We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I went to Cartagena for business with a very busy meeting schedule and let me tell you that staying at this hotel made my trip a lot less stressful. The hotel itself is very nice, the rooms are also very nice and clean, the pool area is great and has a perfect view. The restaurant at the pool has a great ceviche and the breakfast buffet has plenty of options for all tastes.
The SPA area is very clean and the massage I took was superb. Also the location of the hotel is very centric.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiadSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    134
    43
    21
    16
See reviews for
94
227
29
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is a crown jewel in an exotic city. Service was excellent, especially helpful in arranging for taxi service to and from the airport. The rooftop pool, with its excellent views of the city, was about as serene a place to sip a mojito as possible. The outdoor cafe in front of the hotel has great live music in the evenings. A room with a view of the Caribbean. Not cheap, but hard to ask for much more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was my 4th stay at this hotel over the last 6 yrs and I must say that the experience is just not the same anymore. I think this hotel now caters to the wedding and corporate crowd at the expense of it's regular guests. The night we arrived there was a corporate gathering that lasted until 3 am that literally was shaking the furniture in our second floor room. The following night was a wedding reception until 2am. When I asked the front desk for some explanation/accomodation they assured me on three different occasions that they were working on it......and nothing ever happened. When I went to check out, on my bill were 16 different charges for cell phone use on their network, totaling over 150,000 pesos. When questioned about these charges they simply stared at us in disbelief......and refused to let us talk to anyone of any higher authority. This hotel is very overpriced relative to the sofitel and some of the better boutique hotels (augustine, Agua etc). Also seems to cater to the older +60 crowd more than I remember. We did not see one guest under 20 (besides my 2 children) the entire 4 days that we were there. I enjoy cartegena for the music....the feel of the city being alive....the old city and its history, but never again using the Santa Theresa as my home.

Room Tip: get a room in the back ......and one of the rooms that were part of the original hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimedfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was just married in the Charleston on the 2nd of February! I cannot praise the staff enough for how incredible and helpful they were to me and all of my guests (we booked 23 rooms)!!!
From the atmosphere, to the food, to the beautiful flowers all over the hotel, I could not have asked for anything more! The wedding and experience was better than I could have ever imagined! Anytime I am back in Cartagena I will stay at the Charleston! Hopefully this will be sooner rather than later!!! 1st aniversary , maybe?!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saritainbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Looking for a destination to plan your next trip? Looking for a hotel? I've got the perfect destination and hotel! Not only is this a beautiful property, offering its guest top of the line service, it is located in the heart of the old city, allowing tourists and locals to explore the beauty that Cartagena has to offer. Hotel Santa Teresa offers its guests multiple food and beverage options to choose from, ranging from the patio by the lobby for breakfast to the restaurant by the pool to the restaurant in the plaza. The rooms are very good in size some bigger than others but they all have nice decor. I have been staying at this hotel for the past 7 years and every time I am more pleasantly surprised with the excellent service provided.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

similar to other reviewers, we found that what we had reserved through American Express was not what was offered to us when we arrived. After we had a discussion, they did 'upgrade' (tho this was NOT an upgrade as we had it confirmed to us as a deluxe room by AMEX) to a deluxe room tho it was the least of the deluxe. A nice room but there were no apologies and no manager to discuss this with. We had a reservation for 5 nights and finally got to who we thought was the manager on the 4th day - Others we saw were offered juice on arrival and other amenities but perhaps as we arrived on a Sunday, we were offered nothing. The man who showed us our room went off to check how to open the window only to never return and when we asked what happened when we went back to the lobby, we were informed that the windows did not open! English is obviously not spoken regularly as we were often avoided. We choose this hotel as it was a medium sized hotel which we thought would therefore provide us with a concierge service in English - but this was not the case. There was no concierge but only an outside travel agent who had a window to book tours. When we asked about any concerts or art events, we weren't given any information but found out later on that there was a large concert as a book fair commenced the day before we left but by then it was too late. It was inconceivable that they were not familiar with what turned out to be a huge concert in a main square and obviously a main happening that week. We also never received a wake up call which could have been disastrous had we not set another alarm on our phone.....just in case. The desk was also pretty useless with shopping recommendations - There was NO list of restaurants tho we got one from the concierge at a competing hotel across town!
The good news is the location and the upstairs pool - tho small for swimming - is delightful -
the food for breakfast and lunch was served beautifully. Very disappointed in the service at the hotel - but loved being in Cartagena nevertheless.

Room Tip: Try to get the deluxe rooms and GET IT CONFIRMED by the hotel as they do not accept the confirm from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPWNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Beautiful choice for a luxury hotel inside the walled city. Perfect location (Sofitel is similar but on opposite side), great service, beautiful rooms. The rooftop terrace is amazing, and we could always find a spot. Were not that impressed with the food (then again, you should probably never order pizza in south america). The bed was super comfy, much better than anything else we'd experienced in Cartagena. Also really enjoyed having a balcony off our room (even with the standard room).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#6 of 153 in Cartagena
1,829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 153 in Cartagena
920 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 153 in Cartagena
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 153 in Cartagena
392 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 153 in Cartagena
416 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#32 of 153 in Cartagena
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa

Property: Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa
Address: Carrera 3 # 31-23 | Centro Plaza de Santa Teresa, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#8 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa is located whithin Cartagena's walled city, a UNESCO World Heritage site. With a privileged location that is blocks away from the Cartagena Convention Center and just minutes away from the contemporary city, the history, flavor and mystique of Cartagena are all found here, at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Hotel Cartagena
Hotel Santa Teresa Cartagena
Santa Teresa Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing