We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #5 of 156 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great hotel, luxury and beautiful grounds! Loved staying here! Location is very central and easy walk to Old Town. The pool area was nice and the staff very pleasant. It was a good experience and would recommend it if price is not an issue!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was a great hotel. Nice Restaurant and Pool - great service by the staff. Location in the walled city was great with several very good restaurants close by. In the evening prior to dinner near the spa area there was guitar music or harp music to enjoy with a pre-dinner drink. Just a very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denny411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Santa Clara since a friend living in Cartagena recommended it. It was a great choice for location and luxury. The ground are beautiful and the service impeccable. I visited the on property spa for a massage. It was also well done. It is a bit expensive...but you get what you pay far.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynTravels4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Have just returned from a 4 day in Cartagena and this hotel was very impressive and was responsible for a pleasant stay. The service is really excellent and the breakfast was fantastic. Very well located, very nice employees.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling2011014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The service here was exceptional, you really feel like you are being pampered by the staff, the only exception was pool service. They almost never asked my husband and I if we wanted drinks, a big loss financially for them because we love to drink by the pool , the waiters were clearly not interested in us for some reason, two guys together? And we didnt feel like flagging them down all the time, somwe just skipped it, and saved money! Other than that, the concierge was friendly and attentive, although they may have botched our dinner reservation one night, everyone is human! The point is they tried. Breakfast was amazing! The room was comfy and clean Just the perfect place to completely unwind and surround yourself with lush tropical surroundings and the tucans on the grounds are so friendly! Great location to explore the old city, the only thing we missed was a beach. Didn't feel like committing to the day trip just to go to the beach, but that is just the layout of the city, much like San Juan puerto Rico....Oh also room service was super delicious and fast. The spa was also amazing

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank weatherman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day trip to Cartagena, Colombia, where another couple and us stayed at the fabulous Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel. Not only is the Santa Clara a beautiful hotel with lovely accomodations and facilities but it provides the kind of service that makes you feel welcome. No matter where you go to within the hotel, the service is excellent and the employees are warm, friendly, helpful, well mannered and always willing. The two girls that work at the bar, Dairy and Yolais were amazing. The breakfast was very good (coffee was excelleent) and the overall ambiance great! My husband and I have traveled extensively and we highly recommend this hotel. The Alvarez

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105 (first floor) with a lovely terrace facing a small garden which was ample and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvarlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Was in Cartagena for a conference in the beginning of October 2012. This was the conference hotel and I had a conference rate, which was good, because if I stayed there after the conference it went up significantly. The hotel is located in the "old city" inside massive stone fortress walls. The setting is just adjacent to a historical square that serves as a hub for several restaurants and a gathering place for socializing at night. It is either 10 minutes or 30 minutes from the airport depending on time of day and general traffic. The hotel is located inside what used to be a convent. This is not a chain looking hotel. It is very picturesque and made you feel you were in a special place. It was very unique, and frankly very nice. Sort of understated elegance with a old style twist. The staff are decked out in first class uniforms and are extremely deferential to the guests. The service here is among the best I have encountered. Maybe I feel that way, because for reasons that I do not know, a butler (yep) was assigned to the room. I believe there were 4 or 6 butlers (I had Luis and Cesar assigned to the room) to service 20 or 30 guest rooms. It was a bit of an odd feeling as I did not want to take advantage of their availability, but it was really very helpful. So whether you need something printed off a computer, or recommendations for restaurants, this was a very interesting twist to Customer Service. It was a much more comprehensive result than asking for a restaurant recommendation at the desk. They put together large lists, called to make the reservations and followed up with you to make sure you were satisfied with the recommendation. I want to pay particular attention to thanking the concierge staff,and specifically Leslie Perez for taking a lot of time to solve a problem. I had a DHL package with a replacement document coming from Europe via DHL. Unfortunately, the conference was over and I had moved to another nearby (and much less expensive) hotel when DHL arrived. Then there was a bit of a mixup, and although I left directions to accept the package, it was not received. So Ms. Perez with what I can only call unbridled determination (especially in this part of the world) set about contacting DHL (their numbers in the phone book were wrong), and with some difficulty coordinating the truck which had the package and on the other side of the city, to go back to their distribution depot to drop it off. Then she dispatched one of the hotel staff to retrieve it while I waited. This was a 2 hour exercise. I was leaving the next morning early and would not otherwise be able to get the package. Food was expensive, but good. Room was nice and furnished with refrigerator mini-bar and a small bar sink. Very comfortable bed. Food in general was good. Breakfast was the typical Latin American buffet. The number of staff versus the hotel guests seemed a very high ration. I also went to conference cocktail party and there was certainly a directive to keep your glass full. The staff could not be nicer. The conference went off without a hitch. Checked out and moved to my other hotel in the old town. Slightly different experience. But for Sofitel Santa Clara, nothing but raves and a very positive recommendation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDan133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 156 in Cartagena
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 156 in Cartagena
1,059 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 156 in Cartagena
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 156 in Cartagena
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 156 in Cartagena
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
#17 of 156 in Cartagena
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Green Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Family Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $285 - $963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing