We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Caribe
Ranked #30 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Lebrija, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The breakfast buffet was just awesome. What really made the stay great was the staff. So very helpful and friendly. The hotel is just beautiful at night and rooms were very comfortable. To get to the old city was a breeze. Did some extra excursions and the staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about what was good and what we could just skip. I really enjoyed the old city and the buggy ride through. The city is friendly and this does not stop at the door of the hotel. A waiter even went and got me additional minutes for my phone and loaded them as I had never done that before. We stayed for Five nights and were sorry to have to go. You can not go wrong staying at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are really glad to hear all these comments, and that give us a good reward and make us think we are doing such amazing performance, and we are looking towards to see you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    502
    174
    59
    32
See reviews for
366
392
66
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel Caribe. It is placed in the chic neighborhood of Bocagrande, next to the beach (the beach is not impressive there). To go to the old town, a taxi can be called from the hotel station within 30 seconds and costs 6000 pesos (2.5 euros) t get there.
The rooms are okay, the bathroom could need some renovation, the wifi access is very poor. The swimming pool is super (temperature warm and relaxing). The breakfast is diverse and the juices change every day. We really enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paradisgourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We really thank for your grades and comments and we are working to correct things such bathrooms and wi fi network connection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is awesome! I took my two little annoying children with me and nobody in the hotel lost their patience. This hotel has pets for the children when they visit. My kids pulled sloths out of the trees, played with deer, fed monkeys and macaws, and never once did anybody tell them no. My kids were so happy. They screamed when we had to leave. They were crying when we left. Their favorite part was all the animals. The animals to all of us was the best part because the children stayed completely entertained the entire time. This hotel is complete with salon, sauna, gym, massage service, several stores for jewelry and arts and crafts, pool and separate children's pool, park for the children with swings, and a game room for the children. I just called and somebody picked up my dirty laundry in the room, washed it, ironed it, and placed it all back neatly in my room. I didn't lift a finger there and that's what a vacation means to me. The service is outstanding. Everybody is so patient and nice. The food in the breakfast buffet was typical Colombian food and delicious. Also, people on these reviews complain that the food takes forever. This is Colombia and everything is homemade. They don't have the accessories in the kitchens that we do here in the states to make everything quick and easy. They literally hand make the pasta and roll their own bread and they make it to order, one at a time if somebody requests. The food comes out hot and fresh. If you want fast food, there is a McDonald's down the street from the hotel. The rooms are similar to that of any Holiday Inn here in the states. The overall stay was just really pleasant. We are very happy.

Room Tip: We were right by the elevator and never heard any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are really glad to hear such stunning comments for each of them in particular the staff whose always there in order for you to have a place like you were at your own home, we are looking towards to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Overall a great hotel with excellent service, friendly people, nice rooms, and great facilities. The breakfast is OK, not great, but is pretty much the only game in town unless you were to trek up to Crepes and Waffles. As for facilities and the general 'feel' of the hotel, this is definitely a high point. The pool is outstanding, activities are great, and you can comfortably spend time at the hotel without feeling the need to go elsewhere. Though nicely located right on the beach, you can skip this. The water is great, but there is a lot of jet ski activity, the sand is nothing to write home about, and the vendors are mostly annoying.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor facing the bay, and it was great. Would advise a bay side room, rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank btmoriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are more than happy to hear such great comments even that our breakfast did not filled your expectations we are working each day to improve it and what makes us more proud is to hear that hotel in general filled your expectation and more even you did not want to go out it is an honored to hear that.

We are looking towards to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We loved the location of this place, across from the beach and walking distance to most places.
The room was large and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was good as expected.Make sure you take some of the tours in the area and beyond.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAVERIOJIMMYLEGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are really appreciated all your comments ,and we hope to see you in a near future plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Caribe for three nights, loved the property with it's vintage history. The grounds were well kept, enjoyed walking around looking at the perfect manicured plants and flowers. The pool area was great, didn't have a chance to use since I was there for a conference and didn't find enough time to enjoy. The breakfast was great each morning, something different each time, plenty of choices. The room was large, overlooking the bay, great view from the 5th, room 551. I am looking forward to returning just for a vacation and to be able to take advantage of everything this wonderful hotel has to offer. The beach is a very short walk across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morganhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Certainly our gardens and surroundings locations will make a difference during your staying, we hope your future plans in returning will come true, have you and your family as a guests once more and really enjoying things that you could not enjoy while you were here before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was hesitating between average and very good rates but decided for the later because there is some special charming on this hotel that make go back time on time. This hotel has a long history and has been preserved mostly in good shape. There is a wing that suffered a makeover so rooms there are comfortable and baths are spacious, there is other wing where baths are smaller so you don't feel the same comfort. Breakfast buffet is nice with juicy season fruits. Building is just some steps from the beach and walled city us just about a short cab ride. If you like the pool think to get a lounge early in the morning otherwise all will be find busy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malexrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Our charming it is really an honored to be the 1st one in history and the wings in our hotel will be under renovation specially the colonial part rooms will be stunning and breathtaking when all of them are finished so not even can enjoy the spacious room now the smaller ones will be a part of a new Caribe hotel, and trying to work more how to use the spacious of the hotel to allow more lounge available when the hotel is packed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#14 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
6.1 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Cartagena De Indias
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Hotel Capilla del Mar
#21 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribe

Property: Hotel Caribe
Address: Carrera 1 No. 2 - 87 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 130010, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#13 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set outside the old city on the beaches of Bocagrande, Hotel Caribe, a certified ¨National Monument¨, was built in 1941 and still maintains its original five-story, 99-room Colonial structure. The resort has since added two modern buildings making it the largest hotel in Cartagena.It has 363 rooms with ocean or hotel garden-views (16 of which are wheel-chair-friendly), 4 restaurants, 10 conference rooms, a mini-zoo, tennis courts, a semi-Olympic – sized pool as well as one for the kids. The Caribe Hotel offers a first class service with lot facilities. The Caribe Hotel with three buildings and 363 rooms is considered one of the most traditional Hotel in the city, with an area of 35,000 m2 of exotic tropical trees and gardens, 5,000 being devoted to ample beaches and 30,000 to Hotel facilities. The majestic structure of the Hotel Caribe, surrounded by palms and exotic gardens, rises from the heart of Bocagrande. The Hotel has 363 rooms with different lodging options to make your stay an unforgettable experience, additional offers the finest recreational and sports facilities. We provide our guest an incredible variety of gastronomical possibilities, from the most sophisticated international cuisine to exquisite typical dishes and snacks. Our Guest may select the Catalina Restaurant, Oh Caribe bungalow, Punta Icacos garden and the pool area with a scenario for folklore reviews and theme parties. In regard to congresses, seminars, and conventions the Caribe possesses a magnificent infrastructure that includes ten meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing