We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our trip to Cartagena”
Review of Hilton Cartagena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cartagena
Ranked #29 of 156 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a well-located hotel with easy and inexpensive access by taxi to the Old City. The pools are wonderful. The rest of the property seemed a little "tired" and in need of upgrading but the lobby, restaurant and rooms were very clean and the staff courteous and helpful. The room rates were very affrdable. Overall, staying at this Hilton was a positive experience and my wife and I would go back

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Mr. James.

Thank you so much for choosing the Hilton for your recent stay in our lovely city. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the hospitality and helpfulness of our team members as well as our pool complex, we appreciate your feedback! We would be so happy to welcoming you back to Cartagena de Indias.

Cordially,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 2,282 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

On the good side: A big hotel where, despite being there at new year's eve, everything worked reasonably. The private beach is an advantage, although the black sand and muddy water removes some of the enchantment.
On the down side: The rooms are bit worn out; bathrooms are very small and were not very clean (hairs in the shower and some strange spots on the door); the private beach does not compensate the distant location; bad sound insulation between rooms; average service level; absurd price (it was peak season, but it was still absurd).
In the overall, it is a good hotel, but not an extraordinary hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expecttobewondered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Hilton during your stay in Cartagena de Indias and taking the time to share your experience in our property. Your feedback is very valuable for us, we will take immediate actions in order to provide you an excellent experience in your future visits. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

If you want the Cartagena experience then you should not stay here. Although accessible by taxi to downtown Cartagena, it is a little out of the way. As far as the beach goes, it is not great either. To find beautiful beaches in Cartagena you have to go further away.
The hotel itself has very spacious rooms. I booked a room looking towards the sea and over the pool rather than at the city. I was glad I did because all you see in city view rooms are a little bit if the sea and high rises that stand between the Hilton and the old city.
I only ate breakfasts at the Hilton (included in my rate) and they were below average in choice and quality. Fruit was particularly tasteless! I think next time I'll stay in the old city

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZyMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest.

We appreciate your comments about your recent stay at our property. We will take the required actions to provide the best experience to all our guests, thank you for the feedback! We would like to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Cordially,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

good hotel in general ,rooms clean and good size,service ok ,except for security at entrance. city is good for beach and food ,take boat to playa blanca but dont waste your tine at the aquarium,tell them just go to beach. if you like to dance go to tu candela next to hard rock cafe,do not go to mr babilla to expensive and overrated

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank millijos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest.

Your feedback is very important for us. Thank you! It is great to know that you enjoyed our guest rooms and facilities. We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced on the lobby entrance; we will take the necessary actions immediately. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you on your next visit to our city.

Sincerely,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile


Arrived New Year's Day from Hilton Bentley Miami stayed on room 8th floor
1. Rooms
Rooms are adequate however needs attention to detail. For example no breakfast or do not disturb signs. Few broken things in room. Adequate
2. Service
Staff are polite. However.
Firstly the staff need to serve one customer at a time. Numerous times someone else would ask a question and the staff then go and deal with them whilst I wait. This happened reception bar everywhere.
Secondly. Poolside side waited 45 mins for lunch after ordering. Poor.
3. Executive lounge
No international dial in available. Average lounge
4. Beach
The incessant hassle from sellers at the beach meant you could not relax and staff did nothing to fend them off. In the end gave up and moved to the poolside.
5. Poolside
It is rather annoying that people put towels on sun loungers and then hardly use them to detriment of people want a spot in shade. The hotel needs to address this.
Also when we ordered food after waiting 45 minutes we were provided with a filthy mini table to put the food on
6. Taxis
The taxi gauntlet is a nightmare. You would expect the hilton to do a deal with taxi company to have a taxis available. 30 minutes wait for taxi in evening. Unacceptable.
6. Breakfast
Only wanted a coffee. In the end charged for full breakfast. Nowhere just buy a coffee in morning.

Overall very let by this Hilton. Think stay elsewhere next time

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank AUSTLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guest.

We appreciate your comments about your recent stay at our property. Your feedback is very valuable for us and will take required actions immediately to offer the best experience to every guest. We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Cartagena de Indias. Thanks!

Cordially,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Really nice pool area. That and its bar outside were probably my favorite things about the hotel. Hotel is on the beach though the beach wasn't all that pretty, maybe it's typical of the Cartagena area. Location-wise I think I would have preferred to be nearer to old town with more stuff to walk to for restaurants etc. I must have gotten an older room because though it was decent size and comfortable enough, it seemed dated (comparing other reviews). Overall I had a good experience and would recommend it.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank bz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at our property. Your feedback is very much appreciated. It is very pleasant to know that you had a good experience and specially enjoyed our pool complex and outside bar.

Sincerely,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights at Christmas time. It was very adequate. The pool area was nice. The rooms were okay. The free breakfast was good. I was very disappointed, however, when I arrived to learn there was no concierge at the hotel to help us. They referred us to a travel agency, which did have tours available, but not the place to ask questions about how to catch a taxi, a bus, recommended restaurants, etc. which is what we expect of a concierge service in a good hotel in a foreign country. The hotel was adequate for what we paid, but I would say nothing special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BJ1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guest.

We really appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our property. We are very sorry about the inconvenience you experienced with the information on the city; we will take immediate actions. Our commitment is to offer the best service and information for an unforgettable experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on you next visit to Cartagena de Indias! Thanks!

Cordially,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#20 of 156 in Cartagena
1,065 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 156 in Cartagena
712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#34 of 156 in Cartagena
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#35 of 156 in Cartagena
1,596 reviews
6.2 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
5.7 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cartagena

Address: Avenida Almirante Brion | El Laguito, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#9 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#10 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $125 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Cartagena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appreciate Caribbean costal living at the Hilton Cartagena Hotel. All 341 guest rooms and suites face the ocean at this Colombia beachfront hotel. Stay in the Executive Tower and enjoy Executive Lounge access, located on the tenth floor, boasting panoramic views of the city. Sip an ice-cold beer or tropical juice from the Pool Bar, located in the middle of the hotel's three pools. Indulge in fried fish with coconut rice and plantain at the Cartagena beachside restaurant, Tibabuyes Kiosk. Enjoy a wood-baked pizza overlooking the pools at Pizza Al Forno. Watch the sunset while enjoying gourmet cuisine at Las Chivas Restaurant. Finish each night with evening cocktails in the relaxing atmosphere of El Cangrejo bar offering nightly entertainment. This Cartagena, Colombia hotel provides a variety of fitness options and family activities. Work out at the fitness center and swim lengths in the outdoor pools. Indulge in a massage or unwind in the sauna at the Well Being Center. Watch the children have fun at the colorful playground and the toboggan swimming pool. Challenge friends to a game of tennis on the courts. Host a business meeting, function or wedding overlooking the ocean at Hilton Cartagena. Select from 26,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor event space. The hotel features a business center with wireless internet available in all meeting rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cartagena Hotel Cartagena
Hilton Hotel Cartagena
Cartagena Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing