We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #6 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,432
    257
    78
    32
    32
See reviews for
380
828
71
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our Stay at Sofitel Cartagena was magical. From the amazing service, to the charming room...to the food... it was an assault to our senses. Loved every minute of it and will come back! Everybody knew our names! The pool service is excellent. Would also recommend to don't forget the SPA...!!!

Room Tip: Request a room away from conferences or meeting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Laura B,

We really appreciate your nice comments about your stay at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, your feedback is very important to us. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful time with us in our 17th century monument.
I will share your comments with our team. Your kind comments are highly motivating as it is our priority to exceed our customers’ expectations and make our guests feel at home.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a place that is able to encompass: history yet currency; colonial yet contemporary ; spiritual yet exuberant.
And much of this great experience is due to the beauty of Cartagena itself that needs no embellishment and the legendary monastery of Santa Clara which Sofitel has transformed into a real gem.
Although there is a lot of competition in Cartagena, hotel speaking, I still have chosen SantaClara every year for my two week family vacation for one reason above all: The Santa Clara people!


This is my honest review for this years stay :

-Management: General manager/ Hotel manager:

Over the top. Professional, yet very accessible. Always around making sure all is good and going out of their way to please ALL guests.It was a pleasure speaking to David Kianni.

- Welcoming:

Friendly and detail oriented welcoming. Our room had all kinds of personal touches.

Pool:
-Pool as always the best gem of Cartagena. The service is impeccable: Oscar,Jimmy, Domingo, Claudia, Luis. ALways friendly and with a smile. Food: good yet a bit overpriced for what it is.
- Best New Service: Pool Safeguards :Saith and RAfael are professional and genuinely caring.
They never took their eyes off our children.

-Room:
A bit disappointed.MAybe because in the past we've had a great experience...
I was confirmed through the Sofitel headquarters a spacious suite on the fifth floor five months before arrival. Arrival day: I was given some other room, not comparable to what I asked for. It was small, dated and dark BUT the worse part were the two set of floating stairs with almost invisible railing overlooking nothing but marble. This room with such stairs is obviously not kid friendly (nor adult friendly) and we have kids. Unfortunately one night, one of our kids fell down the stairs….
The design by the fantastic architect Marcela Villegas could be great but what about putting some real handrails or closing it with glass, so the original design is maintained? And most important, the guest reservation should be reviewed and their needs taken in consideration.

One week later we were moved to the room we originally asked for: c-54. Our stay became better, or just became what we have always experienced and paid for.

Transportation: Was very punctual arriving and leaving. Very professional and with a nice welcoming touch.

Lobby:
Personnel in reception and at entrance always helpful, friendly, professional. Marco Antonio willing to help in any possible way.The concierge was also professional and helped us with restaurant reservations.

Babysitting:
We used the hotel services and were Great. Gloria was fantastic, very caring and best of all , speaks beautiful english. We never leave our kids with anybody, but somehow we tried it and were happy.
SPA:
Fantastic. We had three 90 min. massages and they were fantastic. The Sisley products are unbeatable and speak a lot about its quality.

931 BAR:
Great atmosphere, great drinks, funky yet stylish and best of all a touch of the monastic history lies underneath as you go down the small stairs….HAve some drinks and go see it...


So in conclusion I give you the following tips when you go: Stay as much of your time in the pool because its one of the best in Cartagena, have one drink in the lobby before you go out, taxis cost 6,000 pesos-3 dollars (min fare), enjoy the friendliness of the staff because its real, Be careful with the stairs in the rooms, The suites on the fifth floor are fantastic and good for kids, watch the sunset at the top of the pool in the jacuzzi area, get a Sisley massage, get the hotel's historic tour, have "MAteo" come to your table during breakfast;If you need transportation for long distances do your research first price wise and have them give you a receipt don't be fooled by the "SEM"(según el marrano) old trick…; Tip, Tip, Tip…BUT keep in mind the minimum wage in Colombia is 616.027 pesos and unemployment is close to 11%; Go on a carriage ride of the old and new city but negotiate the price before getting in, always ask for discount….; And last but not least: Relax, relax, relax and let the legend take over and inspire you…….
A presto!



-

Room Tip: Suites on the 5th floor are the best. Be very careful though with some of the suites with stairs sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Isabella C,

We appreciate you took the time to share your experience in our hotel. It is a real pleasure for us to hear that you had a wonderful stay in Cartagena and in the Sofitel Legend Santa Clara.

I will share your comments with our team, especially with Oscar, Jimmy, Domingo, Claudia, Luis Saith, Rafael, Marco Antonio, Gloria and Mr. Kianni. I am sure that they will be very happy to know that they helped you to have a memorable experience with us. I am also sure that your comments will be a motivation for us all as we always work to make our guests feel special and at home. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to avoid the inconvenience you had with your room reservation to occur again in the future.

Thank you very much for your feedback; it will be always a pleasure to welcome you and your family every year.

Sincerely,


Andrea Gonzalez M.
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have stayed at the Santa Clara several times and what brings us back is the charm of this spectacular property. There is something special about the old city as you walk around its colorful streets that are filled with the smells of delicious street food, music, and tremendous feeling. We have young children and spend much of our time at the pool. The service is second to none as Yimmy, Domingo, Oscar, Luis/Luis, Claudia and others make my family's stay memorable. Especially this year, with addition of Rafeal and Saith (the pool lifeguards). They were beyond attentive with my children and made them feel safe at all times. The hotel manager David Kianni was constantly making sure we were "okay" and he does it with the utmost sincerity. We stay at the hotel longer than most (15 days) and we were assured (verbally and written) a specific type of room 4+ months in advance. The only con during our stay was that we were disappointed that the room was given to someone else upon arrival. We were in a room not conducive for children and didn't have enough space for us. We were eventually moved when the guests that bumped us left after 6 days. The other issue was the safety of the stairs that needs to be addressed. We stay at many hotels over the course of the year and the Santa Clara is certainly special. The Spa is exactly what you want when you need to unwind as they take care of you from beginning to end. The breakfast is superb and the staff is super kind to you (especially warm and attentive to children). I highly recommend the Santa Clara and if you haven't been to Cartagena then you are missing something truly special in this life!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear James G,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our facilities and staff. We also appreciate you took the time to share your impressions with us.

First of all I would like to apologize for the uncomfortable experience you had at the beginning of your stay with us. I can assure you that this is not the Legendary service quality that we strive to provide to our guests and this is why we are taking measures to aware our staff about this type of situations and to prevent this to happen again.

At Sofitel Legend our mission is to create unforgettable experiences for our guests, we are delighted to hear you had a memorable one, and for us it is an honor to have you, your wife and your children as a part of Santa Clara family.
I will share your comments with all our team, especially with Yimmy, Domingo, Oscar, Luis/Luis, Claudia Rafael, Saith and Mr. Kianni. I am sure that they will be very pleased to hear that you remember them because of the efforts they made to make you and your family feel special.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review which is helpful as we always strive to improve our services.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in you next visit to Cartagena.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Located in a former convent; this hotel is well appointed and comfortable. Great breakfast buffet under beautiful loggia with local foods, fruits and pastries. Elegant setting for dinner.
Service excellent and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Melissa F,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Santa Clara. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez M.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

An outstanding location in beautiful old-town Cartagena. The rooms was very nice, all the staff attentive and friendly, the food excellent. I had the opportunity to be a meeting at the Santa Clara for work, I have nothing but positive things to say about this hotel. One small issue was the wi-fi, but hardly worth worrying about. The location was perfect was walking the old city and a supermarket was just blocks away for anything that you needed. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear WLA82,

Thank you very much for your nice review after your stay with us.
For the Sofitel Legend Santa Clara team is always a pleasure to help our guests to have memorable experiences en Cartagena even if they are traveling for business.
We would like to welcome you again and we hope you come back soon with your family or friends.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

A truly lovely hotel in an old convent within the old city walls of Cartagena. The building is beautifully restored and sympathetically extended. The lush planting in the courtyard is delightful and it is just lovely to sit in the cloisters and have a drink or a meal.
Rooms are beautifully furnished and bathrooms excellent. Restaurant and bar food is lovely.
Pool excellent. There is a spa but we didn't use it - just ran out of time!
Staff are thoroughly professional, friendly and could not be more helpful.
The location means you can walk around the old city at any time - and there is so much to see.
A fabulous place to stay and enjoy this beautiful city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Linda B,

We really appreciate your comments about our team and facilities, your feedback is very important to us.
It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful time with us in our 17th century monument.
I will share your comments with Sofitel Legend Santa Clara staff.
Your kind comments are highly motivating as it is our priority to exceed our customers’ expectations.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 153 in Cartagena
921 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 153 in Cartagena
698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 153 in Cartagena
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#32 of 153 in Cartagena
2,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 153 in Cartagena
416 reviews
3.9 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Property: Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Green Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing