We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't Want to Leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #5 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't Want to Leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

An amazing hotel with an amazing history and amazing staff.

Seriously, it's all about the details at this place. From the fruit kebabs passed out around the pool and the garnished drinks to the friendly smiles on everyone's faces, everything was staged for a wonderful experience. If you can afford this place, you should stay here.

One wish I'd want: Sheer curtains in the room. That way you can get sunlight in without giving up total privacy. Hint, hint. Nudge, nudge.

Room Tip: I would say the worst room would be on the second floor that can be looked into from the gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chili828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,355
    244
    74
    31
    33
See reviews for
362
784
69
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here on a short break after our wedding and all I can say is it was absolutely perfect; it was so good we extended our stay but had to change rooms as they were full. We started our stay in one of the suites on the fifth floor with a sea view. When we booked we thought about going with the third floor room and no view but, having now staying both rooms I can say I'm glad we went with the suite for the majority of the stay. The rooms was immaculate with a separate seating area and a decent sized balcony overlooking the sea (and the pool). We had drinks while watching the sun set over the sea on a couple of occasions. The view from the third floor whilst pleasant was only of the pool.
The service in the hotel was excellent. We had breakfast in the room on one of the days and this was both excellent and served promptly. Also on the occasions we had coffee served in the room this was perfect.
We spent one day just sitting by the pool drinking cocktails and sun bathing which is an excellent way to spend the day if you already know cartagena or if you just want to relax for a bit; I find the town more pleasant in the evening at any rate.
The hotel and services are fairly expensive but everything is executed perfectly. Also whilst it's expensive, it's not that expensive. If I recall a beer was $8,000 COP which would have cost $1800 in the supermarket or $5000 in a bar. Cocktails were about $21,000 COP.
In summary I would and will stay here again and I will also stay on the fifth floor with a sea view.

Room Tip: High up with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disestablishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I confess: We didn't stay at the Santa Clara because it was too pricey for us. But we did the next best thing, which is to have dinner there one night in the outdoor courtyard restaurant. The courtyard is breathtakingly beautiful and they light it with candles in the evening. The service is outstanding and the food is very good (not the best, but combined with the atmosphere, it was the most romantic thing we did in Cartagena). Prices were higher end, but not so out of line with other fine restaurants -- and as I noted -- the atomosphere was exceptional. Bring your wife, girlfriend, etc. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed in this very nice hotel recently. The best location in the " old town ".with walking distance to everything. The hotel looks realy beautiful and with good beds but fare to expensive for what you get You expect much more for what you pay. Our room was not clean and that suprised us very much. Our butler was very helpful and very nice and realy did his very best for us

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berikaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is absolutely incredible! My husband and I were travelling around Colombia for our honeymoon, and Cartagena was our second destination. Having read the fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor, and spent a long time looking at all the photos on the website, this was one of the destinations that we were really looking forwards too.
Having high expectations can sometimes be detrimental, but we were completely blown away by every element of this hotel. It is breathtakingly beautiful. You walk into a beautiful courtyard with a lush mini-jungle in its centre, subtle piped music lulling you under its spell. As we were waiting for our room to be ready we watched as a Toucan flew around the courtyard, hopping from chair to chair. We decided to treat ourselves (as it was our honeymoon after all!) and went for a luxury room with your own butler. We were a bit unsure as to what we’d use the butler for, but Caesar greeted us at check-in, showed us around the hotel telling us all about the history of the property, and then led us to the most beautiful suite. Spread over two floors, every detail of the room, from the Bose sound system to the Hermes products in the bathroom, was beautiful, and great attention to detail paid to ensure that modernity didn’t conflict with the aesthetics of the colonial building.
The breakfast was fantastic, with a great selection of fresh juices, pastries, eggs, cakes, breads – everything was great. The service overall is faultless - every person that we came into contact with at the hotel were so hospitable, and genuinely added to the experience. The butler was extremely attentive, but didn't cross the line of being over-attentive. They showed great initiative - for example, we mentioned that we were thinking of going on the Chiva bus trip that evening when we saw him in the morning, and that we would let him know if we wanted to book it. We changed our minds, but when he saw us later in the day he had said that he had reserved it for us, just in case.
It is extremely hot and humid in Cartagena, so it was great to be able to relax around the pool after a morning out, complete with great cocktails. If Spas are your thing, make sure you go to this one… one of the best I have ever been too.
This is one of the best locations within the walled city of Cartagena, making it a fantastic base to explore.
This is definitely one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, and I have had the pleasure and fortune to stay in many as I travel a lot for work. It is expensive, but I believe it is worth every penny – treat yourself!

Room Tip: Go for a room in the old part of the building, as your door is over the beautiful courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DalliaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was a very comfortable hotel in a great part of town, if you like history rather than beaches. Excellent service, but expensive. More facilities than other hotels (gym, pool, business centre, two restaurants, spa) and it is hot walking around, so we liked the services.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
193 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have stayed in the Santa Clara several times over the past couple of years and it remains one of my favourite hotels and top recommendations. Although the price appears to have almost doubled since i first started staying here 3 years ago, it is worth every penny and really cannot be beaten.

From the moment you walk in, you will be impressed. The inner courtyard garden, convent setting, pool and service is amazing - you will be enchanted! Most rooms have now also been renovated so much more modern and light than previously. Nice and spacious with monsoon shower, posh (loto-colombia's l'occitane or molton brown),pillow tuck-down service (with free chcolate&bottle of water every night)

AMAZING breakfast too (best hotel breakfast and service i've found in colombia!) - lots of fresh fruit,pastries,pancakes, fizz at weekends!

The location in the walled town of cartagena cannot be beaten, with views of the sea too, the pool is brilliant (most boutique hotels have either a plunge pool or a little bigger but no room for relaxing around), service is excellent...

..all in all, expensive but luxurious and worth it..!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siempredviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#30 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
3.9 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Property: Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing