We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #6 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Oasis of luxury”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Have never had a bad experience at any Sofitel hotel and this was no exception. Spent 3 days here last February, on my way back to the UK. Stayed in one of their suites, very well designed with great touches such as Hermes products in the rooms. Wonderful design around an old courtyard, had very good breakfasts every morning and ate at their smart restaurant in the evening, good service and exquisite food at Restaurant 1621 where we ate on the second evening. Cartagena is such a beautiful city, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel - saw the general manager around every day I was there - staff take pride in what is a very beautiful and well run place

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locust100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,462
    263
    81
    32
    33
See reviews for
390
843
72
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Definitely below expectations.

I had been to Casa Santo Domingo, in Antigua, Guatemala, and expected a similar experience. Instead, I found a pricey, overrated, and definitely NOT boutique or historic hotel. Other than the reception and the central patio, the hotel is an uninteresting modern construction.

Rooms were noisy, small and in poor shape for a five star hotel (i.e. air conditioning leaked and had to place towels on the floor!). Management was rude and it took strong (and many) complaints to get them to consider any of the issues.

Pool area is OK. So is food.

Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomás Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Unless you're interested in renting a condo/apartment (which is also a great option from what I hear), this is the best hotel in Cartagena. It is a five-star hotel, and it is located in a great area to walk around. The staff is great and extremely friendly. Gustavo and his team to service guests was AMAZING. Every request they were eager to assist with. My friend was hungry for Kentucky Fried Chicken, and they had someone run and get him some. SERVICE with a SMILE!

The ONLY warning I will tell you about the hotel (and it's not just this hotel, it's many commercial hotels in Cartagena, thank you US Secret Service) -- you can not bring guests back. Two of our local friends were unable to come up for drinks, but again, it's not just this hotel's policy, it's the policy of many chain hotels in Cartagena.

The hotel is probably the most expensive hotel in the area, but if you're looking for a full luxury experience, this is it. I recommend getting a suite if possible, our suite was extremely comfortable to come back to.

Room Tip: Get a suite - all the suites only have one bed as far as I know, so if you have two guests not shari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbachert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I absolutely loved this hotel! Not only is in a great location, it also the epitome of luxury.

I would also say that it is child friendly. While I didn't take my children this time around, I wouldn't think twice about taking them there in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racheljapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Okla
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The experience has been so memorable, it will become one of my storied trips to tell others about. Really just an interesting hotel, that I cannot compare to the states or to Europe.

Of course staying in an ex- convent built in 1621 is part of the cause. The hotel does a great job mixing quality with the charm of the ancient.

After dinner one Sunday night, we drifted by Restaurante 1621, their French restaurant. Being early and on Sunday, it was not busy. One of the greeters and I struck up a conversation. He was very helpful with some of the history.

We walked through the old chapel, which has its own special feel, with engravings and history. 8 meter high exterior wooden doors. We returned to the restaurant where I asked about the underground crypt, that i read about on TripAdvisor.

The restaurant greeter took us to the bar, where the gate to the stairwell is located. We went below ground where he told us they used to bury the Mother Superiors. Doubt that it is normal service for a greeter at a restaurant, to take you to the next door bar, so you can enjoy some history. He did not ask for a tip, or even act like he thought of it. He was just enjoying helping us.

Only negative is that the bed's mattress was not new enough to sleep like a five star. And the balcony furniture needs updating.

Great experience and hope to return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlccva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great hotel, luxury and beautiful grounds! Loved staying here! Location is very central and easy walk to Old Town. The pool area was nice and the staff very pleasant. It was a good experience and would recommend it if price is not an issue!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 155 in Cartagena
983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 155 in Cartagena
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 155 in Cartagena
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#30 of 155 in Cartagena
2,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 155 in Cartagena
427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
#16 of 155 in Cartagena
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Property: Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Green Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing