We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, perfect location, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa
Ranked #20 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent service, perfect location, nice rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

very nice classy and colonial hotel (former convent), the breakfasts are really amazing, the patio stunning, flowers everywhere, excellent service, the rooms are nice unpretentious and very functional. The pool is very decent (even if it's just a roof deck pool, you can really swim) with nice views. A nice place to relax and have lunch. I am usually really picky but I have to admit that this was a very nice stay at a decent price for this type of luxury hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picalexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    128
    42
    21
    16
See reviews for
92
220
29
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This beautiful colonial hotel (former prison and convent) is located at one of the main entrances to the old city of Cartagena - Colombia. This is a 5 star hotel, always aiming to please you. I've travelled the Caribbean (Puerto Rico, Cuba and Dominican Republic) and have not seen such a majestic and intact piece of history going live before your eyes! The entire "old" or "walled city" evokes a magical and vibrant history that you will live and experience with every step you walk. Fine restaurants, friendly people and the Caribbean weather await you!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RXPULIDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
267 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Service is excellent, very friendly staff. Their rooms are very comfortable, air condinioning is perfect, good comfortable beds with nice pillows, nice strong showers: Breakfast is wonderful with lots of fruits amazing, highly recommended

Room Tip: I recommend the 4th floor with Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugoD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed one night in this colonial, colorful and magnificent hotel. The room was perfect and service exceeded my expectations. The breakfast was delicious and very well assorted with lots of ingredients (the best in my life in a hotel; until now ). It is quite pricy but if you have the option or the oportunity to pay for it; do not hesitate. The spa offers good prices compared to other hotels of the same standing in the city. I did a 50 min massage and it was great...!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripadder82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is located as you enter the great walls that surround the city. It has great views of the ocean and walking distance to the whole city! When in Cartagena you walk everywhere, because this city is spectacular! the staff was always very friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and very clean! Great pool that overlooks the whole city! The spa was also very nice!

Room Tip: I had a courtyard view and I found it very quiet! The room i had was very big and very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isajb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is very well located, walking distance from the plazas and good restaurants.
The pool is very inviting, and the service from te hotel personel was excellent.
Good room service and the people at the entrance were always very friendly and willing to guide us when we had questions about other locations.
Very friendly staff and beautiful hotel.

Best thing: the roof...gorgeous views of the city and the pool.....divine!

Room Tip: Junior suite was just perfect for two...big bathroom with tub, very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is beautiful. The pool view is extraordinary. The pool is great. The rooms lovely. The hotel is truly stunning both inside and out. The common areas are breathtaking. However, the service is not beautiful, lovely, or stunning.

To stay there you are paying luxury prices. With these prices, I don't want to chase after good service, like a spurned lover. I spent at least 15 minutes a day cajoling, reminding, and asking for things to get done (cleaning the room, figuring out bottled water prices, making sure that we had the right room that we booked etc etc).

I asked to speak to the manager three times during our three day stay. It seems that he/she was always in meetings. I finally gave up the chase for the elusive manager.

In short beautiful hotel, with lots of promise, but inattentive service. If patience is not your strong suit, the hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCMomInChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa

Property: Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa
Address: Carrera 3 # 31-23 | Centro Plaza de Santa Teresa, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#8 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa is located whithin Cartagena's walled city, a UNESCO World Heritage site. With a privileged location that is blocks away from the Cartagena Convention Center and just minutes away from the contemporary city, the history, flavor and mystique of Cartagena are all found here, at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Hotel Cartagena
Hotel Santa Teresa Cartagena
Santa Teresa Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing