We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #6 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,462
    263
    81
    32
    33
See reviews for
390
843
72
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wonderful place to stay in this charming city. We really enjoyed the pool with it's wonderful temperature to cool us off during the hottest hours plus the poolside service and staff were kind and warm. I will certainly come back. Actually there was one thing which I think they could improve and that is the food at one of their restaurants called "El Claustro". I ordered the chicken and rice dish and I really couldn't eat it. But I will come back!

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies looking towards the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colomboamericana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The tour guide recommended us to come here to get cocktail, because it is the most fancy and luxury hotel here! It used to be a monastery school during old times. The cocktails here are exquisite although quite expensive based on Colombian level, still very affordable based on US level. It is 21,000 peso each with 16% voluntary tips. I highly recommend the mojito, the mint used is so fresh, this is the BEST mojitos I had in my trip. It comes with complimentary snack, so not so bad for the price. After the cocktail, we head in to see how fancy and luxury the hotel is. It was amazingly classy and elegance. A lot of VIPs stay here, during my trip, there were armies around protecting some important military personnel world wide outside the hotel. If you want a top notch luxury hotel, this is the one. (The presidential suite cost 5000 USD per night).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed the first half of our trip to Cartagena at the Sofitel on a whim! We drove around Cartagena in a taxi and was immediately drawn to it's charm and location. The location was excellent! So close to the ocean, a grocery store, el centro and backs into the old wall! The property is so romantic and a great mix of classic and contemporary. Foliage was abundant here, beautiful carribean flowers everywhere and even a Tucan that lives on property. The food was excellent but my favorite part was the bar! Amazing bartenders and a cool little ceremony that happens every night. Monks come in and perform a cleansing or offering in a tomb that is located beneath the bar. You must try their mojitos and drink lots of Aguardiente.

Room Tip: Splurge on the 2 story rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Cartagena in January 2012 and were extremely thrilled by the Sofitel. From the location (old town) to the staff and everything in between we were amazed by the facility.

We had a great butler, Ceasar, who made great recommendations for things to do and, with the help of Leslie the Concierge, made any arrangement from restaurant reservations to excursions. In fact, Ceasar checked in daily to see what our schedule was for the day and if it sounded "lack luster" he came up with ideas for things we could do...he took our stay from great to fantastic. Another note about Leslie the Concierge...this trip was a surprise for my birthday. All I knew is we were flying through Miami and to dress for "warm weather." Leslie assisted my wife with a lot of the plans, keeping me completely out of the loop. She was simply terrific in her personal attention to our needs.

The pool area was very adequate and quiet. With a nice bar area immediately adjacent to the pool, they have wait service for food and drinks (although we found ourselves going to the bar more often than waiting for the waitstaff)

The restaurant on premise (forget the name) was very good with superb service and great food. There is also a nice lounge on site with live music and a comfortable atmosphere.

The location was very convenient to all of the sights in Old Town. We were warned to stay "within the walls" of the Old Town, unless we told the hotel where we were going and they arranged for transport, again advising us to go straight to the destination, and straight back; their concern for their guests is apparent and appreciated.

All said, we had a great time in Cartagena, and the Sofitel played an important part in our overall experience.

Room Tip: Make sure to splurge and stay on the Butler floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

As far as hotels go, you're just not going to find many nicer than this one. In a great location with fantastic and attentive staff there's just not too much more to ask for. They were so nice on my birthday with some free drinks and some cake. The pool is great and the history of the hotel makes it all the better.

The only con to this hotel is the price. At nearly $400 per night plus expensive food and drink that you find at most nice hotels, it makes it hard justify. We knew this going into it and we certainly don't have any buyers' remorse. For us, to really justify the cost, this needs to be one of the nicest hotels in the world. It's not, but probably the nicest in Colombia and you won't regret a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rybass03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 155 in Cartagena
983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 155 in Cartagena
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 155 in Cartagena
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#30 of 155 in Cartagena
2,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 155 in Cartagena
427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
#16 of 155 in Cartagena
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Property: Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Green Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing