We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, food, people, staff. But expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #7 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The place is absolutely beautiful, rooms are ok, food is awesome, also the bar, the people that goes there is really nice too. location is great, going there is a really good experience. BUT we stayes 2 nights and after that we spent 7 nights in Orlando and Fort Lauderdale, and tha cost for the 2 nights was the same that for the 7 nights.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdnaPinzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,967)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 1,967 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

WELL WORTH THE MONEY
-great room, personal but not-invasive service
Loved the butler service, VERY useful
-Security tight which is key in Colombia
-Great food
-Ocean view
-Located inside old city walls 15 mins from airport
-Great GM
-Spoiled my wife and I. I love this brand. Old building with modern rooms.
STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a water view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We are extremely pleased with the visit of 5 days in the Santa Clara hotel. The building is beautiful, the staff are impeccable, everyone always has a smile and the best will to make you feel welcome and well attended.

Our room was incredible and cleaned 2 times a day with fresh items like towels, bottles of water, and Cocada, a round coconut cake at bedtime. The bathroom had wonderful product from L'Occitane.

The Santa Clara Hotel contributed in a large part to the wonderful and memorable experience of Cartagena. The inner courtyard has a beautiful tropical garden that you walk around and through from the entrance of the hotel to your room, the restaurant, etc...make sure you meet Mateo and Clarita, the Tucans who inhabit the hotel garden and pool.

Though the hotel is within the city walls, we found that we needed to take a taxi to the destination areas like the cathedral and the Museo de Inquision. Taxi's are very affordable in Cartagena so we did not find the location a disadvantage. It was actually nice to be away from the pedastrian and car traffic. We did find at times though that taxi's did not know where the hotel was if we were coming from outside the city walls.

Room Tip: First Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario_GomP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and everyone is so friendly and helpful but you are paying for what you get. The property, bars, and spa is all amazing! If you do not want over the top lavish there are plenty of small boutique hotels in the area that are very nice but not nearly as glamorous. It is all about what you are looking for in a hotel. We didnt spend much time at the hotel so it was nice to come home to the beauty but we didnt use the property to our full advantage. You can still visit the property and use their amenities even if you are not staying there. If you do stay there and get a massage at the spa there is a coupon with you check in paper work that gives you an extra 30 min!!!! Dont miss this like I did!

Room Tip: the higher up the better views and away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorj32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The hotel itself is spectacular: a gorgeous pool, lovely views from the upper balcony, etc. But it's right behind a busy street (exhaust + noise) and my room was old and smelled musty or moldy. The furnishings were somewhat old and the room was crowded. Note that I had spent three nights prior in the Hotel Cartagena de Indias, which is fantastic, so that comparison was on my mind. The hotel hosted a wedding reception on Saturday night, so that was pretty noisy for a while and the upstairs/outdoors bar (with view) was closed off. Very helpful when I needed some items shipped.

P.S. I felt safe running in the morning around the walled city (woman, alone).

Room Tip: Find out if there will be a wedding or other event on the premises while you're there, because y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeakyB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. I would like to inform you that since 2010 we are in a renovation process of all of our rooms nowadays,carried out a large part already. We will continue in the next months with the objective they are all in the best possible conditions providing a product exceeding their expectations.
We hope to give us the opportunity to have you with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Santa Clara is a beautiful building, nicely restored and interesting history around the premises. Unfortunately the cost per night and the cost of meals are both excessive for what you get in return. I am not going to say that it is rubbish but is just below average for a 5 star hotel. If you compare the service and the amenities you have in a 5 star hotel at half the rate from say Las Vegas then you will feel Santa Clara is a rip off. You can find many more options in Cartagena at similar prices with customized services. There are many boutique hotels at similar rates with better service. Actually there is another big hotel within the Cartagena walls which I find more convenient and with better service which is Santa Teresa with also interesting stories around the building. I do not recommend the food as it is not great shakes, it is much better to explore the restaurants available in the city, but I definitely recommend the antipasto salad bar which has interesting variety at around USD$20. The spa is another interesting site, again if you are ready to pay additional fees between USD$100 to USD$250 to use those services.

Room Tip: Better option to get a room 3rd or 4th floor to the pool and closer to the walls (right hand side to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonElite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Cartagena has many beautiful small hotels and B&Bs, but few have anything bigger than a plunge pool. If you are looking to escape the heat of the day or cool off after a day of sightseeing, the pool here is the perfect hideaway. (And the hotel is a beautiful conversion). But if you want to spend your days exploring the city, you can find better value elsewhere.
That said, the service was excellent, the rooms very comfortable, free wifi, great pool bar and cafe.
The rooms have a dreadful problem with condensation if you turn off the air conditioning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janequelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#9 of 158 in Cartagena
1,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#3 of 158 in Cartagena
764 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 158 in Cartagena
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#26 of 158 in Cartagena
2,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#2 of 158 in Cartagena
435 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
#8 of 158 in Cartagena
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Green Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $287 - $922 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing