We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel ... would have expecter nicer rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #7 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed at the Santa Clara 3 nights. The hotel is great in terms of design and architecture. Services and amenities are also a plus with one of the (probably) best pools in the Old City of Cartagena. One of the best points of my stay was breakfast, really exceeding my expectations. Not only the selection of pastries, breads, meats and fruits was excellent, but the fact that they offer different types of coffee (espresso, french press, etc.) was a nice surprise. On the other hand, I would have to say that rooms were a little disappointment from a design point of view, though the bed and bathroom amenities were very good. Service is also great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauricio76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Recepción at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Mauricio 7,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Legend Santa Clara. I am sorry for the inconvenience presented in the room; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Carolina Perea
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 1,989 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved the Santa Clara. Our room was basic, but very comfortable .... The rest of the hotel- the expansive garden, lounging areas and stunning pool were all spectacular. Service was excellent and the location was great too. The gardens at the hotel are a feast for the eyes.... lush and gorgeous with a Botero and the resident Toucan!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Spicegirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Recepción at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Spicegirl,

Agradecemos enormemente sus comentarios referentes a su estadía en el Sofitel Legend Santa Clara. Siempre es muy placentero recibir un feedback favorable.

En Sofitel trabajamos para poder brindar una experiencia de calidad superior a cada cliente. Por eso sus comentarios son muy importantes para nosotros. Con mucho gusto compartiré sus observaciones con nuestro equipo. Estoy convencida que ese feedback será una motivación para nuestro personal, en sus constantes esfuerzos para mejorar la calidad de nuestros servicios.

Una vez más, gracias por compartir su experiencia. Esperamos que su próxima visita sea tan placentera como ésta que acaba de realizar.

Cordialmente,
Carolina Perea
Jefe de Recepcion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Santa Clara is an exceptional setting and beautiful building. But, we got a dark small room, that was cleaned at best by 3pm. The prices were exorbitant for what you got ($5 for a tea, $23 for a small club sandwich) and service was extremely slow. There were so many staff but never the one you needed. I don't know what they all do. We will not return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank 877Christian69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Recepción at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Christian :
Thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us in our 17th century monument.
We regret to hear that room assigned to you did not meet your expectations.
Rooms are generally assigned according to the reservation details.
Classic rooms, which you had requested, are generally located on the lower level, with the views of lush tropical gardens and a roaring fountain.
We would be delighted to receive you in a Luxury room during your next visit, which are located on the higher floors with views of the pool and the sea.

Depending on our occupancy levels cleaning service is generally performed throughout the day in various hours.
It is to be noted that upon your request for service, your room was attended to in less than 10 minutes following the request.

At hotel Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, we strive to provide the highest quality of service and product served.
To do so, we welcome each and every comment and take measures to ensure experience we create for our guests is a memorable one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Carolina Perea G.
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Great location, great dining options, great pool, great spa! Slightly expensive for the city, but well worth the price. The service at the hotel was outstanding. My wife and I went for our honeymoon and had the time of our lives.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Recepción at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Randy S

It is a real pleasure for us to hear that you had a wonderful stay in Cartagena and in our 17th century monument. I will share your comments with all our team. I am sure that they will be happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Thank you very much for your feedback, your kind comments are highly motivating as it is our priority to exceed our customers’ expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in your next visit to Cartagena.

Sincerely,

Carolina Perea G
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara early this april. Beautiful place inside the walled city. Truly a Legend as the mix between old and new was fabulous. Old World charm and new world comfort. Especially mentionable was the great service provided us by the team of concierges who went way out of their way to make our stay in the city memorable. From organizing a seamless airport pickup to guiding us not only to the best, but the most cost-effective attractions in Cartagena. When at the Santa Clara look up Leslie at the Concierge desk. It will make a tremendous difference.

Room Tip: No need to look for rooms with a view as they (the views) are all fairly the same. Price difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank From_Rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear From_Rio,

We are very happy to read that your experience in the Sofitel Legend Santa Clara was very pleasant and we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in “La Heroica” Cartagena.
I will share your review with all our team, especially with Leslie. I am sure that she will be very pleased to know that she helped you to have a memorable experience between us.
I hope you come back soon to the sunny Cartagena and stay with us again. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

the hotel is very good
the staff is very cordial , and the rooms are clean and spacious
showers are very good
the only thing is the price , it is to high for what is offer, it is more than a 5 star hotel in USA

Room Tip: don't stay in the rooms at ground floor her the pool I was in one of it and they had a wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassioaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear cassioaf,

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
At Sofitel, our priority is the comfort and wellbeing of our guests and our staff works in order to create memorable experiences for everyone that comes to visit the Sofitel Legend Santa Clara.
Our historical monument is one of the most visited hotels in the city and we are very proud to show our colonial architecture and the history of our ancient convent.
We hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.
Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Cartagena is a special place, and the Sofitel Santa Clara is exceptional. The service is excellent, the convent setting magical and very atmospheric. Breakfast is sumptuous, and served in a light and spacious room or in the cloisters. The spa team are great too! and the swimming pool lovely. Rather over complicated menu in the formal restaurant which could be improved with better explanations of the intend and presentation of some dishes, but overall the food is good. Nothing too much trouble, and a delightful place to be when the heat of Cartagena over whelms one. And such a comfy Sofitel bed as well. What more could one want?

Room Tip: Feel sure that if you know what kind of room you prefer, then just ask in advance of your stay, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrissie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Chrissie F,

I t is a real pleasure to read your comments after your stay with us.
At Sofitel we strive to provide a superior service to every guests and this is why we keep working to improve our guests’ experiences.
I will share your impressions with our staff, especially with spa team and our executive chef. They will be very happy to consider your comments and take them as a motivation to develop our services.

We hope you give us the honor to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 159 in Cartagena
1,174 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 159 in Cartagena
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#3 of 159 in Cartagena
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
#6 of 159 in Cartagena
661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#2 of 159 in Cartagena
442 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#25 of 159 in Cartagena
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Green Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $282 - $880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing