We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #5 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here in Cartagena. The staff is friendly and very helpful, the overall atmosphere is relaxing and friendly. Our room was very nice and well-appointed with nice furnishings, a comfortable bed and a large HDTV that had quite a few enlish speaking channels.
Breakfast in the hotel was superb! The flavors of fruit, cheese, meat selections, eggs, and Colombian specialties were excellent. There is a place on the third floor, next to the spa, that overlooks the wall of the city and the Carribean. It is soooo relaxing to sit up there, look out over the ocean; the breeze is refreshing, sipping a Pina Colada. Ahhh, the Santa Clara is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy Cartagena.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcarpenter53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Gerente at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
We are excited to hear you had a memorable stay at the Santa Clara, that you were able to enjoy our food and beverage offers as well as the charm of Cartagena´s walled city. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,389
    251
    76
    31
    32
See reviews for
370
805
70
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

Enjoyed my stay here. Rooms are clean and adequate but uninspiring.Good location in Centro and courtyard pool is very pleasant but the rates are very high. In the US this would get you a Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons and although the hotel is nice it's not up to those standards. External wall paint is peeling all over, banisters show rust, little English is spoken (and hence ordering food becomes an issue). Very small fitness center.

Overall very nice place to stay but about 25% overpriced in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trripman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Gerente at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you for your comments, they are very valuable to us. We are sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations, we are in the process of restoring our historical building and renovating all of our colonial suites and some republican rooms, expected to be completed by the end of 2011. We have opened our new gourmet restaurant 1621 and as of Abril, we have a full-time language teacher in house to help us improve service in english. We do you hope you let us welcome you again in your next visit to Colombia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

We loved staying in the older section with tall ceilings and comfortable rooms. Breakfast outside overlooking the lush vegetation was delightful. The pool is great for both ounging and laps. Easy access to old city attractions and convenient for exercise walks along the water.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

I booked this hotel without my usual research based on the exceptionally high recommendation of friends. They travel frequently and seemingly without regard to expense. Before I left for my vacation, I looked at the reviews of the hotel and became concerned. I worried for nothing! This is a first rate hotel/resort. The large staff is exceptionally friendly, attentive and helpful. The hotel physically is very well designed and maintained.
We traveled to Cartagena for a 5 night vacation to break up the winter. The city is magical. We started each day with a incredible run along the Carribean plus various parts of a newer section of Cartagena (Boccagrande- large modern buildings with a beach on one side and a lagoon on the other side). Had a fantastic breakfast in the beautiful courtyard with fun birds and delicious coffee. We then walked around for a couple of hours. By now we were typically hot and a little tired so we would return to the hotel and lounge by the enormous pool. Make sure you get a cocconut lemonade. Later in the day we would head back out and finally have drinks and dinner.
We enjoy checking out other hotels and while Cartagena has some very nice boutique properties (have a drink on the roof of the Small Leading Hotel) nothing comes close to the Sofitel. You feel like you are at a resort and away from everything while the old city is right outside your door. Since the hotel is inside the walled historic city you don't have a beach but we didn't miss it all. Our room had a beautiful vaulted ceiling (5th floor) made of wood and a large terrace overlooking the Sea. The terrace even had a lounge chair in addition to regular chairs and a large potted plant. Twice a day maid service with free bottled water nice toiletries, and very large towels completed the feeling of luxury.
The only fault I found with the hotel is that it did not have a complete gym. It did have a spa and a number of cardio machines but no other fitness equipment. The front desk did recommend a gym at another hotel that we can pay by the day but it was minimal. I guess weight training is not popular in Columbia.
We would absolutely return to Cartagena and stay at the Santa Clara.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhiladelphiaIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
194 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

Incredible hotel..from the moment you walk in the reception area and are surrounded by the former convent walls&can see the inner courtyard's trees and toucans...I was enchanted!modern lovely rooms-monsoon shower,occitane products replenished twice daily,pillow tuck-down service (with free chcolate&bottld of water every night)great breakfast-lots of fresh fruit,pastries,pancakes..you name it&its lovely to eat it in the courtyard.pool&spa also lovely.everything about this hotel is,dare I say it...perfect!enjoy!ideal particularly for a special occasion!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siempredviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

Just returned from a long weekend to Cartagena & loved our time at the Santa Clara. I always consult w/Trip Advisor before traveling & so feel compelled to provide my opinion on this property for future travelers. I had stayed at the Santa Clara a few years ago & was completely satisfied then and was not disappointed on this return trip. My favorite things about the hotel are the huge pool, relaxing spa, gorgeous architecture, delicious buffet breakfast and extremely friendly & helpful staff. We were always greeted w/a smile by everyone, including the security personnel who are present in the public areas. By the way, no sniffing dogs on property at any time during this trip although they did have one dog by the front door two years ago. Personally, didn't affect my trip either way & would certainly not be something to dissuade me from coming! I don't speak alot of Spanish & never had a problem communicating with any staff member. Our room was on the 5th floor & overlooked the pool & you can see the ocean from the deck. Our room was modern, clean & had turndown service each night. My only complaint is noise related & unfortunately is not in the hotel's control. There is a small piece of property nestled between the hotel & the ocean. It it not owned by the hotel so anyone can book events there. Our first night there was a large (& very beautiful!) wedding reception w/a live band on the stage. It was SOOO loud that it was impossible to sleep & this went on until at least 1-1:30am. Granted it was a Fri. night but if you're looking for a quiet room I don't know if there is such a thing when a party this big is going on. Overall though, I would still return to this hotel & still think its the best full-service hotel in Cartagena. I have been in some gorgeous boutique hotels around the old city but I prefer the amenities that come with a larger property & so would highly recommend the Santa Clara to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hopper25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Wonderful week, starting out with international writer´s conference, and incredibley fun, intelligent, and warm people, guests and staff. Beautiful accomodations and perfumed breezes. Took this stressed lawyer couple of days to unwind, but dancing in the streets with Buena Vista Social club and in Havanna Club brought out the 30 year old in me. Historic city, Museum of the inquisition linking torture today and yesterday, uprisings in 1811 for freedom, while Egyptians massed for change. Made us feel part of history and beauty at the same time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fun-notfinnicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
3.9 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Property: Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Green Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing