We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service”
Review of Hilton Cartagena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Cartagena
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My family (kids 5 & 2) and I stayed 4 nights and would definitly stay again and recommend. The service is amazing. All were so sweet and accomodating at all times and we made sure to tip them well. The rooms are nicely updated and views are lovely. Only downside of rooms are that the beds are uncomfortable and no hair dryer in the bathroom. The pools are fabulous and very clean. There is a nice stretch of beach but its not anything like the beaches you could have if you take a boat tour to one of the islands. Food was great and lots of variety. I do recommend using the travel agency there for tours as they are very friendly and professional. We had the club level because of the rewards program but if you don't have ask how much to upgrade as it is well worth it for the nice lounge and amenities plus there. The location was fine and a cheap taxi ride to the Old City and Airport.

Room Tip: Ask how much for an upgrade to Club level if you don't have the rewards program. Also ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trixie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Trixie K,

I would like to thank you for this message and for recommending us.

It is very nice to hear that you had a good time during your last stay in our property, we have taken special note of your comment about the hair dryer in the room, I informed this situation to our housekeeping department in order to verify this.

Please be sure that we are working constantly to improve and your feed back is very helpful, we really appreciate it.

Thanks again and I am looking forward having you again at Hilton Cartagena anytime soon.


Best regards,


Vinod Agarwal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 2,413 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I am on the higher scale of the rewards program so we were upgraded. The lounge is your typical. The executive rooms on the 8th floor could use some updates.

However by far the best part of this hotel is the service and pool area. The service in the lounge was great. One guy in the lounge was amazing and very nice to our kids. The lady at the pool where you get the towels was a sweet young lady who always had a smile on her face. The pool was very good, nice and clean. It had several different types.

They did have a kids playground but it was being remodeled. They did have a beach but it was just better to stay by the pool since that is all kids wanted to do.

I would recommend this hotel. Only catch is that it is slightly off main areas (can be good and bad for walking).

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlutoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear BlutoDave,

Thanks a lot for this positive comment about our services and staff, it is very nice to know that you are part of our selected group of Hilton Honors.

I am glad you got to enjoyed our pool area and the service at the lounge.

I will personally share this message with our team members, they will be pleased to receive you again anytime soon here in your home in Cartagena de Indias.

Please let us know about your next visit!


Best regards,


Vinod Agarwal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is clean and modern. They are renovating all the rooms and even the basic rooms are very nice. I am a Hilton Diamond so we were upgraded to a suite and given access to the executive lounge. My husband very much enjoyed the lounge and the service there. Our room was large, modern and clean. They have a grand pool area with multiple pools with varying depths. The pool area was clean, quiet and organized and the staff very attentive. The pool has a private beach, but the local Hawkers are ever present ( selling massages, boat rides and trinkets). They are a nuscence and kept us from beach front.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CaliGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Caligringa,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff and services.

We are happy to know that you had a nice stay and enjoyed our comfortable rooms, the pool area and the services at the Executive Lounge.

Please let us know about your next visit, we will welcome you back with open arms!


Best regards,


Vinod Agarwal
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a great city and hotel. The Hilton has all the appointments necessary to make it a 3 or perhaps a 4 star hotel. It needs another mirror in the room. The service at the bar was great. They knew how to make a "dirty Martini" AND the prices seemed reasonable. The ocean front rooms have a GREAT view of the harbor and the ocean. Ask for a room high up for a better view. There was live music in the bar (a little loud) and the food was excellent. Go for it. I was there for business so I did not get to play much. Maybe next time (if I am lucky) it will be for vacation.

Room Tip: go up young man, go up....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjnicols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Hjnicols,

Thank you very much for your kind message, it is nice to know that we acomplished our goal and you enjoyed your stay.

We are glad that you enjoyed our food at Las Chivas Restaurant, the cocktails at the Bar Cangrejo, the renovated rooms with panoramic view and the service offered by our team members, I will personally share your comments with them, they will be excited to receive them.

For your next visit I invite you to try our Pizza al forno, this is a delicious home made pizza and I am sure you will love it!

Looking forward having you back anytime soon at Hilton Cartagena.


Sincerely,

Vinod Agarwal



General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I came to this hotel some years ago, and the hotel did not look very nice. I am very impress to see all the new rooms, the changes they made in the lobby and the pool area.

The hotel looks very, very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OctavioAguilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Afanoso,

Thanks a lot for this message, it is very nice for us to know that you had a pleasant surprise with the renovation of our rooms, lobby and the pool area.

We are continuosly working to provide the best for our guest in all occasions, as our major goal is to exceed your expectations.

We will be happy if you give us the opportunity to receive you again at your home in Cartagena de Indias.


Best regards,


Vinod Agarwal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I had a lovely time at the hotel. The rooms have been updated and everything inside them (bed, bathroom, tv, etc.) is excellent.
Service is very good, people are nice and have a good attitude.
The pool is beautiful and clean and it has the beach right near by.
The only bad and really bad thing is the food, I had not returned to this hotel in about 15 years and the food has always tasted the same. It is a shame because it is the one of the best hotels, if not the best, in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nykogut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Nycogut,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff and services.

It is really nice to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and areas, we have been working every day to make them more comfortable specially for you.

I will personally share your message with our team members, they will be so delighted to receive these words.

We have taken notes about your comment for the food, for us this is very important as this is key to support us in our process of getting better.

Thank you again and we look forward having you with us in the near future.


Sincerely,


Vinod Agarwal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this Hotel the staff was great from the front desk to the maid service. We had a corner ocean view suite it was beautiful. We stayed here for our Anniversery and we could not have asked for better, The Restaurents and pool side bar was wonderful. This hotel was very clean and the pool sparkled. Cartagena is very beautiful. We rented a cab for two days Gilberto Polo It can be contacted through the Hotel door man.

He spoke english and knew Cartagena very well we had great days with him. He took us places we would not have seen on our own he was about 60.00 a day we had him from 10AM until about 4pm but he will work with you/ on time.

Room Tip: Corner suite had a beautiful balconie. Very large room . There club room is also great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phyllis2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Phyllis 2468,

Greetings from Hilton Cartagena,

Thank you for sharing the experience from your recent visit to Hilton Cartagena. we are constantly monitoring our performance and measuring our service and quality standards. The time taken along with the effort made to share your comments with us is most appreciated.

I’m glad to know you enjoyed our service and I hope you had a great time celebrating your anniversary, Our corner ocean view rooms was just perfect for the occasion, very beautiful and romantic. Please know i will extend your appreciation to Gilberto Polo who will be very happy to hear from you.

Mr. Phyllis, we value you as our loyal guest and look forward to serving your lodging needs again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#18 of 159 in Cartagena
1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#36 of 159 in Cartagena
1,590 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#33 of 159 in Cartagena
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#39 of 159 in Cartagena
1,687 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
#6 of 159 in Cartagena
661 reviews
6.2 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cartagena

Address: Avenida Almirante Brion | El Laguito, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#9 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#10 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $118 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Cartagena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appreciate Caribbean costal living at the Hilton Cartagena Hotel. All 341 guest rooms and suites face the ocean at this Colombia beachfront hotel. Stay in the Executive Tower and enjoy Executive Lounge access, located on the tenth floor, boasting panoramic views of the city. Sip an ice-cold beer or tropical juice from the Pool Bar, located in the middle of the hotel's three pools. Indulge in fried fish with coconut rice and plantain at the Cartagena beachside restaurant, Tibabuyes Kiosk. Enjoy a wood-baked pizza overlooking the pools at Pizza Al Forno. Watch the sunset while enjoying gourmet cuisine at Las Chivas Restaurant. Finish each night with evening cocktails in the relaxing atmosphere of El Cangrejo bar offering nightly entertainment. This Cartagena, Colombia hotel provides a variety of fitness options and family activities. Work out at the fitness center and swim lengths in the outdoor pools. Indulge in a massage or unwind in the sauna at the Well Being Center. Watch the children have fun at the colorful playground and the toboggan swimming pool. Challenge friends to a game of tennis on the courts. Host a business meeting, function or wedding overlooking the ocean at Hilton Cartagena. Select from 26,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor event space. The hotel features a business center with wireless internet available in all meeting rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cartagena Hotel Cartagena
Hilton Hotel Cartagena
Cartagena Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing