000 CP = 3.00 USD. If you don't want to eat at the hotel, there are many places to eat nearby. It is very hot, and the AC is very weak at this hotel, so be prepared to SWEAT! lol

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garcesa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

I love the Ciudad Amurallada and found the city safe even at night. It is like San Juan, Puerto Rico, but without the sophistication and definitely more laid back which is what I like about it. It is also gay friendly. I was able to walk with my partner in those ways which lovers only know and enjoy without any problems. We found one gay club which attracted a twentish crowd. Bocagrande Beach where we stay is not as nice as Isla Verde in Puerto Rico, but it was a nice beach. However, the army of vendors made it almost impossible to enjoy. If you want to escape to one of the many private island tours, stay away from Isla Rosarios, Playa del Encanto. It was small and mostly coral reef. The trip over and the food was good, but I love fry fish, plaintains, salad and tropical fruits, with excellent Colombian coffee. Not for everyone but us lovers of tropical cuisine. Hotel Caribe where we stayed is billed as a five star hotel, but it is more like two or three. The staff is friendly and acommodating. The rooms are lovely, but the bedding definitely needs improvement. However, this review is influenced by the beautiful Colombian man who accompanied me and made even the ordinary feel extraordinary.

Helpful?
3 Thank angorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALTIMORE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Met up with my backpacking son and his friend (both 23) The pool was great..old hotel, surrounded by uglier hotels and condos.don't order the food here. It's subpar, expensive, and takes far too long to get.I walked across the street to a fried fish and beer stand on the beach. I enjoyed both...working class local beach , no tourists.the pool is much better.Hotel (security) does excellent job of keeping hustlers away..so you're safe.There is really nothing to see within walking distance of hotel. Best Bet..find a hotel in the old walled city..its safe and charming. I spent 4 nights walking around there which is the maximum I'd recommend for this town . Hotel Caribe was probably spectacular in its day 1930-1960 but mildly interesting today..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BARTERMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

My mom and I stayed at Hotel Caribe for a total of six days and enjoyed every moment. I love that it was so close to shopping and a short cab ride to the airport and the old city. We loved having breakfast by the pool. Although it was hot, we always chose to sit in the shade for breakfast. Breakfast was wonderful everyday! We weren’t about to spend our whole vacation surrounded by air conditioning… it’s Cartagena! When you go to the old city visit Upalema. They have gorgeous crafts! Visit the gym and have a massage! The rooms were clean, the food was delicious, the evening entertainment was very good and the staff was wonderful! I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boyerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#19 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#32 of 151 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Hotel Capilla del Mar
#21 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
6.1 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Cartagena De Indias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribe

Property: Hotel Caribe
Address: Carrera 1 No. 2 - 87 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 130010, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#13 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set outside the old city on the beaches of Bocagrande, Hotel Caribe, a certified ¨National Monument¨, was built in 1941 and still maintains its original five-story, 99-room Colonial structure. The resort has since added two modern buildings making it the largest hotel in Cartagena.It has 363 rooms with ocean or hotel garden-views (16 of which are wheel-chair-friendly), 4 restaurants, 10 conference rooms, a mini-zoo, tennis courts, a semi-Olympic – sized pool as well as one for the kids. The Caribe Hotel offers a first class service with lot facilities. The Caribe Hotel with three buildings and 363 rooms is considered one of the most traditional Hotel in the city, with an area of 35,000 m2 of exotic tropical trees and gardens, 5,000 being devoted to ample beaches and 30,000 to Hotel facilities. The majestic structure of the Hotel Caribe, surrounded by palms and exotic gardens, rises from the heart of Bocagrande. The Hotel has 363 rooms with different lodging options to make your stay an unforgettable experience, additional offers the finest recreational and sports facilities. We provide our guest an incredible variety of gastronomical possibilities, from the most sophisticated international cuisine to exquisite typical dishes and snacks. Our Guest may select the Catalina Restaurant, Oh Caribe bungalow, Punta Icacos garden and the pool area with a scenario for folklore reviews and theme parties. In regard to congresses, seminars, and conventions the Caribe possesses a magnificent infrastructure that includes ten meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing