We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hotel Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caribe
Ranked #36 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This Hotel is a 5 star, but if I have to say something negativ, the breakfast could be better. The variation was limited. After 2 days of our 5 nights there was no space on the beach for the guests. We had to pay for cabanas. We had 2 premium rooms, and only 1 was faced to the beach. They could not help us with that.
The cleanliness in the rooms could be better. Found hair from other guests on the roof. Windows were not clean. And painting on the walls were falling of.
But afterall this hotel is very nice!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

We ended up paying around 300 dollars per night. The pool is nice, usually was filled with families with their children while we were there. Friendly waiters. Good restaurant by the pool. The location is across the street from the beach, which is nice. However, the room is very average, although clean, but without a decent view of the ocean which is right there.

Room Tip: Maybe try to get a room on a higher floor for a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vincenz541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

When you walk into the hotel, the colonial architecture and large beautiful grounds set it apart from the others. We loved the shade of the trees, the chirping birds, and ocean breeze that kept us comfortable. You can find many hideaway corners on the property where you can sit quietly and escape the many trinket sellers. The staff are excellent without exception. Location of the hotel is perfect - you can walk in any direction and come across great restaurants and shops. The area was very safe. It is only 6000 pesos (about $3) for a taxi to the old city if you are looking for a day of museums, shops, and vendors.

We were in Cartagena 23 years ago and stayed at a modern highrise hotel. We saw the Caribe and said that if we ever go back, we'll stay there, and we did. If we go back a third time, we'll stay at the Caribe. Nothing else came close.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yvette9915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I've stayed there at least 6 times before and decided to come back to Cartagena and spend a long weekend with my wife (she loves this place). Why? I guess it's because the rooms are really spacious and it's Colonial style architechture, blended with the newer wings, makes it a cousy place to stay in. The service is good, room service also fast (though this time I realized the quality wasn't as good as the previous times), better wireless internet, excellent breakfast and perhaps one of the best in food choices I've found.

Though it's location is quite good, I think none of the Bocagrande or Laguito hotels are good for beach lovers (maybe the exception would be the Hilton's). Cartagena's beaches are not the best, so if you're looking for that, my advice would be to stay at Rosario Island's hotels (45 minute boat ride) or in Barú (a bit closer). The option of Los Morros location (15 minutes away) is also a good posibility...

I personally think the best secrets of cartagena are away from the beach and are immersed within the walls of the Old City, making Caribe Hotel's location a very convenient one; close enough (5 minutes away) and also near the best casino in town and lots of shopping options.

Room Tip: The ones located in the colonial wing are cousier, but the ones on the newer wing are a lot bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ColombiaJuanSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

When I traveled to Colombia I had two objectives in mind; to buy the most beautiful emerald I could afford and to really experience Colombia's people and culture as much as possible. Hotel Caribe made both of these ideals a reality. Located outside the old city, but a very inexpensive and quick cab or bus ride away, this hotel offers so much choice and comfort it is a wonderful 'home base' for exploring Cartagena's rich history and culture. The hotel itself has been around since 1941 and still maintains its fabulous feeling of opulence from that era while offering it's contemporary guests modern amenities, great food, wonderful service and grounds that truly envelope you in a tropical paradise.

The location is fabulous as it is outside the bustle of the walled city but has it's own neighbourhood charm as it is within walking distance of so many amusing sights. There is a casino just down the street, a block away is an open market (where I did find the emerald of my dreams!), a Juan Valdez coffee shop that offers a better selection than Starbucks, I could go on and on.

The other thing I would like to mention is that Hotel Caribe offers a range of packages to suit its guests. As it is not a 'resort' style location but more of a hotel with resort-like amenities they have an European option where your breakfasts only are included. It was a fabulous option for us as we wanted to eat both in fine restaurants and local favourites in the area. We could get up and have a lazy morning with lots of coffee, fresh fruit and hot or cold choices and then organise our own schedule from there. Great freedon and flexibility, wonderful service and amenities, I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KristiAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stayed four days with my girlfriend at Hotel Caribe for business purposes. My girlfriend had to work for two days and I got to enjoy more time the amenities of the hotel. The property had free WIFI everywhere and for me this was a plus. The pool was huge and the cabanas were very comfortable. The ambience of the pool deck area was great with very nice landscaping
The hotel is still under renovation, but this did not disturb the guests at all. The beach is locating right across the street and the hotel has a full service restaurant kiosk with complementary umbrella and chairs at the beach. We ate at the kiosk and the food was delicious.
Also we took the breakfast buffet option and the menu everyday was different and very delicious. Contrary with others reviews we had a pleasant stay and we recommend it to all our friends that want to stay in Cartagena for a relaxing vacation time.

Additional Info:
Taxi from and to the Hotel 16,000 Pesos Aprox.
Taxi to Old City $ 6,000 Pesos Aprox.

Room Tip: We stayed at ocean view suite. Very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jccv009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

if one likes the beach it is a good place to stay, although i think in cartagena i would prefer to be in the old city center which is beautifully renovated.
service in general is very friendly and the sea food is excellent - "langostinos al ajillo" in the hotel restaurant is a must!

Cartagena is a World Heritage City and it is difficult to recommend a single hotel.
there are hundreds of very good hotels either on the beach or in the old city center.
in 11 years i haven´t slept in a bad hotel there even most apartments are recommendable if they are above 50 € per day in the off season and 70€ in the high season.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sauraumpfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#28 of 157 in Cartagena
2,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#21 of 157 in Cartagena
1,092 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#81 of 157 in Cartagena
625 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#33 of 157 in Cartagena
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#37 of 157 in Cartagena
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribe

Address: Carrera 1 No. 2 - 87 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 130010, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#13 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $106 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set outside the old city on the beaches of Bocagrande, Hotel Caribe, a certified ¨National Monument¨, was built in 1941 and still maintains its original five-story, 99-room Colonial structure. The resort has since added two modern buildings making it the largest hotel in Cartagena.It has 363 rooms with ocean or hotel garden-views (16 of which are wheel-chair-friendly), 4 restaurants, 10 conference rooms, a mini-zoo, tennis courts, a semi-Olympic – sized pool as well as one for the kids. The Caribe Hotel offers a first class service with lot facilities. The Caribe Hotel with three buildings and 363 rooms is considered one of the most traditional Hotel in the city, with an area of 35,000 m2 of exotic tropical trees and gardens, 5,000 being devoted to ample beaches and 30,000 to Hotel facilities. The majestic structure of the Hotel Caribe, surrounded by palms and exotic gardens, rises from the heart of Bocagrande. The Hotel has 363 rooms with different lodging options to make your stay an unforgettable experience, additional offers the finest recreational and sports facilities. We provide our guest an incredible variety of gastronomical possibilities, from the most sophisticated international cuisine to exquisite typical dishes and snacks. Our Guest may select the Catalina Restaurant, Oh Caribe bungalow, Punta Icacos garden and the pool area with a scenario for folklore reviews and theme parties. In regard to congresses, seminars, and conventions the Caribe possesses a magnificent infrastructure that includes ten meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing