We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time!”
Review of Hotel Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caribe
Ranked #31 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a great time!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our room was nice and comfortable and cleaned well every day. The shower was kind of small and there was not drying string to hang our stuff on, but other than that, we were very satisfied with the room during our six night stay over Holy Week. Our boys LOVED the pool, so much that we hardly left the hotel. They spent hours playing with other kids in the kiddie pool; we kept saying they had forgotten they had a family.

We ate a huge breakfast at the hotel every morning, which had enough variety that we didn't get bored. But the other food we tried at the terrace restaurant really wasn't very good. We ate at Arepas Pues! a few times (down the strip from the hotel) which was cheap a good!

We went to the "Isla del Sol" one day, with the travel agency at the hotel. The logistics were easy, though I am not convinced that was the best way to see Las Islas del Rosario.

The internet signal was horrible in our room the first five days, so we had to connect by cable, until the last day. My husband is studying online so that was VERY inconvenient. But other than that we had a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    535
    184
    62
    35
See reviews for
398
415
70
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chris Sandeman
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was forced to stay here for a conference...

The bed was comfortable...and the air-conditioning in the room worked really well. Decent pool by all means. But that's where it ends...

...the internet barely works...when it works at all. The gym equipment was rusted and limited; and one of the only non-airconditioned areas of the hotel. The lobby and other common areas were extremely tired; the place is screaming for a refurb.

The staff were fine, and numerous. But it certainly never felt 5 star; other comments about it being a "3-star" standard are accurate.

It's located away from the old city...not an expensive taxi ride, but at the price they charge you could easily stay in the old city and one of the top hotels in town.

The food and drinks at the hotel were 5 star prices, and the worst meals I had whilst visiting the city. Breakfast could have been so much better! Where was all the fresh fruit? Totally disappointing.

Truly, a shame. The hotel was the low point of my visit to the city, as far as expectations not being met. Next conference? I'll pick my own hotel, thanks.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Sandeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

The highlight of this hotel is its pleasant pool. The room I was initially put into was terrible - there was awful noise when one switched on the bathroom lights or changed the aircon temperature. I had to change rooms. The new and improved room had a tub that had visible cracks and permanent discolorations but was clean. The handle bars of the shower were no longer symmetric. Hot water was sporadic and had to complain about it each day. Staff tried to please but could barely speak English (other than front desk). While the hotel is beside the beach, the beach itself isn't so spectacular. Hotel prices in Cartagena are quite high so this hotel's rates are cheap comparatively speaking and may account for the standard of facilities. The place is safe and clean with a pool. That's it. A vacation in Bermuda, DR, Chareleston would yield a better quality hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonfancyfoodperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The Caribe is classic. It's fully renovated but the decor is reminiscent of classic hotels from the 1950s (uniformed bellboys, ridiculously attentive poolside drink service, etc). There are 4 restaurants and the 3 I ate in we're excellent. Many of my friends were overly concerned about safety but the Caribe, Bocagrande and the roads to El Centro are all very safe to walk during the day and early evening.

Also taxis are cheap, but ask before you get in how much the trip will cost. Otherwise you'll pay too much. Consider asking the bellboys what the normal fare is for your destination.

The pool is beautiful, the beach is so so. But it's the Caribbean and is still beautiful.

All in all a great place to stay, but you'll pay for your comfort.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for a week in March 2013 with our two children - ages 4.5 and 1.5 and here is my review.

CHECK IN: This went smoothly and we didn't have any issues. It is important to note that, while a small (and I mean SMALL) number of the staff speak English, the vast majority don't at all. It is definitely important to have at least a Spanish-English (or whatever your language of choice is) dictionary so that you can ensure you are understanding what is being said to you. A working knowledge of Spanish is definitely helpful - not just at the hotel but in Cartagena in general. One thing that may not be super clear when you are booking is that there is a $6000 Peso tax per person per night. This can really add up depending on how many people are in your party and the length of your stay. They will tell you about it at check-in which is why I strongly suggest you have a dictionary available.

ROOM: We booked a Superior Garden-View Room and they gave us a Superior Ocean-View room overlooking the kids playground area. It was a great size and had enough space for all of us to move around freely. They also came right away with a crib for our youngest. The hot water in the shower was a bit dicey at times and didn't always work but we didn't really see that an issue since it was always hot outside anyway and a hot shower was the last thing on our mind most of the time! Some of the light fixtures were showing their age and didn't work properly. We actually unplugged one of them because we thought it might be a fire hazard.

FACILITIES: The facilities at this hotel are what sets it apart from the rest. The main swimming pool is gorgeous and the kids swimming pool was just the right depth for the kids to gain some independence from us and try swimming on their own because they could stand up whenever they felt they needed to. We finished just about every day there with a 2-hour swim in the pool and there were plenty of deck chairs and seats to go around so you didn't feel like you had to get there early to reserve one. The grounds were immaculately kept and our kids had plenty of space to roam and run around without disturbing anyone (this was key). There was even a playground and a mini-zoo with monkeys and parrots that they loved to visit. We explored the hotel quite a bit and seemed to find a new space every day to hang out in. For this reason, I recommend this hotel to families with small, busy children who like to explore. They also had free Wi-Fi which was great but a bit spotty so, if you're traveling for business, this could be an issue.

FOOD: We had breakfast included with our room and it didn't disappoint! They had some of the yummiest fruit juices I've ever tasted and a great selection that served the needs of even our pickiest eaters. They even had lactose-free milk which is something I need and have had trouble finding in other parts of the world - a big thumbs up!

LOCATION The hotel is in a great location in Bocagrande with plenty of dining options around. For kids, there is also a small amusement park across the street that seems to open around 3:30pm or so. Another plus is that the horse and carriage drivers begin their tours in front of the hotel so it's easy to grab one if you're interested. Also, we were able to walk in to the Old Town fairly easily (about 30 minutes) and to take a cab in for around $4 Canadian (about 5 minutes).

SERVICE: The staff was very attentive and doted on our children. They were always pleasant and ready to help with any questions we had (which weren't many because everything was pretty straight forward).

Overall this was an excellent hotel and we had a fabulous time. The only confusing point was at checkout when our final bill seemed a bit higher than the one that had been slid under our door the night before and we couldn't see where the slight increase had come from. It was only about $20 Canadian which, in the grand scheme of things isn't much, but we just wanted to understand where it came from. Other than that, this was an excellent stay and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone - especially families with small kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toronto31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Such a good experience: lovely rooms,lovely staff,good food: this was basically an oasis in a tumultuous place...but we loved it! The staff- excellent! The environment- calm and lovely1 Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godiva2000Fitzsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I booked a reservation here months in advance. Then I read the reviews here and became concerned. I couldn't find another hotel, so I stuck with the Hotel Caribe. I am so glad we did. The room was great, had ocean view. The pool area is beautiful and the morning breakfast by the pool is superb.
I really question all the negative reviews posted. Our room did not need any renovations, nor did any parts of the hotel I saw.

Room Tip: Stay here, the views, the ocean and the ambience is better here than in the walled city. We booked a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#33 of 155 in Cartagena
2,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#16 of 155 in Cartagena
978 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Hotel Capilla del Mar
#23 of 155 in Cartagena
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#34 of 155 in Cartagena
1,509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribe

Property: Hotel Caribe
Address: Carrera 1 No. 2 - 87 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 130010, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#13 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set outside the old city on the beaches of Bocagrande, Hotel Caribe, a certified ¨National Monument¨, was built in 1941 and still maintains its original five-story, 99-room Colonial structure. The resort has since added two modern buildings making it the largest hotel in Cartagena.It has 363 rooms with ocean or hotel garden-views (16 of which are wheel-chair-friendly), 4 restaurants, 10 conference rooms, a mini-zoo, tennis courts, a semi-Olympic – sized pool as well as one for the kids. The Caribe Hotel offers a first class service with lot facilities. The Caribe Hotel with three buildings and 363 rooms is considered one of the most traditional Hotel in the city, with an area of 35,000 m2 of exotic tropical trees and gardens, 5,000 being devoted to ample beaches and 30,000 to Hotel facilities. The majestic structure of the Hotel Caribe, surrounded by palms and exotic gardens, rises from the heart of Bocagrande. The Hotel has 363 rooms with different lodging options to make your stay an unforgettable experience, additional offers the finest recreational and sports facilities. We provide our guest an incredible variety of gastronomical possibilities, from the most sophisticated international cuisine to exquisite typical dishes and snacks. Our Guest may select the Catalina Restaurant, Oh Caribe bungalow, Punta Icacos garden and the pool area with a scenario for folklore reviews and theme parties. In regard to congresses, seminars, and conventions the Caribe possesses a magnificent infrastructure that includes ten meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing