We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Probably the best hotel in Cartagena in the 80s” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cartagena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Cartagena
Ranked #28 of 143 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel in Cartagena in the 80s”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a great property; excellent location in the Bocagrande district of Cartagena and about a 10-minute taxi ride to the walled old city. On the beach with the best amenities... pools, spa, family-friendly--all you'd want. Food is pretty good onsite. Because its a bit dated (though they are completely refurbishing the reception area and lobby right now (July 2014), you are likely to find this good value for money if you're ok to put up with a few rough edges and very slight tattiness. Furnishings are quite new--this has been refurbished probably not too long ago. Ask for a corner room and you'll get a great huge balcony. Avoid the "lake view" rooms if you can. The multi-coloured very bright spotlights they use to illuminate the building at night can be annoying because no matter how you adjust the window blinds, some green or blue light peeks in. But otherwise its a Hilton so things are predictable. Comfortable rooms, beds, pillows, good amenities and decent service. At USD 220 a night with breakfast (and its a great spread), it is decent value for what is a generally pricey city.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room with the big balcony and avoid the "lake view" rooms unless it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eponymousym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    572
    205
    67
    35
See reviews for
440
401
89
407
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

As long as you don't mind paying cheap cab fares, this is a nice place to stay outside the Old City.

The breakfast buffet is great, the business center is convenient, and the rooms are comfortable.

The only thing to note is that the pool is popular, especially with families. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic hotel with a peaceful poolside experience, this might not be the place for you. If you have kids, it probably is.

My only disclaimer is that I'm usually a budget traveler, so my standards might be off. It seemed nice and clean to me!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mram28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A typical Hilton resort with not many other hotel choices in the surrounding area. The staff was very courteous and helpful, especially the executive lounge personnel and the majority of the front desk staff. The food was good in the restaurant but a bit pricey, as well as the laundry services. The pool was great and the security was top notch. I would like to say that Elvis in the executive lounge is the finest bartender around! And Lea at the front desk is the nicest Hilton employee I have ever met! Stay off the beach if you don't want to be hassled by the locals, and the spa caught fire during my stay. Other than that I would definitely go back for a vacation instead of the business trip I am reviewing now.

Room Tip: You will have to request ocean view or they will automatically put you on the city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Mr. Harrison

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Cartagena and highlighting the kindness of our team members as well as our pool complex. I will personally share your comments with Elvis and Lia, they will be glad to know you enjoyed their hospitality. Your feedback is important to us. We look forward to welcoming you back during your vacations trip to our lovely city.

Cordially,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
329 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

At the end of the road stands hilton Cartagena. Signs of decay are everywhere. In need of a major makeover. Executive rooms on 3 located above the party areas where noisy fetes continue past five am. Avoid that floor at all costs as the staff area little about you. In a town with so many great hotels why stay here? Read my other hotel reviews. I am an easy grader so my 3 is pretty bad for a hotel

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank fracmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is really important to us and we thank you for sharing your experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again if you return to the area.

Cordially,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SP
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This Hilton could probably be helped by a facelift. Everything is functional, practical, and the layout of the multiple pools is great with kids. It's private beach is small and has very dark sand... It is far from the old city, but taxis are very cheap in Cartagena. The staff is incredibly friendly. We felt very safe as the hotel records the taxi information and room number of all guests as you leave. Just a little extra safe feeling in what is a very safe part of Colombia.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samwSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, Director General at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Cartagena. We are happy to know you enjoyed the warmth of our team members as well as our pool complex. Your feedback is very important to us, thank you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Cordially,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Beautiful sunsets on the beach. Never felt unsafe in the hotel area. Great walks around the hotel. Easy to get a taxi - don't rent a car because they drive crazy. English speaking staff was helpful. I have read some of the reviews about the pool area not being clean. When I was there the pool was clean and i am very fussy about a pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary24Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, Director General at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Mrs. Mary,

Thanks for choosing the Hilton Cartagena for your recent stay in our beautiful city! We are glad to know you enjoyed the helpfulness of our team members, strategic location and pool complex. Thanks for visiting Cartagena de Indias, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel was beautiful, clean, quiet and the breakfast was amazing! The view was beautiful and the room was immaculate! The staff spoke English which was great for me. The location is in a quiet dead end part of the city. The swimming pool was really nice and the beach was beautiful!! Had a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank CASAlexandria_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your perfect rating on TripAdvisor, Thank you! It is a pleasure to know that you experienced a great stay at the Hilton Cartagena and enjoyed our team members hospitality, hotel facilities and strategic location. We look forward to welcoming you back in our beautiful city.

Cordially,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#20 of 143 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#17 of 143 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
6.2 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#24 of 143 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#6 of 143 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#30 of 143 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cartagena

Property: Hilton Cartagena
Address: Avenida Almirante Brion | El Laguito, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#9 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#10 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#10 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Cartagena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appreciate Caribbean costal living at the Hilton Cartagena Hotel. All 341 guest rooms and suites face the ocean at this Colombia beachfront hotel. Stay in the Executive Tower and enjoy Executive Lounge access, located on the tenth floor, boasting panoramic views of the city. Sip an ice-cold beer or tropical juice from the Pool Bar, located in the middle of the hotel's three pools. Indulge in fried fish with coconut rice and plantain at the Cartagena beachside restaurant, Tibabuyes Kiosk. Enjoy a wood-baked pizza overlooking the pools at Pizza Al Forno. Watch the sunset while enjoying gourmet cuisine at Las Chivas Restaurant. Finish each night with evening cocktails in the relaxing atmosphere of El Cangrejo bar offering nightly entertainment. This Cartagena, Colombia hotel provides a variety of fitness options and family activities. Work out at the fitness center and swim lengths in the outdoor pools. Indulge in a massage or unwind in the sauna at the Well Being Center. Watch the children have fun at the colorful playground and the toboggan swimming pool. Challenge friends to a game of tennis on the courts. Host a business meeting, function or wedding overlooking the ocean at Hilton Cartagena. Select from 26,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor event space. The hotel features a business center with wireless internet available in all meeting rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cartagena Hotel Cartagena
Hilton Hotel Cartagena
Cartagena Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing