We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff and comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
Ranked #16 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The staff were very helpful with various requests (getting delayed luggage from the airline and to our room, shoe polishing, getting clothes pressed) and communicated well in English. They really make this a nice place to stay! - hence the "Excellent" rating. The room was very spacious and comfortable, with a large modern bathroom. Located in the "old city," a short drive to the convention center. The breakfast buffet had good fresh fruit, fruit juice, omelets, but not really a large selection for that type of buffet. Quite a bit more expensive compared with other convention hotels though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CayManTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa with TripAdvisor users. We are very glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and you found our staff to be helpful with your requests.We sincerely hope we get the chance to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Ana Maria Tello

Ana Maria Tello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 647 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed 5 nights for a convention. Beautiful hotel, spacious rooms, fully renovated bathrooms with shower and tub. Nice, big balconies with chairs and hammocks overlooking the inside of hotel.

Front desk personnel was friendly and helpful, particularly Mabel, who helped us make dinner reservations on various nights.

Hotel surroundings were very pretty. Breakfast was served in the outside patio. It never rained while I was there, but beware it can get pretty hot and humid; you may need to shower again after breakfast.

We used the rooftop terrace once for a dinner event. Service can be very slow. Don’t expect US customer service speed/attention, you will be frustrated. Their pace is very slow and there’s no accountability when things don't go as expected.

Service at restaurants was also very slow. At lunchtime, and busy with only two tables, we waited 45 min for a pizza, so get there with plenty of time.

Hotel neighborhood was nice and convenient. A nice bar across the street with a Latin band and music that played till 2am, plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance.

I recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vero_PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa, in particular, that you were happy with your room and the service provided by the front desk personnel. We are sorry to hear about your impressions on the speed of service, there is always a manager or lead waiter available to ensure you have a pleasant experience and to take note of your comments if that is not the case. We hope we have the opportunity to have you as a guest again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

After a day of shopping in the colorful walled city, my friend and I decided to have lunch and here. The restaurant was located on the top floor, which offered an out pool and a breathtaking view of the City. The surroundings were quiet and possessed understated elegance. I really felt the history of the building. We had grilled fish--so sorry the names are not familiar and English is not very clear, but I can recommend the grilled white fish and a glass of white wine!! If you want elegance and serenity, try this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: I can only speak to the restaurant, book a table near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel
with the users of TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear
you found the hotel to be beautiful, elegant and serene
and that you enjoyed your meal in the rooftop restaurant.
We hope you visit us again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We loved this hotel from the moment we walked in. The superb decoration tries to remain faithful to colonial style, the beautiful indoor garden with its fountain, lush vegetation and orchids, where delicious breakfast is served,and most of all, the rooftop swimming pool, where the old Cartagena de Indias can be seen from the refreshing poolside. The views are unmatched. The rooms are big and very comfortable, well equipped, painted in vivid colors to match the caribbean. Here air conditioning is a must, and you can adjust it to your body needs. The hotel is very near one of the main entrances of the walled city, from where you can walk the wonderful historic center. Staff are very nice and helpful, they will advise about good places to eat and feel the warmth of Cartagena, this unforgettable Colombian city by the Caribbean sea.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc_An_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your impressions of our hotel and of Cartagena. It is a real pleasure to hear you enjoyed the ambiance, decoration, and location of the hotel and above all, the service offered by our staff. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a magical hotel. I felt like a King. I had a wonderful time there. I recommend this place to everyone. So many excellent things: breakfast, spa, pool and so on. It was just two days, but it was a such spectacular experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jfabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We truly believe our hotel is a magical place and we are very glad you experienced it as such. Hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,


Ana Maria Tello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for 4 days in the hotel for a wedding that also took place in the hotel. We had 8 rooms in total for family and friends of the couple. The check-in was a nightmare as most of us got really bad rooms. One couple was told they received an upgrade to find themselves in a basement "suite" looking out to the street. We were fighting for 1,5 hrs to get better rooms. During this process nobody informed us, talked to us or offered us sth to drink. Definitely not the treatment you would expect from a hotel in that price range. Overall, the hotel is really nice, especially with the courtyard-lobby-bar. But I would still not return to this place and rather choose one of the many other nice hotels in Cartagena.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kh578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear about your impressions on the hotel's check-in process. We aim to provide friendly, expedient service at all times, especially during the check in process, when we know our guests tend to be tired from traveling. As far as our rooms, we have no basement rooms and, in fact, some of our first floor rooms are favorites among frequent guests. When it comes to room blocks for weddings, the rooms are usually pre-approved by the hosts. We hope to have the opportunity to have you as a guest again in the future to change these impressions.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The check in was really great. They sent as a beverage of our choice to our room.
The room was beautiful with a huge bathroom and nicely appointed.
Their service very attentive and breakfast very nice.
My only complaint is that the wireless Internet was very slow, but they have a business room with an adequate connection.
I would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fersoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, including the check-in process, complimentary beverage, room, service and breakfast. As for the wireless Internet, it can get a little slow at times due to the thickness of the hotel's historic stone walls, but we are happy you were able to take advantage of the business center. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#7 of 159 in Cartagena
1,989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 159 in Cartagena
1,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tcherassi Hotel
Tcherassi Hotel
#30 of 159 in Cartagena
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#3 of 159 in Cartagena
775 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 159 in Cartagena
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa

Address: Carrera 3 # 31-23 | Centro Plaza de Santa Teresa, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#7 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#11 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $250 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa is located whithin Cartagena's walled city, a UNESCO World Heritage site. With a privileged location that is blocks away from the Cartagena Convention Center and just minutes away from the contemporary city, the history, flavor and mystique of Cartagena are all found here, at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Hotel Cartagena
Hotel Santa Teresa Cartagena
Santa Teresa Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing