We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Caribe
Ranked #30 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Lovely property and pool area but beware of the details. Spent three days in "Garden Building," which is a rather circuitous walk from the hotel entrance. On Saturday, the pool area was inundated with day trippers, both Cartagena resident families and a tour busload. One morning I arrived as breakfast buffet was being disassembled. Waiter graciously brought me a coffee and some rolls, and then proceeded to charge me the full price of the buffet---irreversible. I was charged the equivalent of $28 or so for a COLLECT phone call to the states, which, they refused to reverse upon checkout.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dduck245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dpto_RRPublicas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We really sorry for all the inconveniences you may had due to the local people that were enjoying as well the pool area and surroundings and also for the over charge breakfast, we are keep an eye in all details you had mentioned in order not to happen for other guests or even you in your future visit as well the charges for the calls, we also informed the parties involved of this matter, that we really appreciated you listed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    502
    174
    59
    32
See reviews for
366
392
66
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Thank you *Fernando* for all your help with my multiple reservations, dinner and sightseeing seeing suggestions! The people are what make or break a guest's experience.
I already miss Cartagena and recommend this hotel to future travelers.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dpto_RRPublicas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are glad to hear that our friendly staff can even help you in little details to have your staying memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I like this hotel. It has character.

The staff speak fluent English and were very helpful with any request I made. It is clean & safe and well positioned next to the beach and in the safe tourist area of Bocagrande.

They serve a good breakfast and great food in the evening. The pool is fantastic, good size, peaceful & relaxing atmosphere.

The gym is a little too basic for me however.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oneworldtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dpto_RRPublicas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are more than happy to hear such a great comments specially of our staff, services, cleanness and safety surroundings of our venue. And it is a really a character we are unique we are the 1st hotel built in this area Bocagrande.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was my second time in this hotel. I was there in 1988, then my husband and I decided to stay there in our trip to Colombia in 2011. The room was nice the manager gave us a choice to stay in the new side of the hotel or the colonial? We choose the colonial it was so nice to see a flavor of old and not the same look of a room that is the same like the others. The breakfast was good a lot of food, but definite or favorite dish was at the pool, the " ensalada mixta" a mixed of fish, chicken and stake cook to perfection. I could eat that all day!!! everything was so convenient, far away from all the madness but taxis come there all the time to get you an drop you door to door. one tip don't go to the beach there, just get go to a travel agent and get a boat ride to " Baru" white beach. so nice. there. if you go to the beach in front of the hotel so many people will be coming to you to sell you stuff that you will want to punch them in the face. very pushy people so be on the look out. I lve the pool better of the hotel and the white beach with trips on boats and def go to the old city. Great trip

Room Tip: Stay int he Colonia rooms they have that coziness of old spanish colonial days. love it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martikalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dpto_RRPublicas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are so glad that your expectations of our hotel rooms satisfied in a way that you really enjoyed the history involved and even that was your 2nd time here, also we really appreciated that you really enjoy our breakfast ,the specialties of our cuisine and pool areas.

On the other hand, we really sorry for the inconveniences you may had while you were in the public beaches, this is something out of our league the street vendors but we are working with the community in order to solve this inconveniences but good decision to escape to a private beach specially the Barù island and at the same time had the chance to visit other venues of our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
251 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Beyond breathtaking! This was a last minute trip and I couldn't have been happier with our hotel. Check in was very easy and they were very busy that weekend but extremely helpful and efficient. Hotel was very clean. Our room was large with beautiful windows looking onto the water. They had free drinks and a great pool with many areas to just lounge around and enjoy the scenery. Great stay and hopefully we will be back one day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandyb192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dpto_RRPublicas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are so glad that you had chosen us as you new house even for your vacation, and also even that we were kind of busy and our staff was always there to help you in your needs.
Also, we are glad to hear that our cleanness in venues and room sizes and breathtaking views filled your expectations. We hope to see you in your near future plans and do not forget this now it is your house forever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Hotel Caribe. We stayed at the Lagomar building on the 4th floor facing the ocean. It was a nice, cool, clean room with 2 king beds and large flat screen TV. The breakfast is included and I looked forward it to it every morning. It is enough to get you through most of the day. The pool area is very nice and was not crowded until the days before new years. The grounds are very nice and there is a forest court yard that sounds like a jungle with the local birds “Maria mulattas”. They have some sloths (osos perizosos) that live up in the large banyan trees. They kept the room cleaned and helped me get some clothes washed and pressed. The staff there was very friendly and helpful in providing info about the hotel, directions, the city, and the tours. The entertainment on Friday night was excellent local traditional Cumbia music and dancing.

It is just a few minute taxi drive to the old city and that cost about $3 each way. The hotel is located out near the end of the point but there are plenty of stores, restaurants, pharmacies etc., within a very short walk. if you are going to buy any souvenirs, hats, shirts, mochillas, you are better buying them around the hotel than the old city.

I would not take the Chiva bus tour. It is hot and crowded and the guides are more interested in bringing you to their friends store than explaining the sights. I would recommend having a taxi driver take you on the same tour in a cab with AC. A cab tour is $20/hour so it is cheaper and more comfortable than the Chiva at $40 each.

We had a positive and memorable experience at the Hotel Caribe. The Lagomar was a nice building and we were able to see some of the minimalistic rooms on the first floor of the old building but obviously did not see the entire hotel. I would definitely like to return and see some of the people we met.

Room Tip: We are only familiar with the Lagomar building but the minimalist rooms on first floor of the coloni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dpto_RRPublicas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are so glad to hear such great comments regarding services, venues of the hotel and the most important, our staff. It`s true, we are unique to have such big areas surrounding with live animals mentioned and even though that the chiva bus was a bit disappointed but at least you enjoyed our culture and it is part of our history and believes, and it is an honor to hear that everything went smooth for your holidays enjoying our gardens ,shows and city and of course our hotel and we really hope to have you back not even once but more than that and as well with family members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Let's start with the positives- decent room, clean enough, good-looking pool area and semi-maintained grounds. They had deer on the property, as well.

Negatives, on the other hand, are ABUNDANT. Terrible service, especially by the pool where we waited 2 hours for sandwiches. Inattentive, overwhelmed, under-managed. Tours are all terribly touristic and miserable, and the beaches are appalling. In general, DON'T STAY IN BOCAGRANDE. It's gross.

Upon check-in, we were greeted by a woman who gave no instruction whatsoever and answered a personal cell phone call instead of finishing our introduction to Bocagrande. Awful wi-fi in the rooms. Just don't.

Room Tip: To get the best room, book at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaneof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are really sorry for all the inconveniences you may had, regarding spicily our pool service and also our wifi connection network. We had taken note of all this, in order to improve them both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#14 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
6.1 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Cartagena De Indias
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Hotel Capilla del Mar
#21 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribe

Property: Hotel Caribe
Address: Carrera 1 No. 2 - 87 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 130010, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#13 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set outside the old city on the beaches of Bocagrande, Hotel Caribe, a certified ¨National Monument¨, was built in 1941 and still maintains its original five-story, 99-room Colonial structure. The resort has since added two modern buildings making it the largest hotel in Cartagena.It has 363 rooms with ocean or hotel garden-views (16 of which are wheel-chair-friendly), 4 restaurants, 10 conference rooms, a mini-zoo, tennis courts, a semi-Olympic – sized pool as well as one for the kids. The Caribe Hotel offers a first class service with lot facilities. The Caribe Hotel with three buildings and 363 rooms is considered one of the most traditional Hotel in the city, with an area of 35,000 m2 of exotic tropical trees and gardens, 5,000 being devoted to ample beaches and 30,000 to Hotel facilities. The majestic structure of the Hotel Caribe, surrounded by palms and exotic gardens, rises from the heart of Bocagrande. The Hotel has 363 rooms with different lodging options to make your stay an unforgettable experience, additional offers the finest recreational and sports facilities. We provide our guest an incredible variety of gastronomical possibilities, from the most sophisticated international cuisine to exquisite typical dishes and snacks. Our Guest may select the Catalina Restaurant, Oh Caribe bungalow, Punta Icacos garden and the pool area with a scenario for folklore reviews and theme parties. In regard to congresses, seminars, and conventions the Caribe possesses a magnificent infrastructure that includes ten meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing