We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At your own risk - there are plenty of alternatives!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #5 of 156 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 18, 2013

- there is construction in this hotel. According to staff, it has been on and off for 4 years going. Better check before you go as they had NOT warned us.
- scrutinize your bill before you leave, as you'll probably find lots of strange add-ons
- we did 2 day trips outside the hotel. Avoid the AquaAzul recommendation - it's expensive and not worth the price
- room service, including the daily clean, was inconsistent and substandard
- we had a butler "offered" with our room, but never saw him after the day we checked-in
- be prepared for extra ordinary expense.
- Leslie on the concierge was particularly helpful, but we're only sorry we had so much to complain about....therefore "at your own risk"!

Room Tip: We had a junior suite, c39, which had a particularly nice terrace on the side of the hotel AWAY from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear LelaM,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Santa Clara. We are sorry that your experience did not meet all your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

Please rest assured that we strive to provide a superior service to all our guests. We are very proud of being a part of the Cartagena's history and we have to continuously make some efforts to mantain our monument.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that your feedback will be an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We appreciate your comments, and it we hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andrea González M.
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the bar with live music is fun, the fruit at breakfast is fantastic, and pool is especially amazing - get the pineapple juice at the pool. The spa was very nice and relaxing too.

Special thanks to Leslie Perez who made our stay so special. She left surprises for our anniversary and helped us set up so many great activities. She's the best!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eakw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear eakw,

We really appreciate your comments about your stay at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, your feedback is very important to us.

I will share your comments with Leslie, we are all glad that she made your stay and your anniversary perfect and enjoyable. At Sofitel Santa Clara our mission is to create unforgettable experiences for our guests, we are delighted to hear you had a memorable one.

Your kind comments are highly motivating as it is our priority to exceed our customers expectations.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez M.
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

THis is a former monestary converted into a hotel. Centrally located in the old city. Great place to stay or just have drinks. Its elegant and unique though prices can be high unless you find the low season ones. You will not be disappointed if you stay or come here. Also, when we dont stay here, we b ook the rosary island excursions here. Dont trust the vendors on the street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CosmoDunwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Exactly what I expect from a Sofitel hotel. Rooms here are contemporary and clean, while the common areas and exterior exude the Cartagena charm and history. The pool was large and the water was warm--just right for relaxing in.

The room and food/drink prices are high; however, it is a very nice hotel, and prices in Cartagena in general are higher. The breakfast buffet was large in both size and variety, and eating outside with the hotel bird (a toucan) was a fun experience (even when he stole one of the rolls out of the basket on our table).

It's location inside the Old City was convenient for walking around the historical sights; however, you'll likely need a taxi to get to the old fort or newer parts of Cartagena.

A beautiful hotel, albeit a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8-l-oo-l-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear 8-l-oo-l-8,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed the charm and magic of Sofitel Legend Santa Clara.
I will share your comments with all our team. For us is an honor to be a part of Cartagena´s World Heritage history.

Mateo and all the Santa Clara team will be more than happy to welcome you again in your next visit to "La Heroica".

Sincerely,


Andrea Gonzalez M.
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

While cartagena is one of the nicest places i have been to, i wish i didn't stay at Santa Clara. People at the front desk were rude. If they could charge you to use the bathroom they probably would. They were doing construction the whole time we were there and when we tried to leave early they refused to credit our money back. They are overstaffed with security that makes guests feel like they are in Alcatraz as opposed to a guest in a way over-priced hotel. Stay anywhere but here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KEVIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear KEVINB,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Santa Clara. We are sorry that your experience did not meet all your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.
We would like share with you that our first mission is to guarantee our guests wellbeing and security. The Sofitel Legend Santa Clara is a historic monument which a lot of people want to visit, so we have a team who is in charge of the assurance of the privacy of our guests.
At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and this is the reason why we are continuously making efforts to maintain our 17th century building.

We appreciate your comments, and it we hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.


Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez M.
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank hirschfab5
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 156 in Cartagena
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 156 in Cartagena
1,059 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 156 in Cartagena
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 156 in Cartagena
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 156 in Cartagena
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
#17 of 156 in Cartagena
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Green Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $285 - $963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing