We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property”
Review of Hilton Cartagena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Cartagena
Ranked #33 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I recently stayed here for a night, but alas I had to check in late even though I had arrived early, not due to hotel's fault but because the road leading to the hotel was closed for the Parade.

When I arrived, the lobby area was crowded with a loud band playing, this was just after the roads were reopened. Was upgraded and sent up to the executive lounge to check in. The hotel is totally not smoking. As it was dark, I could not see much out of the windows in the room, but at sunrise, I had a magnificent view of the sea and sun rise....

Room was fairly large and fittings are modern and works well.... overall hotel is very decent....

since it was the carnival, the price for the night was quite high, if I had check in the previous night, price will be half.

for the club lounge, the service staff will take note of what you had consume and you have to sign for it to but it free, accordingly, it for accounting purposes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapitanE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest.

We really appreciate your valuable feedback. It is a pleasure to know that our guest rooms and facilities met your expectations. Thanks for choosing our property for your recent stay.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Cordially,

Vinod Agarwal
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    736
    277
    87
    51
See reviews for
631
545
124
506
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

A Hilton is always a Hilton. Good rooms, pool, service. The hotel was full due to an event, difficulties to get the service I like. Good restaurants around, Cidade murada is just 10 min by taxi. Ask for suggestions to the concierge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Andre

Thank you for sharing you experience at our property. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities. Thanks for choosing the Hilton Cartagena.
We would be very happy to welcoming you again in your future visits to our lovely city.

Sincerely,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Using Hilton Honors points, we booked two rooms for 8 days at the Hilton Cartagena for my wife and I and two 20 year old girls. We had an awesome time.

Upon check in, we were sent to the 10th floor's executive lounge to check in since I am a Hilton Honors member. Check in was very smooth and the young lady who helped us spoke very good English. Fortunately, my wife is Colombian and could help out. Our rooms were city view rooms but still provided an excellent view of the city and of the ocean. Traveling as much as I do, I was very pleased with the rooms. They were very spacious, well decorated and very comfortable. The bed had to be almost new as it was so comfortable. The bathroom was large with both a large tub and shower. There was also plenty of space to unpack. The room was spotlessly clean. The maid in the morning did a fantastic job (left a tip each day) and the room was serviced in the evening while we were out with fresh towels. They even folded clothes for us and put them at the foot of the bed.

The property is very beautiful. We spent most of our time at one of the three pools. The main pool had a swim up bar with very friendly service. The girl handing out the towels did her best to teach me Spanish each day. For the most part, we had lunch at the pool and found the food to be acceptable if not a little pricy. The beach is OK but not a fine sand beach as other places we have been. The vendors did not harass us too bad. We walked along the beach most days and always felt safe.

Food was good with breakfast being the best. One day we had the lunch buffet which was good but was too expensive for what we had. We had one dinner at the hotel in our 8 days and had pizza which was very good. They have a wood fire oven that did an excellent job. Each night we had a snack and either wine or beer in the executive lounge with excellent service. I wish I could remember the name of the man that worked in the evening. He did an excellent job taking care of us. Taxi service to the city was generally $7000 COP, around $3.50 US, and as others have noted, the guards make sure that we pay an acceptable fare into and back from the city.

Everyone that works at this hotel is friendly and goes out of their way to be helpful. We always felt safe and welcome. Most spoke passing English but having Spanish speakers with me helped immensely. The management and staff should be commended for a wonderful hotel, 5 star service, and probably the best employees from check in to check out that I have ever experienced in all my travels. My family and I had a great vacation and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Is it a true 5 star like a Waldorf? No, but you would have to work pretty hard to find anything to complain about at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest

It was a real pleasure to read your comments, which inspire us to continue offering the best service every day. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience in our property . We are happy to know you and your family had a great vacation.

We look forward to welcome you on your next visit to our beautiful city.

Cordially,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for here. In a hotel, the three major needs are, location, location and location. This place has it, it's on the end of the peninsular of the Boca Grande strip. Even the beach vendors know not to "molestar" too much if you head out for a beach walk. It's an interesting location to look at the local fishermen, water taxis heading in and out of the Boca. We stayed on HHonors points and had a premier room. This is a good place to burn points. The room and patio were spectacular.
The breakfast is really quite good, 1/3 the price of the Hilton Lagoons at
Miami airport, with way better food and service, so overpriced is all relative. We actually had one of the better ceviches if our trip, served pool side with nice cold drinks. It was probably only a few dollars more than we would have paid in the old town, but try getting 4 great pools and waiter service there!!
If we come back to Cartagena, I know where we will stay.
Oh, the rest of the house were very nice to us,always pleasant greeting and very helpfull

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MiguelitoyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you very much for sharing your experience at our property! It is really pleasant to know that our location, facilities and food and beverage menu, allowed you to have a nice stay with us. We really appreciate your valuable comment and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Cartagena de Indias.

Cordially,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling Canuck/Yank
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a top-notch experience. The hotel is lovely... modern without being cold. The well-trained staff is so welcoming and considerate of our every possible need. Views back over the city were dazzling. We spent half a week here at the tail end of a trip, and were so impressed.
Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank svbreila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest.

We really appreciate your kind comments. Thank you! It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the hospitality of our team members and facilities. Thank you so much for choosing Hilton Cartagena during your visit to our beautiful city.

Sincerely,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We came to the Hilton for a friend's wedding and were overall impressed. Of course you have the usual overpriced food and services you will find at any hotel. Front desk staff always greeted with a smile, security is present in the lobby and even helps to advise of taxi fares. We avoided the beach as we heard of the non stop attack of street vendors but the pools are so great we weren't missing anything. Our room was nice, clean, and the air conditioner worked perfectly. The hotel is at the far end of Cartagena but taxis are cheap ($3 us to the old city), quick, and plentiful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share you experience at our property. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed our facilities, service and the hospitality of our team. We look forward to welcome you on your next visit to Cartagena de Indias.

We would be very happy to welcoming you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed during the 2nd weekend in November and this is THE hotel to be at for the festivities. The hotel is in excellent condition and has very helpful staff- you get what you pay for and this Hilton delivered!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Brad

We really appreciate your kind comment, thank you for sharing your experience at Hilton Cartagena during the Miss Colombia beauty pageant. It is very good to know that the helpfulness of our team members and our property conditions met your expectations.

Please, let us know about your future visits to our lovely city

Sincerely,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#16 of 155 in Cartagena
978 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 155 in Cartagena
691 reviews
6.2 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#31 of 155 in Cartagena
1,424 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
#7 of 155 in Cartagena
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#34 of 155 in Cartagena
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cartagena

Property: Hilton Cartagena
Address: Avenida Almirante Brion | El Laguito, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#10 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Cartagena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appreciate Caribbean costal living at the Hilton Cartagena Hotel. All 341 guest rooms and suites face the ocean at this Colombia beachfront hotel. Stay in the Executive Tower and enjoy Executive Lounge access, located on the tenth floor, boasting panoramic views of the city. Sip an ice-cold beer or tropical juice from the Pool Bar, located in the middle of the hotel's three pools. Indulge in fried fish with coconut rice and plantain at the Cartagena beachside restaurant, Tibabuyes Kiosk. Enjoy a wood-baked pizza overlooking the pools at Pizza Al Forno. Watch the sunset while enjoying gourmet cuisine at Las Chivas Restaurant. Finish each night with evening cocktails in the relaxing atmosphere of El Cangrejo bar offering nightly entertainment. This Cartagena, Colombia hotel provides a variety of fitness options and family activities. Work out at the fitness center and swim lengths in the outdoor pools. Indulge in a massage or unwind in the sauna at the Well Being Center. Watch the children have fun at the colorful playground and the toboggan swimming pool. Challenge friends to a game of tennis on the courts. Host a business meeting, function or wedding overlooking the ocean at Hilton Cartagena. Select from 26,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor event space. The hotel features a business center with wireless internet available in all meeting rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cartagena Hotel Cartagena
Hilton Hotel Cartagena
Cartagena Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing